Construction / Electrician License / Oklahoma

  • Oklahoma
  • Electrician License
  • Unlimited & Residential Journeyman
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Oklahoma Electrician License

How to become an Unlimited or Residential Electrical Journeyman in Oklahoma, from apprentice hours to the two exams and renewal.

Last updated October 27, 2026 from Oklahoma Construction Industries Board requirements

Application fee

$25

Plus $50 initial license fee and $92 per exam portion

Exam time

4 hrs

Unlimited trade exam; Residential is 3.5 hrs, plus Business & Law

Time to get license

Varies

8,000 hrs (Unlimited) or 4,000 hrs (Residential) as a registered apprentice

Continuing ed

Required

Before each renewal; hours not stated

Overview

Do you need an Oklahoma electrician license?

Yes. Oklahoma requires an electrician license for anyone who does any electrical work for pay. Licensed journeymen must work under the direct supervision of an electrical contractor.

License required when

  • You do any electrical work for compensation in Oklahoma
  • You lay out, install, maintain, repair or replace electrical wiring, conduit or equipment (Unlimited Journeyman)
  • You wire one- and two-family dwellings (Residential Journeyman)

Common exceptions

  • Our sources don’t list specific exemptions. Check with the CIB before relying on one
  • Registered apprentices work under the direct supervision of a licensed journeyman or contractor while earning hours

Penalties for unlicensed work

Our sources don’t list specific penalty amounts. The Construction Industries Board licenses electricians and can act against anyone doing electrical work for pay without a license.

Your fast-track Oklahoma electrician license checklist

The Oklahoma application, one page

  • License chosen: Unlimited or Residential
  • Verifiable registered apprentice hours
  • Proof of formal electrical education
  • Application submitted to the CIB
  • Passing scores on the trade and Business & Law exams
  • A licensed electrical contractor to work under

Types

Oklahoma electrician license types and classifications

Oklahoma offers two electrical journeyman licenses. Both require working under the direct supervision of an electrical contractor.

UNL

Most common

Unlimited Electrical Journeyman

Lay out, install, maintain, repair or replace all or part of electrical wiring, conduit, fixtures, appliances and equipment.

Exam

Trade + Business & Law

Limit

Under a contractor

RES

Homes only

Residential Electrical Journeyman

Limited to wiring one- and two-family dwellings as defined in the National Electrical Code.

Exam

Trade + Business & Law

Limit

1–2 family homes

Requirements

Oklahoma electrician license requirements, class by class

Both licenses need verifiable hours as a registered apprentice under a licensed journeyman or contractor. The Unlimited license needs twice the hours and commercial or industrial work.

RequirementUnlimited JourneymanResidential Journeyman
Experience8,000 verifiable hours4,000 verifiable hours
Commercial / industrial4,000 hoursNot stated
Formal electrical education2,000 hoursUp to 1,000 hours
SupervisionRegistered apprentice under a licensed journeyman or contractorRegistered apprentice under a licensed journeyman or contractor
ExamsTrade (100 questions) + Business & LawTrade (80 questions) + Business & Law
Continuing edRequired before renewalRequired before renewal

Steps

How to get your Oklahoma electrician license, step by step

  1. Pick your licenseBefore you start
    Choose Unlimited for all electrical work, or Residential if you’ll only wire one- and two-family homes.
  2. Earn your apprentice hoursBefore you apply
    Log verifiable hours as a registered apprentice under a licensed journeyman or contractor: 8,000 for Unlimited, 4,000 for Residential.
  3. Apply to the CIBBoard review
    Submit your application with verified education and work experience to the Construction Industries Board.
  4. Get your exam dateAfter approval
    Once your application is approved, the Board contacts you with an exam date and time.
  5. Pass both examsExam day
    Take your trade exam and the Business and Law exam. The Unlimited trade exam is 100 questions in 240 minutes, open book, 70% to pass.
  6. Work under a contractor and renewEach renewal
    Journeymen work under the direct supervision of an electrical contractor. Complete continuing education before each renewal.

Exam

What to expect on the Oklahoma electrician exam

Oklahoma journeymen pass two exams: a trade exam and a Business and Law exam. The trade exam is open book, and your reference can be tabbed and highlighted.

