Construction / Electrician License / Vermont
- Vermont
- Electrician License
- Journeyman, Master & Type-S
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Vermont Electrician License
Here’s how to qualify, pass the exams and stay licensed as a journeyman, master or Type-S specialty electrician in Vermont, based on the Vermont Division of Fire Safety’s requirements.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Vermont Division of Fire Safety requirements
Application fee
$115–$150
3-year license fee sent with your application; plus $80 ProV exam fee
Exam time
4–5 hrs
4 hrs journeyman, 5 hrs master
Time to get license
~6 yrs
12,000 hours for journeyman; Type-S is 1–2 years
Continuing ed
15 hrs
Every licensing period, before renewal
Overview
Do you need a Vermont electrician license?
Yes. Vermont licenses electricians through the Division of Fire Safety. Every class has to pass state exams, and journeymen work under a master electrician’s direction.
License required when
- You perform electrical installations for pay
- You design, install, repair, maintain or replace electrical installations as your business, including lightning rods, fire alarms and fire detection systems (master)
- You do specialty refrigeration and air conditioning, or automatic gas and oil heating, electrical work (Type-S)
- You supervise an apprentice or electrician’s helper
Common exceptions
- Electrician’s helpers and apprentices working under a licensed electrician employed by a master electrician
- Other exemptions, such as homeowner work, aren’t covered in our source notes. Check Vermont Statutes Title 26, Chapter 15 before you start
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific penalty amounts. The state can act against anyone doing electrical work without the right license, so get licensed before you take on work. The rules are in Title 26, Chapter 15.
Your fast-track Vermont electrician license checklist
The Vermont application, one page
- Pick journeyman, master or Type-S
- Experience verified (apprenticeship council or affidavits)
- Pre-approval to test
- Passing ProV exam scores
- Complete application and fees to the Division of Fire Safety
Types
Vermont electrician license types and classifications
Vermont has two main electrician levels, plus Type-S specialty licenses for HVAC-related electrical work. Type-S applicants take the journeyman exam and a specialty exam.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Performs electrical installations under the direction of a master electrician. May supervise an apprentice or helper employed by a master.
Exam
Journeyman exam
Limit
Works under a master
MST
Run a business
Master Electrician
Designs, installs, repairs, maintains and replaces electrical installations, including lightning rods and fire alarms, and may employ other licensees and helpers.
Exam
Master exam
Limit
Not stated
C3
Type-S specialty
Refrigeration & Air Conditioning
Type-S journeyman license for refrigeration and air conditioning electrical installations.
Exam
Journeyman + C3 specialty
Limit
Specialty work only
A1
Type-S specialty
Automatic Gas / Oil Heating
Type-S journeyman license for automatic gas and oil heating electrical installations.
Exam
Journeyman + A1 specialty
Limit
Specialty work only
Requirements
Vermont electrician license requirements, class by class
Experience is the big difference between classes. Type-S experience is counted separately for each specialty you apply for.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master | Type-S (A1 / C3) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 12,000 hours | 16,000 hours | 2,000 hours with a training program, or 4,000 hours |
| Training | Vermont apprenticeship, or equivalent training the board accepts | Journeyman license for at least 2 years | Recognized training program, or experience alone |
| Proof | Apprenticeship council verification | Journeyman license history | Signed affidavits |
| Exams | Journeyman exam | Master exam | Journeyman + specialty exam |
| Continuing ed | 15 hrs per renewal | 15 hrs per renewal | 15 hrs per renewal |
| Application fee | $115 (3-year license) | $150 (3-year license) | $115 per field (3-year license) |
Steps
How to get your Vermont electrician license, step by step
- Pick your licenseBefore you start
Decide whether you’re going for journeyman, master or a Type-S specialty (C3 refrigeration and air conditioning, or A1 gas and oil heating). - Document your experienceBefore you apply
Journeymen need 12,000 hours through a Vermont apprenticeship or equivalent training. Masters need 16,000 hours, including 2 years as a licensed journeyman. Type-S needs 2,000 hours with a training program, or 4,000 hours. - Get pre-approvedBefore you schedule
Pre-approval is required before you can book an exam. Contact the Division of Fire Safety at 802-479-7561. - Pass your exams with ProVExam day
Schedule through ProV at 866-720-7768. Test centers are in larger cities around the state, and the exams are open book. - Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
Submit your complete application and fees to the Vermont Division of Fire Safety. - Keep up with CEEvery renewal
Complete 15 hours of continuing education each licensing period before you renew.
Exam
What to expect on the Vermont electrician exam
Vermont’s electrical exams cover theory and practical knowledge, and they’re open book. Type-S applicants add a shorter specialty exam to the journeyman exam.
