Construction / Code Official Continuing Education / Connecticut
- Connecticut
- Code Official CE
- Code Officials
- Updated Oct 2026
Connecticut Code Official Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses
Connecticut code officials need 30, 60 or 90 hours of continuing education per three-year training cycle, depending on license class, and their license renews automatically at no cost once the hours are on file with OEDM.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Connecticut Office of Education and Data Management (OEDM) requirements
Hours per cycle
30 to 90 hrs
90 for building officials, assistant building officials and plan review technicians; 60 for residential building inspectors; 30 for other inspectors
Cycle
3 years
Your training cycle starts on the date you earn your license
Deadline
End of your 3-year cycle
Hours must be on file with OEDM before your cycle’s end date
Online allowed?
Yes, approved courses
OEDM’s online code training counts, and pre-approved outside online classes may count
Who needs CE
Who needs continuing education for a Connecticut code official license?
Every licensed Connecticut building code enforcement official needs CE to keep the license. Renewal is handled by the state through the DAS Office of Education and Data Management (OEDM), and it happens automatically when you finish your hours.
CE applies to
- Building officials and assistant building officials
- Plan review technicians
- Residential building inspectors
- Construction, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and heating and cooling inspectors
Exemptions
- None stated in our sources
Connecticut code official CE at a glance
Connecticut code official renewal, one box
| Renewed with | Connecticut Office of Education and Data Management (OEDM) |
| CE required? | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 90 (building officials, assistant building officials, plan review technicians); 60 (residential building inspectors); 30 (other inspectors) |
| Cycle | 3 years |
| Required topics | Not stated |
| Online allowed? | Yes, OEDM online training and pre-approved outside courses |
| Deadline | End of your three-year training cycle |
| Who reports | You submit proof to OEDM within 90 days of each course |
| Carryover | Not stated |
| Grace period | Not stated |
| Renewal fee | No fee |
| Last updated | October 28, 2026 |
Hours
How many CE hours does a Connecticut code official license need?
Your hours depend on your license class: 90 hours for building officials, assistant building officials and plan review technicians, 60 hours for residential building inspectors and 30 hours for construction, electrical, heating and cooling, mechanical and plumbing inspectors, all per three-year training cycle. The rules don’t list specific required topics.
| Class | Total | Required topics | Electives | Delivery limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Official | 90 hrs | Not stated | Not stated | OEDM online training and pre-approved outside courses count |
| Assistant Building Official | 90 hrs | Not stated | Not stated | OEDM online training and pre-approved outside courses count |
| Plan Review Technician | 90 hrs | Not stated | Not stated | OEDM online training and pre-approved outside courses count |
| Residential Building Inspector | 60 hrs | Not stated | Not stated | OEDM online training and pre-approved outside courses count |
| Construction, Electrical, Plumbing, Mechanical or Heating & Cooling Inspector | 30 hrs | Not stated | Not stated | OEDM online training and pre-approved outside courses count |
Hours are set by the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, sections 29-262-2b and 29-262-4b to 29-262-11b.
Deadline
When is the Connecticut code official license renewal deadline?
Your three-year training cycle starts on the date you earn your license. Finish your hours before the cycle’s end date and your license renews automatically. If you need more time, contact OEDM before the end date.
| Deadline rule | End of your three-year training cycle, which starts on the date you earn your license |
| Cycle | 3 years |
| Grace period | Not stated; contact OEDM at OEDM@ct.gov if you need an extension |
| Late penalty | Not stated |
| CE completion deadline | Submit proof within 90 days of each course, and before your cycle ends |
Steps
How to renew a Connecticut code official license, step by step
- Take approved CEBefore your cycle ends
Complete your 30, 60 or 90 hours of approved CE during your three-year training cycle. OEDM’s own classes and online training count. - Get your certificateSame day
Save the certificate of completion or transcript for each course you finish. - Confirm it’s reportedWithin 90 days
Submit proof of each course to OEDM within 90 days of finishing it, or before your cycle ends if that comes sooner. Check your credential report to confirm the credit. - Pay the renewal feeNo fee
There’s no renewal fee. Your license renews automatically at the end of the cycle once your hours are complete. - Check your license statusBefore your end date
Check that your OEDM credential report shows “Compliant: Yes” for the current cycle.
