Construction / Electrical Contractor License / Ohio
- Ohio
- Electrical Contractor
- Commercial & Residential
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Ohio Electrical Contractor License
Everything you need to qualify, pass both exams and get licensed as an electrical contractor in Ohio, from the experience you have to document to the insurance you need on file.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board requirements
Application fee
$25
Plus $69 per PSI exam; $25 license fee
Exam time
6 hrs
Electrical (4 hrs) + Business & Law (2 hrs)
Time to get license
~5 yrs
Five years as a tradesperson under a licensed contractor
Continuing ed
40 hrs
Before each renewal
Overview
Do you need an Ohio electrical contractor license?
Yes, if you want to bid on or contract electrical work in Ohio. You need an Electrical Contractor license before you bid, and the license and your insurance policy must be assigned to a contracting company.
License required when
- You bid on or contract electrical work in Ohio
- You install, alter, add or change electrical wiring, fixtures, appliances, raceways or conduit
- You run a company that does electrical work for light, heat, power or communications
- Your license and insurance need to be assigned to a contracting company
Common exceptions
- Working as a tradesperson under a licensed contractor, which is how most applicants build their required experience
- Other exemptions aren’t listed in our source, so check with the OCILB before relying on one
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our source doesn’t list specific penalty amounts. Contracting without the required license can lead to enforcement action by the state, so get licensed before you bid on any electrical job.
Your fast-track Ohio electrical contractor license checklist
The Ohio application, one page
- 5 consecutive years of W-2s or Schedule C forms
- One supporting item: permits, journeyman’s card, apprenticeship certificate or 40 hrs code CE
- Board approval, then a state and federal background check
- Passing scores on Electrical and Business & Law
- Proof of $500,000 liability insurance
- License and policy assigned to a contracting company
Types
Ohio electrical contractor license types and classifications
Ohio issues one Electrical Contractor license at the state level. You can renew it every year or every 3 years.
EC
State license
Electrical Contractor
Install, alter, add or change any electrical wires, fixtures, appliances, apparatus, raceways or conduit that generate, transmit, transform or use electrical energy for light, heat, power or communications.
Exam
Electrical + B&L
Limit
Not stated
Requirements
Ohio electrical contractor license requirements, class by class
There are two ways to qualify on experience. Everything else, including the exams, insurance and background check, is the same either way.
| Requirement | Tradesperson route | Registered engineer route |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | Last 5 years as a tradesperson under a licensed contractor, doing permittable work | Registered engineer in Ohio with 3 years of electrical construction business experience |
| Tax documents | Last 5 consecutive years (W-2s or Schedule C) | Not stated |
| Supporting proof | One of: a permit per year for 5 years, journeyman’s card, approved apprenticeship certificate, or 40 hrs of code CE | Not stated |
| Exams | Electrical + Business & Law | Electrical + Business & Law |
| Liability insurance | $500,000 minimum | $500,000 minimum |
| Background check | State and federal, after Board approval | State and federal, after Board approval |
Steps
How to get your Ohio electrical contractor license, step by step
- Document your experienceBefore you apply
Gather 5 consecutive years of W-2s or Schedule C forms, plus one supporting item: a permit per year, your journeyman’s card, an approved apprenticeship certificate or proof of 40 hours of code CE. - Submit your applicationBefore the exam
Apply to the state with your verified experience. You can’t sit for the exam until the Board approves you, and the state then sends you an exam bulletin. - Complete your background checkAfter Board approval
Once approved, complete a state and federal background check before you sit for the exam. - Pass both exams with PSIExam day
Schedule the Electrical and Business & Law exams with PSI at psiexams.com or 855-746-8173. Test centers are in larger cities across Ohio. - Get insurance and apply for your licenseBefore you’re licensed
Apply through the OCILB with proof of at least $500,000 in liability insurance. The policy and license must be assigned to a contracting company. - Choose your renewal cycleAfter licensing
Renew every year or every 3 years, with 40 hours of continuing education before each renewal.
Exam
What to expect on the Ohio electrical contractor exam
You take two exams: the Electrical exam and Business & Law. The Electrical exam is open book, and your reference can be tabbed and highlighted.