Format
Open book
Questions
90 (J) · 105 (M)
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
ProV
Scoring & content
- Journeyman: 90 questions, 4 hours, 70% to pass
- Master: 105 questions, 5 hours
- C3 refrigeration and air conditioning: 35 questions, 1.5 hours, 70% to pass
- A1 gas and oil heating: 40 questions, 70% to pass
- References include the NEC 2023 (NFPA 70), the Vermont Electrical Safety Rules and Title 26, Chapter 15
Retake policy
- You can retake a failed exam two more times by paying the testing agency’s fee again
- After a third failure you reapply to the board, and you need 8 hours of code education or an exam prep course before retesting
- Books may be tabbed and highlighted ahead of time
- Type-S: highlighting and underlining in pen only, and no marking books during the test
Exam references · Open book
Vermont’s electrician exams are open book: the references below can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test. For the Type S specialty exams (Refrigeration and Air Conditioning, Automatic Gas and Oil Heating), highlighting and underlining must be done in pen before the exam, and you can’t mark in your books during the test. The list covers the Journeyman, Master and Type S specialty exams.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning — Type S specialty exams | 22nd edition | Allowed in exam |
| State of Vermont Electrical Safety Rules | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Vermont Statutes, Title 26, Chapter 15 | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
The Vermont Electrical Safety Rules and Title 26 Chapter 15 are free state documents you print and bring to the exam.
Prep
Best Vermont electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Vermont electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application and 3-year license fee | Fixed | $115 journeyman · $150 master · $115 per Type-S field |
| Exam fee (ProV) | Fixed | $80 per exam |
| Code books (NEC and references) | Variable | Varies |
| Continuing education (15 hrs) | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Journeyman license plus one exam; excludes code books, CE and retakes | $195 |
Fees from the Division of Fire Safety electrical license application, 26 V.S.A. § 905 and the 2025 Vermont Electrical Safety Rules, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Vermont accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Vermont has reciprocity agreements with two states. Contact the Division of Fire Safety for what each agreement covers.
Maine — reciprocity agreement
Details of what’s waived aren’t stated in our sources. Confirm with the Division of Fire Safety.
New Hampshire — reciprocity agreement
Details of what’s waived aren’t stated in our sources. Confirm with the Division of Fire Safety.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant, document your experience and pass the Vermont exams.
Local
Do Vermont cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Electrician licenses are issued by the state, so your license covers all of Vermont. Local permit rules can still apply.
State handles
- Journeyman, master and Type-S licenses
- Exam pre-approval and licensing
- Vermont Electrical Safety Rules
- Continuing education requirements
City & county handle
- Local permits, where required
- Local business registration
- Check with your town before you start a job
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Vermont
Licensing authority
Vermont Division of Fire Safety
802-479-7561
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues journeyman, master and Type-S electrician licenses
- Approves applicants to sit for the state exams
- Sets the Vermont Electrical Safety Rules
- Enforces continuing education for renewal
Maintenance
How to renew your Vermont electrician license and keep it active
Licenses run for three years. Renewal costs $115 for journeymen and Type-S (per field) and $150 for masters, and you need 15 hours of continuing education (8 for Type-S) before you renew. A lapsed license can be renewed within one year for an extra $25.
Renewal cycle
3 years
CE hours
15
Renewal fee
$115–$150
Late penalty
$25 (within 1 year)
Vermont electrical licensing
Applications, renewals and CE details from the Division of Fire Safety
FAQ
Vermont electrician license FAQs
How many hours do I need to become a journeyman electrician in Vermont?
12,000 hours, verified through a Vermont apprenticeship or equivalent training and experience the board accepts.
How do I become a master electrician in Vermont?
You need 16,000 hours of experience, including at least 2 years as a licensed Vermont journeyman, and you must pass the master exam.
Is the Vermont electrical exam open book?
Yes. You can bring tabbed and highlighted references like the NEC 2023. The journeyman exam is 90 questions in 4 hours, and you need 70% to pass.
What is a Type-S electrician license?
It’s a specialty journeyman license for refrigeration and air conditioning (C3) or automatic gas and oil heating (A1). You pass the journeyman exam plus the specialty exam.
Who gives the Vermont electrical exams?
ProV. You need pre-approval first, then call 866-720-7768 to schedule.
Does Vermont have electrician reciprocity?
Yes, with Maine and New Hampshire. Contact the Division of Fire Safety for the details.
How much continuing education do Vermont electricians need?
15 hours each licensing period, completed before you renew.
How much does a Vermont electrician license cost?
The 3-year license fee is $115 for a journeyman, $150 for a master and $115 per Type-S field, sent with your application. Each ProV exam costs $80 on top of that.
Sources
Official sources for the Vermont electrician license
- Vermont Division of Fire Safety, Electrical licensing
- State of Vermont Electrical Safety Rules (PDF)
- Vermont Statutes, Title 26, Chapter 15
- ProV, Vermont electrical exams
- Vermont Division of Fire Safety, Electricians’ License Application (PDF)
- Vermont Statutes, 26 V.S.A. § 905, Application; examinations and fees
- 2025 Vermont Electrical Safety Rules (PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Vermont Division of Fire Safety.
