Construction / Electrician License / Delaware
- Delaware
- Electrician License
- Journeyperson, Master & Residential
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Delaware Electrician License
How to qualify for a Delaware journeyperson, master or residential electrician license, pass the exam and stay licensed, based on the Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners’ requirements.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners requirements
Application fee
$105–$203
Varies by license; plus $100 exam fee
Exam time
Not stated
Exams held on set dates in Dover-Harrington and Newark
Time to get license
~4 yrs
8,000 hrs for journeyperson; 4–6 yrs for master
Continuing ed
5–10 hrs
5 journeyperson, 10 master and residential
Overview
Do you need a Delaware electrician license?
Yes. The Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners licenses anyone who performs, maintains, troubleshoots or supervises electrical work covered by the National Electrical Code (NEC) as adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission.
License required when
- You perform, maintain, troubleshoot or supervise electrical work covered by the NEC
- You work as a journeyperson under the supervision of a master electrician
- You do residential electrical work without onsite supervision (residential license)
- You want to supervise other electricians as a master electrician
Common exceptions
- Residential electricians don’t need onsite supervision, but can only work on homes before they’re connected to the grid, or at and beyond the breaker panel or fuse box
- Journeypersons don’t need a master license, but must work under the supervision of a master electrician
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific penalties. In general, the Board can deny, discipline or revoke licenses, and all licensed work must follow the NEC as adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission and any local building code.
Your fast-track Delaware electrician license checklist
The Delaware application, one page
- Experience hours documented under a licensed supervisor
- Technical training transcript (if using it for master)
- DELPROS account and application
- Exam approval email and registration form
- Passing score of 75% or higher
- Proof of $300,000 liability insurance (master)
Types
Delaware electrician license types and classifications
Delaware licenses journeyperson, master and residential electricians. The state also recognizes master electrician special, limited electrician and limited electrician special licenses, which can supervise apprentices’ experience hours.
JRY
Most common
Journeyperson Electrician
Electrical work covered by the NEC, under the supervision of a master electrician.
Exam
Journeyperson exam
Limit
Master supervision
MST
Top tier
Master Electrician
Supervises journeypersons and electrical work. Needs at least $300,000 in liability insurance after the exam.
Exam
Master exam
Limit
No work limit stated
RES
Homes only
Residential Electrician
Residential work without onsite supervision, before a home is connected to the grid or at and beyond the breaker panel.
Exam
Residential exam
Limit
Residential only
Requirements
Delaware electrician license requirements, class by class
Each license has its own experience rule and its own exam. Only the master license has an insurance requirement in our sources.
| Requirement | Journeyperson | Master | Residential |
|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 8,000 hrs full-time under a licensed master or limited electrician | 6 yrs under a master, or 4 yrs plus 2 yrs technical training | 4,000+ hrs, or a Board-approved residential apprenticeship |
| Exam | Journeyperson exam | Master exam | Residential exam |
| Passing score | 75% | 75% | 75% |
| Liability insurance | Not stated | $300,000 minimum | Not stated |
| Continuing ed | 5 hrs | 10 hrs | 10 hrs |
| Application fee | $105 | $203 | $105 |
Steps
How to get your Delaware electrician license, step by step
- Get your experienceBefore you apply
Log 8,000 hours under a licensed master or limited electrician for a journeyperson license, 4,000+ hours or an approved apprenticeship for residential, or 4–6 years for master. - Apply in DELPROSBefore the exam
Create an account on the DELPROS online portal through the Board’s website and start your application. - Get exam approvalAfter Board review
When the Board approves your application, you’ll get an email saying you can sit for the exam, plus a separate email with the exam registration form. - Pass your examExam day
Exams are held on set dates in Dover-Harrington and Newark. They’re open book, and you need 75% to pass. - Send proof of insurance (master only)After you pass
Master electricians submit proof of liability insurance of at least $300,000 to the Board office. - Finish your licenseThrough DPR
Complete your application through the Division of Professional Regulation.
Exam
What to expect on the Delaware electrician exam
Each license has its own exam. All are open book, and you can tab and highlight your bound references.
