Construction / Low Voltage License / Minnesota

  • Minnesota
  • Power Limited Technician
  • Technology Circuits
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Minnesota Power Limited Technician License

Minnesota’s low voltage license is the Power Limited Technician license. Here’s what experience you need, how the exam works and how to keep the license active.

Last updated October 27, 2026 from Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry requirements

Application fee

$50

Application and exam fee; $48 license fee after you pass

Exam time

5.5 hrs

One open-book exam, 80 questions

Time to get license

~3 yrs

36 months of qualifying experience

Continuing ed

16 hrs

Before each 2-year renewal

Overview

Do you need a Minnesota low voltage license?

Yes, if you install or supervise technology circuit work in Minnesota. The Power Limited Technician license is issued by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) and covers the wiring, apparatus and equipment for technology circuits and systems.

License required when

  • You install, alter or repair wiring, apparatus or equipment for technology circuits or systems
  • You plan or lay out that work
  • You supervise others doing that work

Common exceptions

  • Our source doesn’t list exemptions, so check with DLI before you take on technology circuit work without a license
  • Work outside technology circuits, such as power wiring, falls under other Minnesota electrical licenses

Penalties for unlicensed work

Our source doesn’t list specific penalty amounts. DLI enforces Minnesota’s electrical licensing laws and can take action against people who do licensed work without the right credential.

Your fast-track Minnesota low voltage license checklist

The Minnesota application, one page

  • 36 months of documented technology circuit experience
  • At least 12 months of hands-on wiring and installing
  • Signed and notarized application with fees
  • DLI approval letter before you book the exam
  • Passing score of 70% on the open-book exam
  • License application from DLI’s post-exam letter

Types

Minnesota low voltage license types and classifications

This page covers one credential: the Power Limited Technician license for technology circuits and systems.

PLT

Low voltage

Power Limited Technician

Install, alter, repair, plan, lay out or supervise electrical wiring, apparatus and equipment for technology circuits or systems.

Exam

PLT exam, 80 questions

Limit

Technology circuits only

Requirements

Minnesota low voltage license requirements, class by class

You need 36 months of experience, but not every kind of work counts the same. Hands-on wiring is the core of it.

RequirementPower Limited Technician
Total experience36 months
Wiring and installing technology circuits12 months minimum, up to 36 months credit
Planning installationsUp to 6 months credit
Maintaining and repairingUp to 24 months credit
Line workNo credit
School creditUp to 12 months (2,000 hours) for an approved 2-year post-high school electrical course
Exam80 questions, 70% to pass
ApplicationSigned and notarized, with fees

Steps

How to get your Minnesota low voltage license, step by step

  1. Build your experienceBefore you apply
    Log 36 months of technology circuit experience, with at least 12 months of hands-on wiring and installing. An approved 2-year electrical program can count for up to 12 months.
  2. Apply to DLINotarized application
    Submit a completed, signed and notarized application with the required fees to the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.
  3. Get your approval letterBefore you book
    DLI notifies you once you’re approved to take the exam. You can’t schedule until then.
  4. Schedule and pass the examExam day
    Book through the state board website. The exam is open book, 80 questions in 5.5 hours, and you need 70% to pass. The testing agency provides the code book.
  5. Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
    DLI mails you a letter with instructions on how to apply for the license itself.
  6. Renew every 2 years16 CE hours
    Your license expires 2 years from its issue date. Finish 16 hours of continuing education before each renewal.

Exam

What to expect on the Minnesota low voltage exam

There’s one exam, and it’s open book. The testing agency hands you the code book on exam day, so get comfortable finding things in the NEC fast.

Format

Open book

Questions

80

Passing score

70%

Exam vendor

Not stated

Scoring & content

  • 80 questions, 5.5 hours, 70% to pass
  • Covers NEC Chapters 1–9, including Chapter 8 communication systems
  • Also covers applied electrical theory, electrical systems and equipment
  • Based on the 2026 NEC since July 1, 2026 (2023 NEC before that)
  • The testing agency provides the code book; outside course materials aren’t allowed

Retake policy

  • Retake rules aren’t stated in our source
  • You need state pre-approval before you schedule
  • Testing centers are in larger cities around the state
  • Ask DLI about current retake rules before you book

Exam references · Open book

The Minnesota Power Limited Technician exam is open book and based on the National Electrical Code. The testing agency provides a copy of the code book for use during the exam, so your own copy is for studying and getting familiar with where things are.

BookEditionUse
NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC)2026Allowed in exam
Minnesota Statutes chapter 326B (Electrical Laws and Rules)Not statedNot stated

Exams were based on the 2023 NEC until July 1, 2026, when they moved to the 2026 NEC.

Prep

Best Minnesota low voltage exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does a Minnesota low voltage license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
Application and exam feeFixed$50
Exam feeFixedIncluded in the $50 application fee
Initial license fee (includes board fee)Fixed$48
2026 NEC for studyingVariableVaries
Continuing education (16 hrs per renewal)VariableVaries
State fees and examsExcludes code books and CE$98

Fees from the Minnesota DLI CCLD licensing fee schedule (updated July 1, 2025) and electrical exam application, checked October 2026.

Reciprocity

Does Minnesota accept out-of-state low voltage licenses?

Our source doesn’t list any reciprocity agreements for this license.

No reciprocity agreements

Our source lists none. Plan to apply as a new applicant, document your 36 months of experience and pass the Minnesota exam, and confirm with DLI first.

Local

Do Minnesota cities and counties have their own low voltage licensing rules?

Your Power Limited Technician license comes from the state, but the jobs themselves still go through permits and inspections.

State handles

  • Power Limited Technician licenses
  • Exam approval
  • Renewals and continuing education
  • Enforcement of the electrical licensing laws

City & county handle

  • Local permits
  • Local business licenses

Governance

Who regulates power limited technicians in Minnesota

Licensing authority

Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry

651-284-5012

dli.mn.gov construction codes and licensing

Oversight responsibilities

  • Reviews applications and approves candidates for the exam
  • Issues and renews Power Limited Technician licenses
  • Sets continuing education requirements
  • Administers Minnesota’s electrical licensing laws

Maintenance

How to renew your Minnesota low voltage license and keep it active

Your license expires 2 years from the date it was issued. Complete 16 hours of continuing education and pay the $53 renewal fee before each renewal ($20 extra if late).

Renewal cycle

Every 2 years

CE hours

16

Renewal fee

$53

Late penalty

$20

Minnesota construction codes and licensing

Renewal and CE details from the Department of Labor and Industry

FAQ

Minnesota low voltage license FAQs

What is a power limited technician in Minnesota?

It’s Minnesota’s low voltage license. A power limited technician can install, alter, repair, plan, lay out or supervise wiring and equipment for technology circuits or systems.

How much experience do I need?

36 months. At least 12 months must be hands-on wiring and installing technology circuits, and an approved 2-year electrical program can count for up to 12 months.

Is the Minnesota power limited exam open book?

Yes. The testing agency provides the code book. You get 5.5 hours for 80 questions and need 70% to pass.

Which NEC is the exam based on?

Since July 1, 2026, the exam is based on the 2026 NEC. Before that it used the 2023 NEC.

How often do I renew?

Every 2 years from the date your license was issued, with 16 hours of continuing education before each renewal.

Does line work count toward my experience?

No. Line work gets zero months of credit toward the 36 months.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry.