Construction / Electrician License / Arizona
- Arizona
- Electrical Contractor
- Residential, Commercial & Dual
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Arizona Electrical Contractor License
Arizona licenses electrical contractors in three classifications: R-11 residential, C-11 commercial and CR-11 dual. Here’s what each one covers, which exams you take, the bonds you need and how to apply with the Registrar of Contractors.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Arizona Registrar of Contractors requirements
Application fee
$80–$100
Plus $270–$480 license fee and $66 exam fee
Exam time
4 hrs
State trade exam; NASCLA option is 4.5 hrs
Time to get license
~4 yrs
4 years of hands-on or managerial experience
Continuing ed
Not required
No CE before renewal
Overview
Do you need an Arizona electrician license?
Yes, if you contract for electrical work in Arizona. The Arizona Registrar of Contractors (ROC) issues electrical contractor licenses, and your classification decides whether you can work on homes, commercial buildings or both.
License required when
- You contract to install or repair residential electrical systems, including solar (R-11)
- You contract for commercial electrical wiring and equipment under 600 volts (C-11)
- You want to do both residential and commercial electrical work (CR-11)
- You install overhead wiring on public right-of-ways for signs and street decorations, or underground distribution under 600 volts serving private property (C-11)
Common exceptions
- Our source notes don’t list exemptions. Check with the ROC before you rely on one.
- An R-11 doesn’t cover commercial work and a C-11 doesn’t cover residential work. Get a CR-11 if you do both.
Penalties for unlicensed work
Contracting without the right ROC license can lead to enforcement action by the Registrar. Specific penalty amounts aren’t covered here, so check with the ROC before you take on work.
Your fast-track Arizona electrician license checklist
The Arizona application, one page
- 4 years of hands-on or managerial experience documented
- Passing score on the PSI or NASCLA electrical exam
- Statutes and Rules course and exam completed
- Legal business entity formed
- Background check for every person named on the application
- Surety bond for your classification and volume
Types
Arizona electrician license types and classifications
Arizona splits electrical contractor licenses into residential, commercial and dual. Every classification needs 4 years of experience, a trade exam and the Statutes and Rules course. What changes is the scope of work and the bond.
R-11
Residential
Residential Electrical, including Solar
Install and repair residential electrical systems, including solar.
Exam
PSI Residential or NASCLA
Limit
Bond $4,250–$7,500
C-11
Commercial
Commercial Electrical
Install, alter and repair wiring and electrical equipment under 600 volts, including overhead right-of-way wiring for signs and underground distribution serving private property.
Exam
PSI Commercial or NASCLA
Limit
Bond $2,500–$50,000
CR-11
Both scopes
Dual Electrical
Covers everything in both the R-11 and C-11 scopes.
Exam
PSI Commercial or NASCLA
Limit
R-11 + C-11 bonds
Requirements
Arizona electrician license requirements, class by class
The core requirements are the same for all three classifications. The trade exam and bond depend on your scope.
| Requirement | R-11 Residential | C-11 Commercial | CR-11 Dual |
|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 4 years hands-on or managerial | 4 years hands-on or managerial | 4 years hands-on or managerial |
| Trade exam | PSI Residential Electrical or NASCLA residential electrical | PSI Commercial Electrical or NASCLA Electrical Contractor | PSI Commercial Electrical or NASCLA Electrical Contractor |
| Statutes and Rules | SRE course and exam | SRE course and exam | SRE course and exam |
| Background check | Every person named on the application | Every person named on the application | Every person named on the application |
| Business entity | Legal entity required | Legal entity required | Legal entity required |
| Surety bond | $4,250 under $375,000 volume; $7,500 above | $2,500–$50,000 by annual volume | R-11 and C-11 bonds combined |
| Continuing ed | Not required | Not required | Not required |
Steps
How to get your Arizona electrician license, step by step
- Choose your classificationBefore you start
Pick R-11 for homes, C-11 for commercial work or CR-11 for both. Your choice sets your exam and your bond. - Form your businessBefore you apply
Arizona requires a legal entity for the license, so set yours up first. - Pass your trade exam with PSIExam day
Take the Arizona electrical exam or the NASCLA electrical exam. Both are open book. Schedule through PSI or call 855-744-0310. You need a passing score before you apply. - Complete the Statutes and Rules courseOnline only
The AZ Statutes and Rules Training Course and Exam (SRE) is computer-based training followed by a test. It’s only offered online through the ROC. - Line up background checks and your bondBefore you apply
Every person named on the application needs a background check. Get a surety bond sized to your expected annual volume. - Apply with the ROCFinal step
Submit your application through the Registrar of Contractors using the ROC license checklist.
Exam
What to expect on the Arizona electrician exam
You take one trade exam, either the Arizona state exam or the NASCLA electrical exam, plus the Statutes and Rules course and exam. Both trade exams are open book, so knowing your references matters.
