Construction / Code Official License / Virginia

  • Virginia
  • Code Official License
  • Inspectors & Plans Examiners
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Virginia Code Official Certification

How Virginia certifies code officials, inspectors and plans examiners for building, electrical, fire protection, mechanical and plumbing work, which exams you need and how to apply through DHCD.

Last updated October 28, 2026 from Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development requirements

Application fee

Not stated

Contact DHCD at 804-371-7180

Exam time

2 hrs

120 minutes per exam, open book

Time to get license

Varies

Depends on how fast you pass your exams

Continuing ed

Not stated

Ask DHCD what your certification needs

Overview

Do you need a Virginia code official license?

Yes, if you enforce the State Building Code for a Virginia city, county or other local government. Code officials, inspectors and plans examiners are certified by the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD), and each discipline has its own exams.

License required when

  • You run a local code enforcement department as the code official
  • You inspect construction sites and buildings for compliance with the State Building Code
  • You review construction documents for permits or compliance as a plans examiner
  • You work in building, electrical, fire protection, mechanical or plumbing enforcement

Common exceptions

  • Administrative staff in a code department who don’t inspect or review plans
  • Contractors and tradespeople doing the construction work, who hold separate trade licenses

Working without certification

Our sources don’t list penalties. In general, DHCD controls who holds a certification, and a locality can’t rely on an uncertified person to enforce the code. Check with DHCD before you take on inspection or plan review duties.

Your fast-track Virginia code official license checklist

The Virginia application, one page

  • Discipline and level picked (A, B or C)
  • Testing agency chosen: ICC, DHCD or NCPCCI
  • Code books tabbed and highlighted
  • Passing score of 70% on your exam
  • Application to DHCD (804-371-7180)

Types

Virginia code official license types and classifications

Virginia splits certification by discipline and by level: residential (A), general (B) and plan review (C). Exams come through ICC, DHCD or NCPCCI, and DHCD also accepts several ICC certifications.

1A

Residential

Building Inspector, One- & Two-Family

Footing, foundation, framing and final inspections on homes.

Exam

1A or ICC B1

Limit

1–2 family dwellings

1B

Commercial

Building Inspector General

Fire safety, life safety, structural, footing and foundation inspections.

Exam

1B or ICC B2

Limit

All buildings

B3

Plan review

Building Plans Examiner

Reviews construction documents for State Building Code compliance.

Exam

ICC B3

Limit

Plan review

2A/2B

Electrical

Electrical Inspector

Residential (2A) or general (2B) electrical inspections, from services and wiring methods to load calculations.

Exam

2A/2B or ICC E1/E2

Limit

By level

E3

Plan review

Electrical Plans Examiner

Reviews electrical construction documents.

Exam

ICC E3

Limit

Plan review

3B/3C

Fire protection

Fire Protection General & Plan Review

Building structure and fire protection systems, in the field (3B) or on plans (3C).

Exam

3B / 3C

Limit

By level

4A–4C

Mechanical

Mechanical Inspector

Residential (4A), general (4B) and plan review (4C) for appliances, ducts, venting, combustion air and fuel systems.

Exam

4A/4B/4C or ICC M1–M3

Limit

By level

P1–P3

Plumbing

Plumbing Inspector & Plans Examiner

Residential and commercial plumbing inspection, plus plumbing plan review.

Exam

ICC P1, P2 or P3

Limit

By level

Requirements

Virginia code official license requirements, class by class

Pick your discipline, then your level. The state exams are all 50 questions, 120 minutes and open book. ICC certifications on DHCD’s approved list can be used instead.

RequirementResidential (A)General (B)Plan review (C)
Building1A or ICC B11B or ICC B2ICC B3
Electrical2A or ICC E12B or ICC E2ICC E3
Mechanical4A or ICC M14B or ICC M24C or ICC M3
PlumbingICC P1ICC P2ICC P3
Fire protectionNot stated3B3C
Exam format50 questions, 120 min, open book50 questions, 120 min, open book50 questions, 120 min, open book
ExperienceNot statedNot statedNot stated

Steps

How to get your Virginia code official license, step by step

  1. Pick your discipline and levelBefore you start
    Decide whether you’re heading for building, electrical, fire protection, mechanical or plumbing work, and whether that’s residential, general or plan review.
  2. Choose your testing routeBefore you apply
    Virginia exams are offered through ICC, DHCD and NCPCCI. Apply to the testing agency you choose to schedule. You can reach ICC at 1-888-422-7233.
  3. Get and tab your code booksBefore exam day
    The exams are open book. You can tab and highlight the references, so get comfortable finding things fast.
  4. Pass your exam120 min exam
    Each state exam is 50 questions in 120 minutes, and you need 70% to pass. Testing centers are in larger cities around the state.
  5. Apply to DHCDContact DHCD
    Submit your certification application to the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development. Start at dhcd.virginia.gov/earn-certification or call 804-371-7180.
  6. Start work for your localityAfter approval
    Once certified, you can serve as a code official, inspector or plans examiner in your discipline.