Format
Open book
Questions
Not stated
Passing score
75%
Exam vendor
Prov
Scoring & content
- 75% to pass
- References must be bound; tabbing and highlighting are allowed
- Journeyperson and residential references: NEC 2020 and American Electricians’ Handbook, 17th edition
- The master exam also uses Ugly’s Electrical References
- Held on set dates in Dover-Harrington and Newark
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- Each exam costs $100, paid to Prov when you schedule
- You register using the form the Board emails after approval
- Call the Board at 302-744-4500 for current rules
Exam references · Open book
Delaware’s electrician exams are open book: the approved references can be tabbed, highlighted and used during your test, but every reference must be bound. The list covers the Master, Journeyperson and Residential exams.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — all exams | 2020 | Allowed in exam |
| American Electricians’ Handbook — all exams | 17th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References — Master exam only | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
Prep
Best Delaware electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Delaware electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $105–$203 |
| Exam fee | Fixed | $100 |
| Code books for the open-book exam | Variable | Varies |
| Liability insurance, $300,000 minimum (master) | Variable | Varies |
| License renewal | Fixed | Set at renewal |
| State fees and exams | $105 or $203 application plus $100 exam; excludes code books, insurance and renewal | $205–$303 |
Fees from the Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners fee schedule and the Prov candidate information bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Delaware accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Delaware has reciprocity for master electricians with Michigan and Wyoming, plus limited agreements with a longer list of states. Check the exact terms with the Board before you apply.
Michigan — master electrician reciprocity
Applies to master electricians. Confirm what’s waived with the Board before you apply.
Wyoming — master electrician reciprocity
Applies to master electricians. Confirm what’s waived with the Board before you apply.
Limited agreements — terms vary
Delaware has limited agreements with Arkansas, Colorado, D.C., Florida, Georgia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, North Carolina, Ohio, Texas, Vermont, Virginia and West Virginia, and possibly others. Ask the Board what applies to your license.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant, meet Delaware’s experience rules and pass the exam.
Local
Do Delaware cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Your license is issued by the state, but all work must also follow any applicable local building code.
State handles
- Journeyperson, master and residential licenses
- Exam approval and testing in Dover-Harrington and Newark
- Continuing education for renewal
- Adopting the NEC (State Fire Prevention Commission)
City & county handle
- Local building codes
- Building and electrical permits
- Inspections of electrical work
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Delaware
Licensing authority
Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners
Division of Professional Regulation
302-744-4500
Oversight responsibilities
- Licenses journeyperson, master and residential electricians
- Reviews applications and approves candidates for the exam
- Sets continuing education for renewal
- Oversees reciprocity with other states
Maintenance
How to renew your Delaware electrician license and keep it active
Master and residential electricians need 10 hours of continuing education, and journeypersons need 5. The Board tells you the renewal fee when you renew, and renewing after your license expires adds a late fee of 50% of the renewal fee.
Renewal cycle
Not stated
CE hours
5–10
Renewal fee
Set at renewal
Late penalty
50% of renewal fee
Renewing your license?
See the Delaware CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Delaware electrician license FAQs
How many hours do I need to become a journeyperson electrician in Delaware?
8,000 hours of full-time electrical work under a licensed master electrician, master electrician special, limited electrician or limited electrician special, then you pass the journeyperson exam.
How do I become a master electrician in Delaware?
Get 6 years of full-time experience under a master electrician, or 4 years plus 2 years of technical training. Then pass the master exam and send proof of at least $300,000 in liability insurance.
What can a Delaware residential electrician do?
Residential work without onsite supervision, but only before a home is connected to the grid, or at and beyond the breaker panel or fuse box.
Is the Delaware electrical exam open book?
Yes. You can tab and highlight bound references, and you need 75% to pass.
Where are Delaware electrical exams held?
On set dates in Dover-Harrington and Newark. You’ll get a registration form by email after the Board approves you.
Does Delaware have electrician reciprocity?
Yes, for master electricians with Michigan and Wyoming, plus limited agreements with many other states. Check the terms with the Board first.
How much continuing education do Delaware electricians need?
10 hours for master and residential electricians, and 5 hours for journeypersons.
Sources
Official sources for the Delaware electrician license
- Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners, Division of Professional Regulation
- DELPROS online licensing portal
- National Electrical Code (NEC), as adopted by the Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission
- Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners fee schedule
- Prov Candidate Information Bulletin, Delaware Division of Professional Regulation
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Delaware Board of Electrical Examiners.
