Cosmetology / Cosmetology License / California
- California
- Cosmetology License
- School or Apprenticeship
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your California Cosmetology License
Everything you need to train, apply, pass the written exam and get licensed as a cosmetologist in California, pulled together from the State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology’s requirements.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology requirements
Application fee
Not stated
Check the current fee with the Board
Exam time
2 hrs
One written exam, no practical
Time to get license
Varies
1,000 training hours first
Continuing ed
Not stated
Confirm renewal rules with the Board
Overview
Do you need a California cosmetology license?
Yes. To make a living in California doing hair, nails or skincare, you need a cosmetology license from the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. You qualify with 1,000 hours of training and one written exam.
License required when
- You cut, style, color or chemically treat hair for pay
- You do nail services for pay
- You do skincare, facials or makeup for pay
- You want to work in a licensed California salon
Common exceptions
- Licensed in another state? You may qualify by reciprocity
- Specific exemptions aren’t listed in our source notes, so confirm with the Board before working without a license
Working without a license
The Board regulates the industry and can take action against anyone practicing cosmetology without a license. Get licensed before you take paying clients.
Your fast-track California cosmetology license checklist
The California application, one page
- At least 17 with 10th grade or equivalent
- 1,000 hours in a program or apprenticeship
- Diploma, transcript or GED
- Government ID and Social Security card
- Approved application, then PSI booking
- Passing written exam score (70%)
Types
California cosmetology license types and classifications
California issues one cosmetology license. You can earn your 1,000 hours in an approved training program or an apprenticeship.
SCH
Most common
Approved training program
Complete 1,000 hours in a Board-approved cosmetology program, then apply for the exam.
Exam
Written only
Limit
1,000 hrs
APP
Earn while you learn
Apprenticeship
Complete 1,000 hours as a cosmetology apprentice, then apply for the exam.
Exam
Written only
Limit
1,000 hrs
Requirements
California cosmetology license requirements, class by class
Both routes need the same hours and the same single written exam.
| Requirement | Training program | Apprenticeship |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | 17 | 17 |
| Education | 10th grade or equivalent | 10th grade or equivalent |
| Training hours | 1,000 | 1,000 |
| Written exam | Required | Required |
| Practical exam | Not required | Not required |
Steps
How to get your California cosmetology license, step by step
- Check that you qualifyBefore you start
You need to be at least 17 and have finished 10th grade or the equivalent. - Complete 1,000 hoursBefore you apply
Finish an approved cosmetology training program or apprenticeship. You need these hours to sit for the exam. - Submit your applicationAfter training
Attach your diploma, transcript or GED, a government ID and your Social Security card. Forms are on the Board’s forms page. - Schedule with PSIAfter approval
Once approved, book your exam on PSI’s California site or call (800) 211-2754. - Pass the written examExam day
110 questions (100 scored) in 120 minutes. You need 70% to pass. There’s no practical exam. - Get licensedAfter you pass
Contact the Board at 1-800-952-5210 with any questions about issuing your license.
Exam
What to expect on the California cosmetology exam
California requires only one exam: a closed-book written theory exam. There’s no practical exam.
Format
Closed book, written
Questions
110 (100 scored)
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- 110 questions: 100 scored and 10 pretest, 120 minutes
- Safety and infection control 25%, hair/scalp/skin/nail analysis 15%, chemical services 15%
- Nails 13%, haircutting 12%, hair styling 6%, skin care 6%
- Hair removal 4%, client consultation 2%, makeup 2%
- Exam references include Milady Standard Cosmetology and Pivot Point Fundamentals: Cosmetology
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our source notes
- Schedule or reschedule through PSI at (800) 211-2754
- Ask the Board about retake fees before you book
Exam references · Closed book
The California Cosmetology Theory exam is closed book, so no books are allowed in the testing room. The exam is based on these references, which you can use to study.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| Pivot Point Fundamentals: Cosmetology | Not stated | Study only |
| Milady Standard Cosmetology | Not stated | Study only |
Prep
Best California cosmetology exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a California cosmetology license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| License application | Fixed | Not stated |
| Written exam | Fixed | Not stated |
| Training program or apprenticeship | Variable | Varies |
| Textbooks and supplies | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exam | Fees aren’t stated in our source notes | Not stated |
Check current fees with the Board before you apply.
Reciprocity
Does California accept out-of-state cosmetology licenses?
California has reciprocity for equivalent licenses with most state boards.
Most states — license by reciprocity
Submit a reciprocity application, pay all fees, and have your current licensing board send proof of your license to the California Board.
Local
Do California cities and counties have their own cosmetology licensing rules?
Your cosmetology license is issued by the state and covers all of California. Local governments handle the business side of running a salon.
State handles
- Cosmetology licenses and renewals
- Approving schools and training hours
- Written and practical exams, through the state’s exam vendor
- Discipline of licensees
City & county handle
- Local business licenses, where required
- Zoning for salon locations
- Building permits if you open or remodel a salon
Governance
Who regulates cosmetologists in California
Licensing authority
California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology
1-800-952-5210
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues cosmetology licenses
- Sets training and exam requirements
- Processes exam and reciprocity applications
- Regulates the barbering and cosmetology industry
Maintenance
How to renew your California cosmetology license and keep it active
Our source notes don’t cover California’s renewal cycle, fees or continuing education. Check with the Board before your license is due.
Renewal cycle
Not stated
CE hours
Not stated
Renewal fee
Not stated
Late penalty
Not stated
FAQ
California cosmetology license FAQs
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in California?
1,000 hours in an approved cosmetology training program or apprenticeship.
Is there a practical exam in California?
No. California only requires the written theory exam.
What score do I need to pass the California cosmetology exam?
70%. The exam has 110 questions, 100 of them scored, and you get 120 minutes.
How old do you have to be?
At least 17, with 10th grade completed or the equivalent.
Can I transfer my cosmetology license to California?
California has reciprocity with most state boards. Submit a reciprocity application and fees, and have your current board send proof of your license.
How do I schedule the exam?
After the Board approves your application, book with PSI online or call (800) 211-2754.
Sources
Official sources for the California cosmetology license
- California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology, Forms and publications (exam)
- PSI, California Barbering and Cosmetology exam scheduling
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the California State Board of Barbering and Cosmetology.
