Admissions / SAT Exam

  • College Board
  • College admissions test
  • Digital (Bluebook app)
  • Updated Oct 2026

SAT Exam: Cost, Format, Scoring and How to Register

The SAT is the College Board’s digital, adaptive admissions test. Students take it to show colleges their skills in reading, writing and math.

Last updated October 28, 2026 from College Board requirements

Exam fee

$68

Standard registration fee through June 2027. Fee waivers are available.

Exam length

2 hr 14 min

134 minutes of testing, plus a 10-minute break.

Questions

98

54 Reading and Writing, 44 Math.

Passing score

Scaled 400–1600

There is no passing score. Colleges set their own expectations.

Overview

What is the SAT?

The SAT is a digital test from the College Board that you take in the Bluebook app. It has two sections, Reading and Writing, and Math. Each section has two modules, and how you do on the first module sets how hard the second one is. Scores run from 400 to 1600.

Who takes it

  • Students who want to show colleges their reading, writing and math skills
  • Students who register for a weekend SAT from their College Board account
  • Students who take the SAT during the school day, when their school handles registration
  • Students testing outside the United States, who register for international testing online

Who doesn’t need it

  • Students who want a free test: those who qualify for a fee waiver can take the SAT for free
  • Students whose school runs SAT School Day: the school handles registration, so you do not pay the weekend fee
  • Anyone applying to a college that does not ask for the SAT: check that college’s own rules, since College Board does not set admissions requirements

There is no pass or fail

The SAT does not have a passing score. You get a score from 400 to 1600, and each college decides how it uses that score. College Board does publish benchmark scores of 480 for Reading and Writing and 530 for Math.

Before you sit

The SAT, one page

  • Register by the deadline in your College Board account
  • Upload a photo and match your ID name to your ticket
  • Install Bluebook and finish exam setup 1–5 days before
  • Print your admission ticket
  • Pack a charged device, physical photo ID and pencils
  • Pick your four free score recipients within 9 days of the test

Eligibility

Who can take the SAT?

The College Board pages we read do not list a general age or grade requirement. To register, you need a College Board account, a photo, a form of payment (or a fee waiver) and a device that can run Bluebook.

RequirementDetail
Age or gradeNo age or grade requirement is stated on the registration page. Fee waivers are limited to low-income 11th and 12th graders in the U.S. or U.S. territories.
AccountRegister from your College Board account (My SAT).
PhotoYou upload a photo at registration. It is used to identify you on test day, and you can change it up to 5 days before the test.
Photo IDUnexpired, physical, original ID. Digital IDs and copies are not accepted. Test takers 21 or older need an official government-issued photo ID.
Name matchThe ID must show your full legal name exactly as it appears on your admission ticket. Middle names and initials are optional. To change your name after registering, contact Customer Service at least 30 days before your test date.
DeviceBluebook supports Mac and Windows devices, iPads and school-managed Chromebooks. To borrow a device from College Board, register at least 30 days before test day.
AccommodationsIf you need accommodations, you must be approved by College Board’s Services for Students with Disabilities (SSD) before you test with them.
Payment$68 registration fee, or a fee waiver if you qualify.

Format

What’s on the SAT?

The SAT has two sections, each split into two modules. The first module in each section mixes easy, medium and hard questions. How you do on it decides whether the second module is easier or harder. Most questions are multiple choice. Some Math questions ask you to enter your own answer.

Format

Digital and adaptive, taken in the Bluebook app

Questions

98 (54 Reading and Writing, 44 Math)

Passing score

No passing score. Scaled 400–1600

Exam owner

College Board

Content areaQuestions or weightNotes
Reading and Writing: Information and IdeasNot statedLocating, interpreting and combining information from texts and graphics such as tables and graphs.
Reading and Writing: Craft and StructureNot statedWords in context, rhetorical analysis and connecting related texts.
Reading and Writing: Expression of IdeasNot statedRevising text to improve written expression and meet rhetorical goals.
Reading and Writing: Standard English ConventionsNot statedEditing text for sentence structure, usage and punctuation.
Math: Algebra13–15 questionsMultiple choice and student-produced responses.
Math: Advanced Math13–15 questionsMultiple choice and student-produced responses.
Math: Problem-Solving and Data Analysis5–7 questionsCollege Board says about 30% of Math questions are set in context (science, social studies or real-world scenarios).
Math: Geometry and Trigonometry5–7 questionsMultiple choice and student-produced responses.

