Construction / Electrician License / Maryland
- Maryland
- Electrician License
- Journeyman & Master
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Maryland Electrician License
Everything you need to become a licensed journeyman or master electrician in Maryland: experience, the PSI exams, insurance, renewal and what to expect along the way.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Maryland State Board of Master Electricians requirements
Application fee
$18.50–$25
Journeyperson $18.50, master $25; plus $65 PSI exam fee
Exam time
3.5–4 hrs
210 min journeyman, 240 min master
Time to get license
~4 yrs
Journeyman; master needs 7 yrs
Continuing ed
10 hrs
Each renewal
Overview
Do you need a Maryland electrician license?
Yes. Maryland requires a license before you bid on or do electrical work. Journeymen work under a licensed electrician’s supervision, and masters can run larger installations.
License required when
- You install, repair or alter electrical wiring, fixtures, apparatus, raceways or conduit
- You bid on electrical work
- You want to work as a journeyman under a licensed electrician
- You want to review plans, ensure code compliance and manage installations as a master
Common exceptions
- Workers in an approved apprenticeship, who can use it toward the journeyman experience requirement
- Our source doesn’t list other exemptions, so check with the Board
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our source doesn’t list specific penalty amounts. In general, the Board can deny, suspend or revoke licenses and act against people doing electrical work without one.
Your fast-track Maryland electrician license checklist
The Maryland application, one page
- Experience documented (4 yrs journeyman, 7 yrs master)
- Apprenticeship certificate, if using it to waive experience
- PSI Examination Registration form approved
- Passing exam score
- Insurance certificates (masters)
- License application to the Board
Types
Maryland electrician license types and classifications
Maryland has two main electrician licenses. Both cover the same kind of electrical work. The difference is supervision and responsibility.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Installs, repairs and alters electrical wiring, fixtures, apparatus, raceways and conduit under a licensed electrician’s supervision.
Exam
70 questions
Limit
Must be supervised
MST
Run the job
Master Electrician
Does the same work, plus reviews plans, ensures code compliance and manages large installations.
Exam
90 questions
Limit
Insurance required
Requirements
Maryland electrician license requirements, class by class
The big difference between the two licenses is experience. Masters also need insurance before they’re licensed.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | 4 years under a master electrician | 7 years |
| Training credit | Approved apprenticeship (576 hrs plus 8,000 hrs of work) can waive experience | Credit for a 3-year professional training course |
| Exam | 70 questions, 210 minutes | 90 questions, 240 minutes |
| Passing score | 70% | Not stated |
| General liability | Not stated | $300,000 |
| Property damage | Not stated | $100,000 |
| Workers’ comp | Not stated | Required if you have employees |
Steps
How to get your Maryland electrician license, step by step
- Build your experienceBefore you apply
Get 4 years under a master electrician for journeyman, or 7 years for master. An approved apprenticeship can waive the journeyman experience if you finished it within 2 years of applying. - Get exam approval from PSIUp to 10 business days
Fill out the Examination Registration form in the PSI bulletin and send it to PSI. Approval can take up to 10 business days. - Schedule your examAfter approval
Book online at candidate.psiexams.com or call PSI at 855-898-0715. Test centers are in larger cities around the state. - Pass the examExam day
Journeyman: 70 questions in 210 minutes, 70% to pass. Master: 90 questions in 240 minutes. Both are open book. - Line up insurance (masters)Before you apply
Masters need at least $300,000 in general liability, $100,000 in property damage and workers’ comp if they have employees. - Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
Submit your application to the Maryland State Board of Master Electricians. Call 410-230-6163 or visit the Board website.
Exam
What to expect on the Maryland electrician exam
Maryland’s electrical exams are open book, given by PSI. You can tab and highlight your references, so practice finding answers fast.
Format
Open book, computer
Questions
70 or 90
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Journeyman: 70 questions, 210 minutes, 70% to pass
- Master: 90 questions, 240 minutes
- Topics: theory, wiring and protection, wiring methods, equipment, special occupancies, special equipment and communications
- The master exam adds calculations
- References can be tabbed and highlighted
Retake policy
- Our source doesn’t state a retake policy
- Contact PSI at 855-898-0715 about retakes
- Pre-approval from PSI is required before you schedule
Exam references · Open book
The Maryland Journeyman and Master Electrician exams are open book. You can tab and highlight the reference below and use it during the exam.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) | 2020 | Allowed in exam |
Prep
Best Maryland electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Maryland electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $18.50–$25 |
| Exam fee (PSI) | Fixed | $65 |
| National Electrical Code book | Variable | Varies |
| Liability and property damage insurance (masters) | Variable | Varies |
| Workers’ comp (masters with employees) | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes code books, insurance and renewal fees | $83.50–$90 |
Fees from the Maryland Board of Electricians fee schedule (effective July 1, 2025) and the PSI Master/Journeyperson Electrician bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Maryland accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Maryland has no electrician reciprocity agreements.
No reciprocity agreements
Electricians licensed in other states apply as new applicants, meet Maryland’s experience rules and pass the exam.
Local
Do Maryland cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Your license comes from the state, but local permits and inspections still apply where you work.
State handles
- Journeyman and master electrician licenses
- Exams, through PSI
- Insurance requirements for masters
- 10 hours of CE each renewal
City & county handle
- Electrical permits
- Inspections
- Local business registration
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Maryland
Licensing authority
Maryland State Board of Master Electricians
410-230-6163
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues journeyman and master electrician licenses
- Sets experience and insurance requirements
- Approves apprenticeship credit toward licensing
- Requires continuing education for renewal
Maintenance
How to renew your Maryland electrician license and keep it active
Maryland electrician licenses are valid for two years, and you must complete 10 hours of continuing education for each renewal. Renewal costs $18.50 for journeypersons and $31.50 for masters.
Renewal cycle
2 years
CE hours
10
Renewal fee
$18.50–$31.50
Late penalty
$28–$126
Maryland State Board of Master Electricians
Renewal, CE and license information from the Board
FAQ
Maryland electrician license FAQs
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Maryland?
Four years of work under a master electrician. An approved apprenticeship with 576 hours and 8,000 hours of work can waive that, if you finished it within two years of applying.
How many years do I need for a Maryland master electrician license?
Seven years of experience. You can get credit for a 3-year professional training course.
Is the Maryland electrical exam open book?
Yes. You can bring approved references, tabbed and highlighted. The journeyman exam needs 70% to pass.
Who gives the Maryland electrician exam?
PSI. Send the Examination Registration form to PSI, wait up to 10 business days for approval, then schedule at candidate.psiexams.com or 855-898-0715.
What insurance does a Maryland master electrician need?
At least $300,000 in general liability and $100,000 in property damage. You also need workers’ comp if you have employees.
Does Maryland have electrician reciprocity?
No. Maryland has no reciprocity agreements, so out-of-state electricians apply as new applicants.
How much continuing education do Maryland electricians need?
10 hours for each renewal.
How much does a Maryland electrician license cost?
The original license fee is $18.50 for a journeyperson and $25 for a master, and the PSI exam is $65. Renewal every two years is $18.50 for journeypersons and $31.50 for masters.
Sources
Official sources for the Maryland electrician license
- Maryland State Board of Master Electricians
- PSI, Maryland electrician exam scheduling
- PSI, Maryland Electrician Candidate Information Bulletin
- NFPA 70, National Electrical Code
- Maryland Board of Electricians, Fees
- Maryland Board of Electricians, Renew Your License
- PSI, Maryland Master and Journeyperson Electrician Bulletin
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Maryland State Board of Master Electricians.
