Construction / Electrician License / Georgia
- Georgia
- Electrician License
- Class I & Class II Contractor
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Georgia Electrical Contractor License
Georgia licenses electrical contractors in two classes. This page covers the experience, references, exam and renewal rules set by the Georgia State Board of Electrical Contractors.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Georgia State Board of Electrical Contractors requirements
Application fee
$100
Plus $10 processing fee; PSI exam fee is separate
Exam time
4 hrs
Class I exam, open book
Time to get license
8,000 hrs
Of proven work experience
Continuing ed
4 hrs
Before each renewal
Overview
Do you need a Georgia electrician license?
Yes, if you contract for electrical work. Georgia requires every electrical contractor to be licensed before any bidding or work takes place.
License required when
- You bid for electrical contracting work
- You offer to perform electrical contracting services
- You perform electrical work under an express or implied contract
Common exceptions
- The state license covers electrical contractors; our sources don’t describe a separate state journeyman license
- Our sources don’t list other exemptions, so check with the Board before you take on work
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific penalty amounts. The Board can refuse, suspend or revoke licenses and act against anyone contracting without one, so don’t bid until you’re licensed.
Your fast-track Georgia electrician license checklist
The Georgia application, one page
- Proof of 8,000 hours of electrical work experience
- 3 sealed reference letters, 1 from a licensed Electrical Contractor
- Criminal background check and fingerprints
- Exam pre-approval from the Board
- Tabbed, highlighted approved references
- Passing PSI exam score
Types
Georgia electrician license types and classifications
Georgia has two electrical contractor classes. Both let you bid and contract for electrical work; Class II has no limit on the size of the units you work on.
Class I
Entry contractor
Electrical Contractor Class I
Bid for, offer to perform or perform electrical contracting work under contract.
Exam
Class I exam
Limit
Not stated
Class II
Unrestricted
Electrical Contractor Class II
Same contracting rights as Class I, on units of any size.
Exam
Class II exam
Limit
Units of any size
Requirements
Georgia electrician license requirements, class by class
The core requirements are the same for both classes. Pre-approval is required before you can sit for either exam.
| Requirement | Class I | Class II |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | 8,000 hours of proven work | 8,000 hours of proven work |
| References | 3 letters, 1 from a licensed Electrical Contractor | 3 letters, 1 from a licensed Electrical Contractor |
| Background check | Criminal check and fingerprints | Criminal check and fingerprints |
| Exam | Class I: 155 questions, 4 hours | Class II exam (details not stated) |
| Exam pre-approval | Required | Required |
| Continuing education | 4 hours per renewal | 4 hours per renewal |
Steps
How to get your Georgia electrician license, step by step
- Build your experienceBefore you apply
Document 8,000 hours of proven electrical work experience. - Collect 3 reference lettersBefore you apply
References must know your work, and one must be a licensed Electrical Contractor. Each letter comes in a sealed envelope with the reference’s signature across the seal. - Apply to sit for the examPre-approval
Submit your exam application through the State Board of Electrical Contractors, along with your criminal background check and fingerprints. - Get your exam date from PSIAbout 2 weeks out
Once PSI has your complete packet, it contacts you with an exam date and time, typically two weeks before the exam. - Pass the examExam day
The Class I exam has 155 questions and a 4-hour limit. It’s open book, so tab and highlight your approved references. - Get licensed through the PLBAfter you pass
Complete your license application with the Georgia Professional Licensing Boards. Call 404-424-9966 with questions.
Exam
What to expect on the Georgia electrician exam
Georgia’s electrical contractor exams are open book. You can tab and highlight the approved references and use them during the test.
Format
Open book
Questions
155 (Class I)
Passing score
Not stated
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Class I: 155 questions, 4 hours
- Topics: regulations, laws and administrative functions, plus technical functions
- References: NEC (NFPA 70), American Electricians’ Handbook, Ugly’s Electrical References, Printreading Based on the NEC
- Business references: Georgia NASCLA Contractors Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, OSHA 1926, IRS Circular E
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- Pre-approval is required before scheduling any exam
- PSI schedules you after it receives a complete application packet
- Check with the Board before rebooking
Exam references · Open book
Georgia’s Class I and Class II electrical contractor exams are open book: the approved references can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test. The same list covers both classes.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) | 2023 or 2020 | Allowed in exam |
| American Electricians’ Handbook | 17th edition | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management (Georgia edition) | 5th edition | Allowed in exam |
| OSHA 29 CFR 1926: Safety and Health Regulations for Construction | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Printreading Based on the NEC | 2020 NEC edition | Allowed in exam |
| IRS Publication 15 (Circular E): Employer’s Tax Guide | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
Our source lists both the 2023 and 2020 NEC, so confirm which edition your exam uses in the candidate bulletin.
