Construction / Code Official Continuing Education / West Virginia
- West Virginia
- Code Official CE
- Code Officials, Inspectors & Plans Examiners
- Updated Oct 2026
West Virginia Code Official Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses
West Virginia building code officials, inspectors and plans examiners need 1.5 CEUs (15 hours) of approved continuing education every three years before their certification expires.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office requirements
Hours per cycle
15 hrs (1.5 CEUs)
1.5 CEUs per certification category (103 CSR 6)
Cycle
3 years
Renew every three years
Deadline
Every 3 years from issue
On or before the expiration date on your certificate
Online allowed?
Yes
Approved online or classroom courses (ICC, NFPA, WVCOA or Fire Commission)
Who needs CE
Who needs continuing education for a West Virginia code official license?
West Virginia municipal, county and public sector building code officials, building code inspectors and plans examiners need CE to renew under 103 CSR 6 (formerly 87 CSR 7). Renewal is handled by the state through the State Fire Marshal’s Office.
CE applies to
- Building Code Officials
- Building Code Inspectors
- Building Code Plans Examiners
Exemptions
- None stated in 103 CSR 6
Certified in more than one category?
Under 103 CSR 6, the $75 renewal fee and 1.5 CEU requirement apply to each certification category (Code Official, Inspector or Plans Examiner) you renew.
West Virginia code official CE at a glance
West Virginia code official renewal, one box
| Renewed with | West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office |
| CE required? | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 15 hrs (1.5 CEUs) per category |
| Cycle | 3 years |
| Required topics | Building code and code enforcement topics approved by the State Fire Commission |
| Online allowed? | Yes |
| Deadline | Every 3 years on or before your certificate expiration date |
| Who reports | Licensee submits proof of CEUs with renewal application |
| Carryover | No |
| Grace period | Not stated |
| Renewal fee | $75 per certification category |
| Last updated | October 28, 2026 |
Hours
How many CE hours does a West Virginia code official license need?
Under §103-6-4, you need 1.5 CEUs (15 hours) of approved continuing education every three years. Courses approved by the State Fire Commission include offerings from the International Code Council (ICC), the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), the West Virginia Code Officials Association (WVCOA) and other approved providers. (If you also maintain national ICC certifications, ICC requires at least 50% of ICC renewal CEUs to come from ICC or ICC Preferred Provider Network courses.)
| Class | Total | Required topics | Electives | Delivery limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Building Code Official, Inspector or Plans Examiner | 15 hrs (1.5 CEUs) | State building code and code enforcement subjects approved by the State Fire Commission | Approved courses from ICC, NFPA, WVCOA or other approved providers | Online or classroom allowed |
One CEU equals 10 hours of approved instruction, so 1.5 CEUs equals 15 hours.
Deadline
When is the West Virginia code official license renewal deadline?
Under §103-6-5, West Virginia building code certifications are valid for three years and must be renewed on or before the expiration date printed on your certificate. The Regulatory and Licensing Division typically sends a courtesy notice about 90 days before expiration.
| Deadline rule | Every three years on or before your certificate expiration date |
| Cycle | 3 years |
| Grace period | Not stated (a certification is invalid for any period exceeding 3 years unless renewed) |
| Late penalty | Not stated |
| CE completion deadline | During your current 3-year cycle and before your renewal date |
Steps
How to renew a West Virginia code official license, step by step
- Take approved CEBefore your deadline
Complete 15 hours (1.5 CEUs) of approved continuing education during your 3-year certification period. - Get your certificateSame day
Save the certificate of completion for every course you finish. - Confirm it’s reportedWith your renewal
Gather your CEU completion certificates to submit with your renewal application packet to the State Fire Marshal’s Office. - Pay the renewal fee$75 per category
Submit your renewal application, CEU documentation and $75.00 fee per certification category to the West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office. - Check your license statusAfter renewal
Confirm with the State Fire Marshal’s Office that your certification is renewed for the next 3-year term.
Providers
Approved West Virginia code official license CE providers
We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Use the board’s approved provider list to confirm a course counts before you pay. Courses from the ICC, NFPA, WVCOA and other providers approved by the State Fire Commission are accepted.
Approval
How to check a West Virginia code official CE course is approved
Under §103-6-4, continuing education courses must be approved by the State Fire Commission. Courses offered by the International Code Council (ICC), ICC Preferred Providers, the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) and the West Virginia Code Officials Association (WVCOA) are recognized for code official CE.
- Confirm the course is approved by the State Fire Commission or offered through a recognized code body (ICC, NFPA, WVCOA).
- If you are also renewing national ICC certifications, make sure at least 50% of your ICC CEUs come from ICC or ICC Preferred Providers.
- Complete all 1.5 CEUs (15 hours) within your current 3-year cycle.
Reporting
How West Virginia code official CE is reported, and what happens in an audit
Under §103-6-4 and §103-6-5, you submit documentation proving completion of your 1.5 CEUs along with your renewal application and fee to the West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office.
- Print or save every certificate of completion.
- Include copies of your CEU certificates in your 3-year renewal packet.
- Keep your original certificates for your records.
Cost
How much does West Virginia code official license renewal cost?
| Item | Fee | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| Certification renewal fee (per category) | $75 | West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office |
| CE courses (15 hours / 1.5 CEUs) | Varies by provider | CE provider |
Fee from 103 CSR 6 (§103-6-5), checked October 2026.
Late or lapsed
Late, expired or inactive West Virginia code official license
Under §103-6-5, a building code official, inspector or plans examiner certification is invalid for any period exceeding three years unless renewed. Contact the State Fire Marshal’s Office before your expiration date if you are running late.
Invalid after 3 years
Under §103-6-5, you may not act as a certified code official, inspector or plans examiner once your 3-year certification expires until it is renewed.
Makeup CE
You must complete the full 1.5 CEUs (15 hours) of approved continuing education before your certification can be renewed.
Who controls
Who controls West Virginia code official license renewal?
Renewal authority
West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office
West Virginia Office of the State Fire Marshal, Regulatory and Licensing Division
1207 Quarrier Street, 2nd Floor, Charleston, WV 25301
Phone: 304-558-2191
Responsibilities
- Certifies and renews West Virginia building code officials, inspectors and plans examiners
- Verifies the 1.5 CEU (15-hour) continuing education requirement
- Enforces 103 CSR 6 (formerly 87 CSR 7)
Getting licensed
Getting a West Virginia code official license
Need the license first? Our West Virginia guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.
FAQ
West Virginia code official license CE FAQs
How many CE hours does a West Virginia code official need?
1.5 CEUs (15 hours) of approved continuing education every three years.
When is the deadline?
Certifications must be renewed every three years on or before the expiration date printed on your certificate.
How much is the renewal fee?
$75.00 for each category of certification (Code Official, Inspector or Plans Examiner) under §103-6-5.
Can I take CE online?
Yes. Online or classroom courses approved by the State Fire Commission—including courses from the ICC, NFPA and WVCOA—count toward your 1.5 CEUs.
Who reports my hours?
You submit copies of your CEU completion certificates with your renewal application and fee to the State Fire Marshal’s Office.
Do hours carry over?
No. Under §103-6-4, your 1.5 CEUs must be acquired during the current 3-year license period.
Sources
Official sources for West Virginia code official CE rules
- West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office, Regulatory and Licensing Division
- W. Va. Code R. § 103-6, Standards for Certification and Continuing Education of Building Code Officials, Inspectors and Plans Examiners
- W. Va. Code R. § 87-7 (prior designation)
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the West Virginia State Fire Marshal’s Office.