Format

Open book

Questions

100 (Unlimited) / 80 (Residential)

Passing score

70% (Unlimited)

Exam vendor

PSI

Scoring & content

  • Unlimited: 100 questions, 240 minutes, 70% to pass
  • Residential: 80 questions, 210 minutes
  • Topics: services, feeders and branch circuits, overcurrent protection, grounding and bonding, conductors, raceways and boxes, special occupancies, low voltage and safety
  • Unlimited also covers motors and transformers
  • Business and Law exam details aren’t stated in our sources

Retake policy

  • Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources; ask the CIB
  • Board approval is required before you test
  • The Board schedules your exam date and time
  • Testing centers are in larger cities across the state

Exam references · Open book

The Oklahoma Electrical Journeyman exam is open book, and you can bring tabbed and highlighted copies of these references into the test. The list covers the Unlimited and Residential Journeyman exams.

BookEditionUse
NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC)2023Allowed in exam
Ugly’s Electrical References2023Allowed in exam
OSHA 1926 Construction Industry RegulationsNot statedAllowed in exam

Prep

Best Oklahoma electrician exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does an Oklahoma electrician license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
Application feeFixed$25
Initial license feeFixed$50
Trade examFixed$92
Business & Law examFixed$92
Code book and referencesVariableVaries
Continuing education at renewalVariableVaries
State fees and exams$167 with one $92 exam portion, $259 with two; excludes code books and CE$167–$259

Fees from the CIB electrical rules (OAC 158:40-9-3) and the PSI candidate bulletin, checked October 2026. SB 1732 raises license and renewal fees starting July 1, 2028.

Reciprocity

Does Oklahoma accept out-of-state electrician licenses?

Oklahoma has electrical reciprocity agreements with 10 states. Ask the CIB what’s waived and what you still need to submit.

Alaska — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Arkansas — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Colorado — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Idaho — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Iowa — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Montana — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Nebraska — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

South Dakota — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Texas — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Wyoming — reciprocity agreement

Oklahoma has an agreement with this state. Contact the CIB to confirm which license levels qualify.

Local

Do Oklahoma cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?

Your journeyman license comes from the state and covers all of Oklahoma. Cities and counties still handle permits and inspections.

State handles

  • Journeyman licenses, through the CIB
  • Exam approval and scheduling
  • Continuing education for renewal
  • Reciprocity agreements

City & county handle

  • Electrical permits
  • Inspections
  • Local business requirements

Governance

Who regulates electricians in Oklahoma

Licensing authority

Oklahoma Construction Industries Board (CIB)

405-521-6550

cib.ok.gov

Oversight responsibilities

  • Issues Unlimited and Residential Electrical Journeyman licenses
  • Approves applications and schedules exams
  • Sets continuing education for renewal
  • Manages reciprocity agreements with other states

Maintenance

How to renew your Oklahoma electrician license and keep it active

Journeyman licenses renew every year for $75, rising to $100 once you’re more than 30 days past expiration. Oklahoma also requires continuing education before each renewal, so confirm the CE hours with the CIB.

Renewal cycle

Annual

CE hours

Not stated

Renewal fee

$75

Late penalty

$100 total if renewed 30+ days late

Renewing your license?

See the Oklahoma CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.

FAQ

Oklahoma electrician license FAQs

Do I need a license to do electrical work in Oklahoma?

Yes. Anyone who does electrical work for pay in Oklahoma needs a license from the Construction Industries Board.

How many hours do I need for a journeyman license?

8,000 verifiable hours as a registered apprentice for Unlimited, including 4,000 commercial or industrial hours. Residential needs 4,000 hours.

What’s the difference between Unlimited and Residential?

Unlimited covers all electrical work. Residential is limited to wiring one- and two-family dwellings.

How many exams do I take?

Two: your trade exam and the Business and Law exam.

Is the Oklahoma electrical exam open book?

Yes. The Unlimited exam is 100 questions in 240 minutes, and you need 70% to pass. Your reference can be tabbed and highlighted.

Can a journeyman work on their own?

No. All electrical journeymen must work under the direct supervision of an electrical contractor.

Does Oklahoma have electrical reciprocity?

Yes, with Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Montana, Nebraska, South Dakota, Texas and Wyoming.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.