Scoring & content

  • Reading and Writing: 54 questions in two 32-minute modules (64 minutes).
  • Math: 44 questions in two 35-minute modules (70 minutes).
  • Reading and Writing questions follow short passages of 25 to 150 words on literature, history and social studies, the humanities and science.
  • Section scores run 200–800 and the total runs 400–1600.
  • Each module has two pretest questions that do not count toward your score.

Retake policy

  • The College Board pages we read do not state a limit on how many times you can take the SAT.
  • You register again for each test date and pay the registration fee again, unless you have fee waiver benefits.
  • Under Score Choice, you pick which test dates’ scores to send. Some colleges and scholarship programs require all your scores.
  • To change your test date, you must cancel and register again. Changing only your test center costs $34.
  • You can cancel your scores through your College Board account by 11:59 p.m. ET one week after your test date. Canceled scores cannot be reinstated.

Steps

How to register and sit for the exam, step by step

  1. Check test dates and deadlinesBefore you register
    Pick a weekend date for 2026–27: Dec. 5, 2026; Mar. 6, 2027; May 1, 2027; or June 5, 2027. Registration closes about two weeks before each date (for example, Nov. 20, 2026 for the Dec. 5 test). Sunday testing is only for students who cannot test on Saturdays for religious reasons.
  2. Get a fee waiver if you qualifyOptional
    Ask your school counselor for a fee waiver code, or request one directly from College Board. Apply at least 1–2 weeks before the registration deadline. You can use fee waiver benefits once in your lifetime.
  3. Register in your College Board account$68 fee
    Sign in to My SAT, choose your date and test center, upload a photo and pay. If you need accommodations, get approved by College Board’s SSD first.
  4. Set up Bluebook on your device1–5 days before
    Install Bluebook, sign in with your College Board account and complete exam setup. Your admission ticket becomes available after setup. Print it or email it to yourself.
  5. Pack your test-day itemsDay before
    Charged device, admission ticket, physical photo ID, pencils or pens, and your College Board username and password. Make sure your ID name matches your ticket.
  6. Check in and testExam day
    On a typical Saturday, doors open at 7:45 a.m. and close at 8 a.m. You cannot be admitted after testing starts. You get one 10-minute break between sections.
  7. Get and send your scoresAbout 2 weeks after
    Scores for weekend tests come out 13 to 16 days after the test. You get four free score reports if you choose recipients within 9 days of the test.

Scoring

SAT scoring and pass rates

The digital SAT uses Item Response Theory, not a simple count of right answers. Your score depends on how many questions you get right and on the characteristics of those questions, such as difficulty. Two students with the same number of correct answers can get different section scores. Section scores run 200–800 and the total runs 400–1600. Most scores from weekend tests are released 2–4 weeks after test day, and the 2026–27 student release dates fall 13 to 16 days after the test. College Board does not describe a penalty for wrong answers and advises that it is better to guess than to leave a question blank.

The SAT has no passing score, so College Board does not publish pass rates. It does publish benchmarks: 480 for Reading and Writing and 530 for Math.

Exam day

What to expect on test day

On a typical Saturday, doors open at 7:45 a.m. and close at 8 a.m., and testing starts between 8:15 and 8:30 a.m. Your admission ticket shows your actual arrival time. Standard time ends between 10:45 and 11 a.m. You have one 10-minute break between the two sections. Your seat is assigned, and you cannot be admitted after testing starts.

What to bring

  • A fully charged testing device with Bluebook installed and exam setup completed.
  • Your admission ticket from Bluebook (a printed ticket is preferred).
  • A physical, unexpired photo ID with your full legal name exactly as on your ticket.
  • Pencils or pens for scratch work, and your College Board username and password.
  • Optional: a charger, a watch without an audible alarm, a drink or snacks for the break, a backup device, and a calculator. Bluebook also has a built-in calculator.