Format
Open book
Questions
100 + 50
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Electrical: 100 questions, 4 hours, 70% to pass
- Electrical topics: transformers, services, feeders and branch circuits, raceways and panelboards, conductors, motors and special occupancies
- Business & Law: 50 questions, 120 minutes
- Business & Law topics: licensing, estimating, contracts, insurance and bonding, OSHA, tax and lien laws
- References can be tabbed and highlighted
Retake policy
- Waiting period between attempts: Not stated
- Retake fee: $69 per PSI registration
- Board pre-approval is required before you schedule
- Contact PSI at 855-746-8173 for scheduling questions
Exam references · Open book
Ohio Electrical Contractors take two open-book exams: the Electrical exam and the Business and Law exam. You can tab and highlight the references and bring them into the test.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Electrical exam | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References — Electrical exam | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Electrical Field Reference Handbook — Electrical exam | Revised for the 2008 NEC | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management (Ohio edition) — Business and Law exam | 4th edition | Allowed in exam |
The Electrical Field Reference Handbook is on the exam vendor’s list but is typically not needed.
Prep
Best Ohio electrical contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does an Ohio electrical contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $25 |
| Electrical exam (PSI) | Fixed | $69 |
| Business & Law exam (PSI) | Fixed | $69 |
| License issuance fee | Fixed | $25 |
| State and federal background check | Variable | Varies |
| Liability insurance ($500,000 minimum) | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes background checks and insurance; $25 application + two $69 PSI exams + $25 license | $188 |
Fees from Ohio Admin. Code 4101:16-2-09, the OCILB examination application and the PSI candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Ohio accept out-of-state electrical contractor licenses?
Ohio has reciprocity agreements with 6 states. The exact terms aren’t in our source, so confirm what’s waived with the OCILB before you apply.
West Virginia — reciprocity agreement
Terms not stated in our source. Ask the OCILB which exams or requirements are waived.
Kentucky — reciprocity agreement
Terms not stated in our source. Ask the OCILB which exams or requirements are waived.
North Carolina — reciprocity agreement
Terms not stated in our source. Ask the OCILB which exams or requirements are waived.
South Carolina — reciprocity agreement
Terms not stated in our source. Ask the OCILB which exams or requirements are waived.
Louisiana — reciprocity agreement
Terms not stated in our source. Ask the OCILB which exams or requirements are waived.
Tennessee — reciprocity agreement
Terms not stated in our source. Ask the OCILB which exams or requirements are waived.
Local
Do Ohio cities and counties have their own electrical contractor licensing rules?
Your Electrical Contractor license is issued by the state. Cities and counties still handle permits and inspections for the jobs you do.
State handles
- Electrical Contractor licenses and renewals
- Application review and background checks
- Exams, through PSI
- Continuing education requirements
City & county handle
- Electrical permits
- Inspections
- Any local registration rules
Governance
Who regulates electrical contractors in Ohio
Licensing authority
Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB)
614-644-3493
Oversight responsibilities
- Reviews applications and approves candidates for the exam
- Issues and renews Electrical Contractor licenses
- Requires proof of insurance and a background check
- Sets continuing education rules for renewal
Maintenance
How to renew your Ohio electrical contractor license and keep it active
You can renew your Ohio Electrical Contractor license every year or every 3 years. Either way, complete 40 hours of continuing education before each renewal.
Renewal cycle
1 or 3 years
CE hours
40
Renewal fee
$60/yr or $180/3 yrs
Late penalty
Up to $120
Renewing your license?
See the Ohio CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Ohio electrical contractor license FAQs
How much experience do I need for an Ohio electrical contractor license?
Five years as a tradesperson working under a licensed contractor on permittable work, backed by tax documents. A registered Ohio engineer with 3 years of electrical construction business experience can qualify instead.
What exams do I take?
Two: the Electrical exam (100 questions, 4 hours, 70% to pass) and the Business & Law exam (50 questions, 120 minutes). Both are scheduled with PSI.
Is the Ohio electrical exam open book?
Yes. Your reference can be tabbed and highlighted, but you can’t use any online course during the exam.
How much insurance do I need?
At least $500,000 in liability coverage. The policy and license must be assigned to a contracting company.
How often do I renew, and is CE required?
You choose to renew every year or every 3 years. Ohio requires 40 hours of continuing education before each renewal.
Does Ohio have electrical reciprocity?
Yes, with West Virginia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Louisiana and Tennessee. Confirm what’s waived with the OCILB.
Do I need a background check?
Yes. After the Board approves your application, you complete a state and federal background check before you sit for the exam.
Sources
Official sources for the Ohio electrical contractor license
- Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board
- PSI, Ohio contractor exam scheduling
- Ohio Board of State Examiners of Electricians, Electrical Contractor requirements
- Ohio Admin. Code 4101:16-2-09, OCILB fees
- OCILB Examination Application
- PSI, OCILB Contractor Trade Examinations Candidate Information Bulletin
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board.