Exam

What to expect on the Virginia code official exam

Virginia’s state exams are short and open book: 50 questions in 120 minutes. The 1A, 2A, 3B/3C and 4A exams list a 70% passing score. Many candidates take an ICC exam instead, since DHCD accepts several ICC certifications.

Format

Open book

Questions

50

Passing score

70%

Exam vendor

ICC, DHCD or NCPCCI

Scoring & content

  • 1A: final, footing and foundation, and framing inspections
  • 1B: fire safety, life safety, structural, footing and foundation inspections
  • 2A/2B: services, wiring methods, overcurrent protection, load and wire-size calculations
  • 3B/3C: building structure and fire protection systems
  • 4A/4B: appliances, air distribution, piping, venting, combustion air and fuel systems

Retake policy

  • Retake rules: Not stated in our sources
  • Ask your testing agency (ICC, DHCD or NCPCCI) before you book
  • References can be tabbed and highlighted
  • Study software can’t be used during the exam

Exam references · Open book

The Virginia building, electrical, fire protection and mechanical inspector exams are open book, and the approved references can be tabbed and highlighted. The list below covers the 1A/1B building, 2A/2B electrical, 3B/3C fire protection and 4A/4B mechanical exams; no reference list has been published in our sources for the 4C mechanical plan review or the plumbing code exams.

BookEditionUse
International Residential Code (IRC) — 1A Building Inspector and 2A Electrical Inspector One- and Two-Family Dwellings exams2021Allowed in exam
International Building Code (IBC) — 1B Building Inspector General and 3B/3C Fire Protection General & Plan Review exams2021Allowed in exam
NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — 2A and 2B Electrical Inspector exams2020Allowed in exam
NFPA 13: Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems — 3B/3C Fire Protection exams2019Allowed in exam
NFPA 72: National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code — 3B/3C Fire Protection exams2019Allowed in exam
International Residential Code for One- and Two-Family Dwellings (IRC) — 4A Mechanical Inspector exam2018Allowed in exam
International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC) — 4B Mechanical Inspector General exam2018Allowed in exam
International Mechanical Code (IMC) — 4B Mechanical Inspector General exam2018Allowed in exam

Our sources list the 2018 editions for the 4A and 4B mechanical exams but describe the 2021 editions elsewhere, so confirm the edition in the candidate bulletin before you buy.

Prep

Best Virginia code official exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does a Virginia code official license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
DHCD certification applicationFixedNot stated
Exam fee (ICC, DHCD or NCPCCI)FixedNot stated
Code books for your disciplineVariableVaries
Tabs and highlightersVariableVaries
State fees and examsFees aren’t listed in our sourcesNot stated

Confirm current fees with DHCD and your testing agency before you apply.

Reciprocity

Does Virginia accept out-of-state code official licenses?

Our sources don’t describe any state-to-state reciprocity. Your best shortcut is an ICC certification, since DHCD accepts several of them.

No reciprocity agreements

Apply as a new applicant. If you already hold an ICC certification such as B1, E2 or M3, check DHCD’s approved list before you retest.

Local

Do Virginia cities and counties have their own code official licensing rules?

DHCD certifies you, but you work for a local government that has adopted the State Building Code.

State handles

  • Code official, inspector and plans examiner certification
  • State exams through DHCD
  • The list of approved ICC certifications

City & county handle

  • Hiring code officials, inspectors and plans examiners
  • Running the local code enforcement department
  • Permits, inspections and plan review

Governance

Who regulates code officials in Virginia

Licensing authority

Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development

804-371-7180

dhcd.virginia.gov/earn-certification

Oversight responsibilities

  • Certifies code officials, inspectors and plans examiners
  • Offers state certification exams
  • Approves ICC certifications that meet Virginia’s requirements

Maintenance

How to renew your Virginia code official license and keep it active

Our sources don’t list renewal or continuing education rules. Ask DHCD what your certification needs to stay current.

Renewal cycle

Not stated

CE hours

Not stated

Renewal fee

Not stated

Late penalty

Not stated

Renewing your license?

See the Virginia CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.

FAQ

Virginia code official license FAQs

Who certifies code officials in Virginia?

The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD). Call 804-371-7180 or start at its earn-certification page.

Can I use an ICC certification in Virginia?

Yes. DHCD accepts several ICC certifications, including B1, B2 and B3 for building, E1–E3 for electrical, M1–M3 for mechanical and P1–P3 for plumbing.

Are the Virginia inspector exams open book?

Yes. The exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight your references.

How long is the exam and what score do I need?

Each state exam is 50 questions in 120 minutes. The 1A, 2A, 3B/3C and 4A exams require 70% to pass.

Where do I take the exam?

Through ICC, DHCD or NCPCCI. You apply with the testing agency you choose, and testing centers are in larger cities around Virginia.

What’s the difference between an inspector and a plans examiner?

An inspector checks construction on site. A plans examiner reviews construction documents for code compliance. Both report findings to the code official.

Sources

Official sources for the Virginia code official license

  1. Virginia DHCD, Earn certification
  2. International Code Council (ICC)
  3. NCPCCI candidate bulletin (Prov)

Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development.