Providers
Approved Connecticut code official license CE providers
We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Use the board’s approved provider list to confirm a course counts before you pay.
Approval
How to check a Connecticut code official CE course is approved
Only approved continuing education counts. OEDM’s own classes and online code training count, and OEDM pre-approves many outside live and online classes. Other outside classes may count toward your three-year requirement.
- Check OEDM’s pre-approved outside credit classes list before you enroll.
- Keep a running total so you reach your hours within the three-year cycle.
- Ask OEDM if you’re unsure whether a course counts.
Reporting
How Connecticut code official CE is reported, and what happens in an audit
You’re responsible for getting your hours on file. Submit proof of each course to the Office of Education and Data Management within 90 days of finishing it, on OEDM’s form, with a certificate of completion or transcript. If your cycle ends within those 90 days, submit before it ends.
- Keep a certificate of completion or transcript for every course.
- Submit proof to OEDM within 90 days of each course.
- Check your OEDM credential report: “Compliant: Yes” means your license renews automatically.
Cost
How much does Connecticut code official license renewal cost?
| Item | Fee | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| Renewal fee | No fee | Connecticut Office of Education and Data Management |
| OEDM continuing education classes | No fee | Connecticut Office of Education and Data Management |
| Outside CE courses | Varies by provider | CE provider |
Fees from the OEDM fees page, checked October 2026. OEDM charges no fees for applications, training programs, exams, its CE classes or renewals.
Late or lapsed
Late, expired or inactive Connecticut code official license
The state doesn’t publish a grace period, late fee or reinstatement process for code officials. If you’re running behind on your hours, contact the Office of Education and Data Management before your cycle’s end date.
Extensions
If you need more time, email OEDM@ct.gov before your end date and OEDM will work with you.
Makeup CE
You still need all of your required hours for the cycle. OEDM’s pre-licensure classes aren’t a general way to catch up.
Who controls
Who controls Connecticut code official license renewal?
Renewal authority
Connecticut Department of Administrative Services, Office of Education and Data Management
450 Columbus Boulevard, Hartford, CT 06103
(860) 713-5522
OEDM@ct.gov
Responsibilities
- Licenses Connecticut building code enforcement officials
- Runs and approves continuing education
- Records CE credits and tracks each three-year training cycle
- Renews licenses automatically when CE is complete
Getting licensed
Getting a Connecticut code official license
Need the license first? Our Connecticut guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.
FAQ
Connecticut code official license CE FAQs
How many CE hours does a Connecticut code official need?
90 hours per three-year cycle for building officials, assistant building officials and plan review technicians; 60 for residential building inspectors; 30 for construction, electrical, plumbing, mechanical, and heating and cooling inspectors.
When is the deadline?
The end of your three-year training cycle, which starts on the date you earn your license.
Who reports my hours?
You do. Submit proof of each course to OEDM within 90 days of finishing it.
Can I take CE online?
Yes. OEDM’s online code training counts, and pre-approved outside online classes may count too.
How much does renewal cost?
Nothing. There’s no renewal fee, and your license renews automatically once your hours are complete.
Do hours carry over?
The rules don’t say extra hours carry over, so plan on a full set of hours each cycle.
What happens if I miss the deadline?
The state doesn’t publish a grace period or late fee. Email OEDM@ct.gov before your end date if you need an extension.
Sources
Official sources for Connecticut code official CE rules
- Connecticut Office of Education and Data Management
- OEDM: continuing education hours by license class
- OEDM fees
- DAS building officials continuing education
- Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, sections 29-262-1b to 29-262-12b
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Connecticut Office of Education and Data Management.
