Cosmetology / Cosmetology License / Alabama

  • Alabama
  • Cosmetology License
  • School or Apprenticeship
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Alabama Cosmetology License

Everything you need to train, apply, pass both exams and get licensed as a cosmetologist in Alabama, pulled together from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering’s requirements.

Last updated October 28, 2026 from Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering requirements

Application fee

Not stated

Check the current fee with the ABOCB

Exam time

5.75 hrs

2-hr theory + 3.75-hr practical

Time to get license

Varies

1,500 school hours or 3,000 apprenticeship hours

Continuing ed

Not stated

Confirm renewal rules with the ABOCB

Overview

Do you need an Alabama cosmetology license?

Yes. To make a living in Alabama doing hair, nails or skincare, you need a cosmetology license from the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering (ABOCB). That means formal training in a school or apprenticeship, then passing a written and a practical exam.

License required when

  • You cut, style, color or chemically treat hair for pay
  • You do nail services for pay
  • You do skincare, facials or makeup for pay
  • You want to work in a licensed Alabama salon

Common exceptions

  • Licensed in another state? You can apply by reciprocity instead of starting from scratch
  • Specific exemptions aren’t listed in our source notes, so confirm with the ABOCB before working without a license

Working without a license

The ABOCB regulates the industry and can take action against anyone practicing cosmetology without a license. Get licensed before you take paying clients.

Your fast-track Alabama cosmetology license checklist

The Alabama application, one page

  • At least 16 with 10th grade or equivalent
  • 1,500 school hours or 3,000 apprenticeship hours
  • Diploma, transcript or GED
  • Government ID and Social Security card
  • Approved exam application, then PSI booking
  • Passing theory and practical scores

Types

Alabama cosmetology license types and classifications

Alabama issues one cosmetology license, but you can qualify through either of two training routes. You can’t combine school and apprenticeship hours.

SCH

Most common

Cosmetology school

Complete 1,500 clock hours at a cosmetology school, then apply for the exams.

Exam

Theory + practical

Limit

1,500 hrs

APP

Earn while you learn

Apprenticeship

Complete 3,000 clock hours as an apprentice, then apply for the exams.

Exam

Theory + practical

Limit

3,000 hrs

Requirements

Alabama cosmetology license requirements, class by class

Both routes lead to the same license and the same two exams. What changes is how many training hours you need.

RequirementSchool routeApprenticeship route
Minimum age1616
Education10th grade or equivalent10th grade or equivalent
Training hours1,500 school clock hours3,000 apprenticeship clock hours
Combine hours?NoNo
Written (theory) examRequiredRequired
Practical examRequiredRequired

Steps

How to get your Alabama cosmetology license, step by step

  1. Check that you qualifyBefore you start
    You need to be at least 16 and have finished 10th grade or the equivalent.
  2. Finish school or an apprenticeship1,500 or 3,000 hrs
    Complete 1,500 school clock hours or 3,000 apprenticeship clock hours. Once you finish, you’ll be given an application for the exams.
  3. Submit your exam applicationAfter training
    Attach your diploma, transcript or GED, a government ID and your Social Security card. You can’t apply before you finish training.
  4. Schedule with PSIAfter approval
    Once approved, book your exams on PSI’s Alabama cosmetology site or call (800) 211-2754.
  5. Pass the theory and practical examsExam day
    The theory exam is 100 questions in 2 hours, and you need 70% to pass. The practical has 10 tasks over 3.75 hours.
  6. Get licensedAfter you pass
    Contact the ABOCB at 1-800-815-7453 with any questions about issuing your license.

Exam

What to expect on the Alabama cosmetology exam

Alabama requires two exams: a closed-book theory exam and a hands-on practical. Both are scheduled through PSI.

Format

Closed book + practical

Questions

100 + 10 tasks

Passing score

70% (theory)

Exam vendor

PSI

Scoring & content

  • Theory: 100 questions, 2 hours, 70% to pass
  • Theory topics: safety & infection control, client consultation, analysis, hairstyling, haircutting, chemical services, skin care, makeup, hair removal, nails
  • Practical: 10 tasks worth 1 point each, 3.75 hours
  • Practical tasks include haircutting, chemical wave, foil highlights, relaxer, color retouch, blow dry and thermal curl, basic facial and manicure
  • Exam references include Milady Standard Cosmetology and Pivot Point Fundamentals: Cosmetology

Retake policy

  • Retake rules aren’t stated in our source notes
  • Schedule or reschedule through PSI at (800) 211-2754
  • Ask the ABOCB about retake limits and fees before you book

Exam references · Closed book

The Alabama Cosmetology Theory exam is closed book, so you can’t bring books into the exam. Use these references to study for the theory and practical exams.

BookEditionUse
Pivot Point Fundamentals: CosmetologyNot statedStudy only
Milady Standard CosmetologyNot statedStudy only

Prep

Best Alabama cosmetology exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does an Alabama cosmetology license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
License applicationFixedNot stated
Theory examFixedNot stated
Practical examFixedNot stated
Cosmetology school or apprenticeshipVariableVaries
Textbooks and practical kitVariableVaries
State fees and examsFees aren’t stated in our source notesNot stated

Check current fees with the ABOCB before you apply.

Reciprocity

Does Alabama accept out-of-state cosmetology licenses?

If you hold a cosmetology license in another state, you can apply for an Alabama license by reciprocity.

Other states — license by reciprocity

Have your current licensing board send a copy of your certification to the ABOCB. If you’ve been licensed in another state for less than 5 years, you still take the practical exam.

Local

Do Alabama cities and counties have their own cosmetology licensing rules?

Your cosmetology license is issued by the state and covers all of Alabama. Local governments handle the business side of running a salon.

State handles

  • Cosmetology licenses and renewals
  • Approving schools and training hours
  • Written and practical exams, through the state’s exam vendor
  • Discipline of licensees

City & county handle

  • Local business licenses, where required
  • Zoning for salon locations
  • Building permits if you open or remodel a salon

Governance

Who regulates cosmetologists in Alabama

Licensing authority

Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering

1-800-815-7453

aboc.alabama.gov

Oversight responsibilities

  • Issues cosmetology licenses
  • Sets training and exam requirements
  • Approves exam applications and reciprocity requests
  • Regulates the cosmetology and barbering industry

Maintenance

How to renew your Alabama cosmetology license and keep it active

Our source notes don’t cover Alabama’s renewal cycle, fees or continuing education. Check with the ABOCB before your license is due.

Renewal cycle

Not stated

CE hours

Not stated

Renewal fee

Not stated

Late penalty

Not stated

FAQ

Alabama cosmetology license FAQs

How many hours do I need for an Alabama cosmetology license?

1,500 school clock hours or 3,000 apprenticeship clock hours. You can’t combine the two.

How old do you have to be to get a cosmetology license in Alabama?

At least 16, and you need to have finished 10th grade or the equivalent.

What exams do I take?

Two: a closed-book theory exam (100 questions, 2 hours, 70% to pass) and a 10-task practical exam that takes 3.75 hours. Both are through PSI.

Can I become a cosmetologist through an apprenticeship in Alabama?

Yes. The apprenticeship route takes 3,000 clock hours, twice the school requirement.

Does my out-of-state license transfer to Alabama?

You can apply by reciprocity by having your current board send your certification to the ABOCB. If you’ve been licensed less than 5 years, you still take the practical exam.

How do I schedule the Alabama cosmetology exam?

After your application is approved, book online with PSI or call (800) 211-2754.

Sources

Official sources for the Alabama cosmetology license

  1. Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering, Scheduling exams
  2. PSI, Alabama Cosmetology exam scheduling

Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Alabama Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.