Construction / Electrical Contractor License / California
- California
- C-10 Electrical Contractor
- Contractor License
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your California C-10 Electrical Contractor License
What a C-10 license covers, the experience, exams, bonds and insurance CSLB requires, and how to apply.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from California Contractors State License Board requirements
Application fee
$450
Plus $51.43 per PSI exam and a $200–$350 initial license fee
Exam time
Not stated
Law & Business + C-10 trade exam
Time to get license
~4 yrs
4 years of experience within the last 10
Continuing ed
Not required
No CE for renewal
Overview
Do you need a California electrical contractor license?
Yes, if you want to contract for electrical work in California. A C-10 Electrical Contractor installs, erects or connects any electrical wires, fixtures, appliances, raceways, conduits or solar photovoltaic cells that generate, transmit, transform or use electrical energy.
License required when
- You contract to install or connect electrical wiring, fixtures, appliances or apparatus
- You install raceways, conduits or solar photovoltaic cells
- You run an electrical contracting business, as a sole owner, partnership, corporation or LLC
Common exceptions
- Working as an employee of a licensed contractor rather than contracting yourself
- Check with CSLB for other exemptions; our source doesn’t list them
Penalties for unlicensed work
CSLB licenses California contractors and can take action against anyone who contracts without the required license. Get your C-10 before you bid electrical work.
Your fast-track California electrical contractor license checklist
The California application, one page
- 4 years of electrical experience in the last 10
- Application packet sent to CSLB for exam pre-approval
- Passing scores on Law & Business and the C-10 exam
- $15,000 contractor’s bond on file
- Workers’ comp certificate, if you have employees
- LLC bond and liability insurance, if you’re an LLC
Types
California electrical contractor license types and classifications
The C-10 is California’s electrical contractor classification. You qualify for it with your own experience, or a business can be qualified by a Responsible Managing Employee (RME).
C-10
Electrical
Electrical Contractor
Electrical wires, fixtures, appliances, apparatus, raceways, conduits and solar photovoltaic cells, for any purpose.
Exam
Law & Business + C-10
Limit
Not stated
Requirements
California electrical contractor license requirements, class by class
The experience and exams are the same for every applicant. LLCs carry extra bond and insurance requirements.
| Requirement | Sole owner, partnership or corporation | LLC |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | 4 years in the last 10, journeyman level or above | 4 years in the last 10, journeyman level or above |
| Exams | Law & Business + C-10 trade | Law & Business + C-10 trade |
| Contractor’s bond | $15,000 | $15,000 |
| Qualifying individual’s bond | $12,500 if qualified by an RME | $12,500 if qualified by an RME |
| Employee/worker bond | Not stated | $100,000 |
| Liability insurance | Not stated | $1M–$5M, based on personnel |
| Workers’ comp | Required if you have employees | Required if you have employees |
Steps
How to get your California electrical contractor license, step by step
- Get your experience~4 years
At least 4 years of electrical work within the last 10 years, as a journeyman, foreman, supervising employee, contractor or owner-builder. - Submit your application to CSLBBefore the exam
Send a completed application packet to get pre-approval for the exams. Forms are on the CSLB website. - Schedule your examsAfter approval
Once you’re approved, arrange a date and time with the board. - Pass both examsExam day
Law & Business and the C-10 trade exam. Both are closed book. - File your bond and insuranceBefore licensing
A $15,000 contractor’s bond, a $12,500 qualifying individual’s bond if you use an RME, workers’ comp if you have employees, and the extra LLC bond and liability coverage if you’re an LLC. - Receive your licenseFrom CSLB
CSLB issues your C-10 once everything is on file.
Exam
What to expect on the California electrical contractor exam
You take two exams: Law & Business and the C-10 trade exam. California exams are closed book, so you need to know the material cold.
Format
Closed book
Questions
Not stated
Passing score
Not stated
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- C-10 trade: planning and estimating, rough wiring, finish wiring and trim
- C-10 trade: startup, troubleshooting, maintenance and safety
- Law & Business: business organization, finances, employment requirements
- Law & Business: bonds, insurance and liens, contracts, licensing and public works
- No reference books allowed
Retake policy
- Wait 21 calendar days after a failed attempt before you pay and reschedule
- Each retake costs another $51.43 exam fee, paid to PSI
- Pre-approval from CSLB is required before scheduling
- Check with CSLB before you book a retake
Exam references · Closed book
The state hasn’t published a reference list for this exam in our sources. Check the candidate bulletin from the exam vendor before you buy books.
The C-10 trade exam and the Law and Business exam are both closed book, so no references are allowed in the room.
Prep
Best California electrical contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a California electrical contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $450 |
| Exam fees (paid to PSI) | Fixed | $51.43 per exam ($102.86 for Law & Business + trade) |
| Initial license fee | Fixed | $200 sole owner; $350 partnership, corporation or LLC |
| Fingerprinting (DOJ $32 + FBI $17) | Fixed | $49, plus the Live Scan site’s rolling fee |
| Contractor’s bond ($15,000) | Variable | Varies |
| Qualifying individual’s bond ($12,500, RME only) | Variable | Varies |
| LLC employee/worker bond ($100,000) | Variable | Varies |
| Workers’ comp and LLC liability insurance | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Sole owner: application, two PSI exams and initial license fee; excludes fingerprinting, bonds and insurance | $752.86 |
Fees from the CSLB List of All CSLB Fees and PSI’s CSLB examination information guides, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does California accept out-of-state electrical contractor licenses?
California has reciprocity agreements for electrical contractors with Arizona, Louisiana, Nevada and Utah.
Arizona — reciprocity agreement
Covers electrical contractors. Contact CSLB to see what’s waived for your license.
Louisiana — reciprocity agreement
Covers electrical contractors. Contact CSLB to see what’s waived for your license.
Nevada — reciprocity agreement
Covers electrical contractors. Contact CSLB to see what’s waived for your license.
Utah — reciprocity agreement
Covers electrical contractors. Contact CSLB to see what’s waived for your license.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant and take both exams.
Local
Do California cities and counties have their own electrical contractor licensing rules?
Your C-10 covers all of California. Cities and counties still handle permits and inspections.
State handles
- C-10 licenses, exams and pre-approval
- Bond and insurance requirements
- Reciprocity agreements
City & county handle
- Electrical permits
- Inspections
- Local business licenses
Governance
Who regulates electrical contractors in California
Licensing authority
California Contractors State License Board (CSLB)
800-321-2752
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues and renews contractor licenses, including the C-10
- Approves applicants for the Law & Business and trade exams
- Holds contractor bonds and insurance on file
- Manages reciprocity agreements
Maintenance
How to renew your California electrical contractor license and keep it active
California doesn’t require continuing education to renew a C-10. Keep your bond and insurance current. An active C-10 renewal is $470 for a sole owner or $720 for other entities; our source doesn’t list the renewal cycle, so check with CSLB.
Renewal cycle
Not stated
CE hours
None
Renewal fee
$470 sole owner; $720 other entities (active)
Late penalty
$695 sole owner; $1,070 other entities (active, fee plus penalty)
Renewing your license?
See the California CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
California electrical contractor license FAQs
How much experience do I need for a C-10 license?
At least 4 years of electrical work within the last 10 years, at journeyman level or above, or as a foreman, supervising employee, contractor or owner-builder.
What exams do I take for a C-10?
Two: the Law & Business exam and the C-10 electrical trade exam.
Is the California contractor exam open book?
No. California’s exams are closed book.
What bond do I need?
A $15,000 contractor’s bond. Add a $12,500 qualifying individual’s bond if an RME qualifies the license, and LLCs also need a $100,000 employee/worker bond.
Does California require continuing education for electrical contractors?
No. There’s no CE requirement to renew.
Does my out-of-state electrical license transfer?
California has reciprocity agreements with Arizona, Louisiana, Nevada and Utah for electrical contractors. Contact CSLB to see what’s waived.
Do I need workers’ comp?
Yes, if you have employees. The certificate must be in the business name on your application.
Sources
Official sources for the California electrical contractor license
- California Contractors State License Board, Forms and Applications
- CSLB, C-10 Electrical Contractor classification
- CSLB, Bond and insurance requirements
- California Contractors State License Board, List of All CSLB Fees
- PSI, CSLB Law and Business Licensing Examination Information Guide
- PSI, CSLB Electrical (C-10) Licensing Examination Information Guide
- California Contractors State License Board, My Original Exam Application was Accepted
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the California Contractors State License Board.