Format
Open book
Questions
110 (state) or 100 (NASCLA)
Passing score
70% (state) or 75 correct (NASCLA)
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Arizona electrical exam: 110 questions, 240 minutes, 70% to pass
- NASCLA electrical exam: 100 questions, 270 minutes, 75 correct to pass
- State exam topics include grounding and bonding, overcurrent protection, motors, fire alarm systems and photovoltaics
- Permitted references are listed in the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin
- You can tab, highlight and annotate your books before the exam, but not write in them during it
Retake policy
- Retake waiting period: 30 days (90 days after a third attempt)
- Retake fee: $66 per attempt
- Schedule or retake through PSI at 855-744-0310
- You need a passing score before you submit your license application
Exam references · Open book
The Arizona C-11, CR-11 and R-11 electrical exams are open book, and the permitted references can be tabbed and highlighted. You can annotate your books before the exam, but you can’t write in them during the test.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) | 2017 | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 72: National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code | 2016 | Allowed in exam |
| OSHA 1926: Construction Industry Regulations | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References | 2020 | Study only |
| Photovoltaic Systems | Not stated | Study only |
| The Easy Guide to Solar Electric Part II: Installation Manual | Not stated | Study only |
This list covers the Arizona state electrical exams; our sources don’t list references for the NASCLA electrical exam option.
Prep
Best Arizona electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does an Arizona electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application processing fee | Fixed | $80 residential (R); $100 commercial (C) or dual (CR) |
| Biennial license fee | Fixed | $270 R; $480 C; $380 CR |
| Residential Recovery Fund assessment (R and CR only) | Fixed | $370 |
| PSI or NASCLA trade exam | Fixed | $66 PSI; $116 NASCLA electrical |
| Statutes and Rules course and exam (SRE) | Fixed | $61 |
| Background checks | Variable | Not stated |
| Surety bond premium | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes bond premium and background checks | $707–$977 (C class $707; R class $847; CR class $977) |
Fees from the Arizona Registrar of Contractors License and Renewal Fees schedule (A.R.S. 32-1126 sets the caps) and the PSI Arizona candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Arizona accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Arizona has reciprocity agreements with three states. Ask the ROC which exams are waived for your classification before you apply.
California — reciprocity agreement
Arizona lists California as a reciprocity state. Confirm with the ROC what’s waived for electrical classifications.
Nevada — reciprocity agreement
Arizona lists Nevada as a reciprocity state. Confirm with the ROC what’s waived for electrical classifications.
Utah — reciprocity agreement
Arizona lists Utah as a reciprocity state. Confirm with the ROC what’s waived for electrical classifications.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant. The NASCLA electrical exam is accepted in place of Arizona’s state trade exam.
Local
Do Arizona cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Your ROC license covers contracting statewide. Cities and counties still handle permits and inspections for each job.
State handles
- R-11, C-11 and CR-11 contractor licenses
- Trade exams, through PSI
- The Statutes and Rules course and exam
- Bond and background check requirements
City & county handle
- Electrical permits
- Inspections
- Local business licensing
Governance
Who regulates electrical contractors in Arizona
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues and renews R-11, C-11 and CR-11 licenses
- Runs the Statutes and Rules Training Course and Exam
- Sets bond requirements by classification and volume
- Reviews background checks for everyone named on an application
Maintenance
How to renew your Arizona electrician license and keep it active
Arizona doesn’t require continuing education before you renew. Keep your bond active. Licenses renew every two years: $270 plus a $270 Recovery Fund assessment for R classes, $480 for C classes, and $380 plus $270 for CR classes. Missing the renewal deadline adds a $50 penalty.
Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
CE hours
Not required
Renewal fee
$480–$650
Late penalty
$50
FAQ
Arizona electrician license FAQs
What’s the difference between R-11, C-11 and CR-11?
R-11 covers residential electrical work, including solar. C-11 covers commercial electrical work under 600 volts. CR-11 is a dual license that covers both.
How much experience do I need?
4 years of hands-on or managerial experience, for any of the three classifications.
Is the Arizona electrical exam open book?
Yes. Both the Arizona state exam and the NASCLA exam are open book. You can tab, highlight and annotate your books beforehand, but you can’t write in them during the exam.
Can I take the NASCLA exam instead of the Arizona exam?
Yes. The NASCLA electrical exam satisfies the trade exam requirement. You still need to complete Arizona’s Statutes and Rules course and exam.
What is the Statutes and Rules course?
It’s computer-based training on Arizona’s contractor statutes and rules, followed by a test. It’s only offered online through the ROC, and it replaced the old Statutes and Rules exam.
Do I need continuing education to renew?
No. Arizona doesn’t require continuing education before renewal.
Does Arizona have reciprocity for electrical contractors?
Arizona has reciprocity agreements with California, Nevada and Utah. Check with the ROC for what’s waived for your classification.
How big a bond do I need?
R-11 needs $4,250 under $375,000 in annual volume and $7,500 above that. C-11 runs from $2,500 to $50,000 by volume, and CR-11 needs both combined.
Sources
Official sources for the Arizona electrician license
- Arizona Registrar of Contractors, Get a License checklist
- PSI, Arizona contractor exam catalog
- PSI, Arizona Candidate Information Bulletin
- Arizona Registrar of Contractors, Statutes and Rules Training Course and Exam (SRE)
- NASCLA Accredited Examination for Electrical Contractors
- Arizona Administrative Code, R4-9-130 Schedule of Fees (PDF)
- Arizona Revised Statutes, 32-1126 Fees
- Arizona Registrar of Contractors, Applying for a License
- Arizona Registrar of Contractors, License and Renewal Fees
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Arizona Registrar of Contractors.