Testing rules

  • Calculators may be used on the Math section only and cannot be shared.
  • Phones, smartwatches, headphones, cameras, books, notes, highlighters and outside paper are prohibited. Scratch paper is provided.
  • During breaks, keep your device open and your ID with you. Prohibited devices stay stored away.
  • You can review answers within a module but cannot go back to one after you move on.
  • Approved accommodations, such as extended time, are set up before test day through SSD.

Costs

How much does the exam cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
SAT registrationFixed$68
Late registrationFixed$38
Change test centerFixed$34
Cancel registrationFixed$34 ($44 for a late cancel)
Additional score reportsFixed$15 per report (first 4 free within 9 days of the test)
Rush score reportFixed$31 (plus the score report fee)
Typical totalRegistration with four free score reports$68

Fees come from College Board’s test fees page (fees through June 2027), checked October 2026. International testing fees are listed on a separate College Board page we did not read.

Prep

Best exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet. When we do, we’ll test each course with real exam candidates and report what they found.

After you pass

What happens after you take the SAT?

After the test, you get your scores online and send them to colleges. There is no credential to earn, because the SAT is an admissions test.

Get your scores

Weekend test scores for 2026–27 are released to students 13 to 16 days after the test date. You see your total, section scores, a score range and percentiles.

Send score reports

Weekend registration includes four free score reports if you choose recipients within 9 days of the test. After that, each report costs $15. Fee waiver students can send unlimited reports for free.

Use Score Choice

Score Choice lets you pick which test dates’ scores go to colleges. Some colleges and scholarship programs require all your scores, so check each one.

Decide whether to retest

You can register for another test date if you want to try again. The pages we read do not state a limit on attempts.

Apply to colleges

Fee waiver students who are high school seniors and have taken the SAT can get application fees waived at participating colleges.

Maintain

Keeping your result or credential current

SAT scores do not expire or renew like a license, but the College Board pages we read do not state how long scores stay reportable. Check the score and fee details below before you plan your testing.

Score validity

Not stated

Score reporting

4 free reports within 9 days of the test, then $15 each

Fee waivers

Two free tests, unlimited score reports and waived application fees at participating colleges

Accommodations

SSD approval required before testing with accommodations

Governance

Who runs the SAT?

Exam owner

College Board

Website: satsuite.collegeboard.org

Customer Service: 866-630-9305 (U.S. and Canada) or +1-212-713-8000 (other countries)

What they handle

  • Writes and scores the SAT and sets its testing rules
  • Runs registration, test dates and fee waivers
  • Provides the Bluebook testing app and score reports
  • Approves accommodations through Services for Students with Disabilities

FAQ

Frequently asked questions

How much does the SAT cost?

The standard registration fee is $68 through June 2027. Late registration costs an extra $38, and fee waivers are available for eligible students.

How many questions are on the SAT?

There are 98 questions: 54 in Reading and Writing and 44 in Math. Each module also includes two pretest questions that do not count toward your score.

How long is the SAT?

Testing time is 134 minutes: 64 minutes for Reading and Writing and 70 for Math. You also get a 10-minute break between the sections.

What is a passing score on the SAT?

There is no passing score. Scores run from 400 to 1600, and each college decides how it uses them. College Board’s benchmarks are 480 for Reading and Writing and 530 for Math.

Is there a penalty for guessing on the SAT?

College Board does not describe a penalty for wrong answers. It advises that it is better to guess than to leave a question blank.

When do SAT scores come out?

For the 2026–27 weekend tests, student scores are released 13 to 16 days after the test date. For example, the Dec. 5, 2026 test has a release date of Dec. 18, 2026.

How many times can I take the SAT?

The College Board pages we read do not state a limit. You register and pay again for each test date unless you have fee waiver benefits.

Can I use a calculator on the SAT?

Yes, on the Math section only. Bluebook includes a built-in calculator, or you can bring one that meets College Board’s calculator policy.

Can I get the SAT fee waived?

Eligible 11th and 12th graders in the U.S. or U.S. territories can get two free SAT tests, unlimited score reports and waived application fees at participating colleges. You can use fee waiver benefits once in your lifetime.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with College Board.