Prep
Best Georgia electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Georgia electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $100 |
| Processing fee | Fixed | $10 |
| PSI exam fee | Fixed | Not stated |
| Background check and fingerprints | Variable | Varies |
| Approved reference books | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes the PSI exam fee, background check and books | $110 |
Fees from the Georgia Secretary of State GOALS fee schedule for the Electrical Contractors division and the Board’s how-to guide, checked October 2026; PSI charges its exam fee separately when you schedule.
Reciprocity
Does Georgia accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Georgia has electrical reciprocity agreements with five states. Contact the Board to confirm what each agreement covers before you apply.
Alabama — reciprocity agreement
Georgia has a reciprocity agreement with Alabama. Confirm terms with the Board.
Louisiana — reciprocity agreement
Georgia has a reciprocity agreement with Louisiana. Confirm terms with the Board.
North Carolina — reciprocity agreement
Georgia has a reciprocity agreement with North Carolina. Confirm terms with the Board.
South Carolina — reciprocity agreement
Georgia has a reciprocity agreement with South Carolina. Confirm terms with the Board.
Tennessee — reciprocity agreement
Georgia has a reciprocity agreement with Tennessee. Confirm terms with the Board.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant and take the Georgia exam.
Local
Do Georgia cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Your state license covers all of Georgia, but cities and counties still control permits and inspections on each job.
State handles
- Class I and Class II electrical contractor licenses
- Exam pre-approval, with exams through PSI
- Background checks and fingerprinting
- Continuing education for renewal
City & county handle
- Electrical permits for each job
- Inspections of completed work
- Local business licenses
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Georgia
Licensing authority
Georgia State Board of Electrical Contractors
404-424-9966
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues Class I and Class II electrical contractor licenses
- Approves applicants to sit for the exam
- Sets continuing education for renewal
- Manages reciprocity with Alabama, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee
Maintenance
How to renew your Georgia electrician license and keep it active
You need 4 hours of continuing education before each renewal. Licenses renew every two years by June 30 of even-numbered years, and the renewal fee is $100.
Renewal cycle
2 years (by June 30 of even years)
CE hours
4
Renewal fee
$100
Late penalty
Not stated
Georgia electrical contractor renewal
4 hours of CE before each renewal
FAQ
Georgia electrician license FAQs
How many hours of experience do I need for a Georgia electrical license?
You need 8,000 hours of proven work experience to qualify for the electrical contractor exam.
What’s the difference between Class I and Class II?
Both let you bid and contract for electrical work. Class II contractors can work on units of any size.
Is the Georgia electrical exam open book?
Yes. You can tab and highlight the approved references, including the NEC and the Georgia NASCLA business and law guide, and use them during the exam.
How many questions are on the Class I exam?
155 questions with a 4-hour time limit, covering regulations and laws plus technical functions.
Who can write my reference letters?
People who know your work. You need 3 letters, one from a licensed Electrical Contractor, each in a sealed envelope signed across the seal.
Does Georgia have electrical reciprocity?
Yes, with Alabama, Louisiana, North Carolina, South Carolina and Tennessee. Contact the Board to confirm the terms.
How much continuing education does Georgia require?
4 hours before each renewal.
Sources
Official sources for the Georgia electrician license
- Georgia State Board of Electrical Contractors
- Georgia Professional Licensing Boards
- PSI, Georgia Electrical Contractor exam information
- IRS Publication 15 (Circular E), Employer’s Tax Guide
- Georgia Secretary of State, GOALS fee schedules by board
- Georgia Secretary of State, How-To Guide: Electrical Contractors
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Georgia State Board of Electrical Contractors.
