Construction / Electrician License / Virginia
- Virginia
- Electrician License
- Journeyman, Master & Contractor
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Virginia Electrician License
Here’s how to qualify, pass the exam and stay licensed as a journeyman or master electrician in Virginia, plus what it takes to add an electrical contractor license, based on DPOR’s requirements.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation requirements
Application fee
$150
Tradesman license; plus $100–$125 PSI exam fee
Exam time
3.5 hrs
Journeyman exam, 210 minutes
Time to get license
Varies
2-year program up to 10 years of experience
Continuing ed
3 hrs
Every renewal
Overview
Do you need a Virginia electrician license?
Yes. Virginia requires tradesmen to be licensed before any bidding or work takes place. Journeyman and master electrician licenses stand on their own, while an electrical contractor license goes with a Class A, B or C contractor license.
License required when
- You install, repair or maintain electrical materials and equipment (journeyman)
- You plan, lay out or supervise electrical work, or work independently (master)
- You bid on or complete electrical jobs as a business (electrical contractor plus Class A, B or C license)
- You bid on a project over $1,000, which requires a contractor license
Common exceptions
- Projects of $1,000 or less don’t require a contractor license, though the tradesman license rules still apply
- Other exemptions aren’t covered in our source notes. Check the Tradesman regulations with DPOR before you start
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific penalty amounts. DPOR can take action against anyone working or bidding without the required license, so get licensed before you take on work.
Your fast-track Virginia electrician license checklist
The Virginia application, one page
- Pick journeyman, master or electrical contractor
- Proof of education and verifiable experience
- DPOR exam pre-approval
- Passing PSI exam score
- License application to DPOR
- Class A, B or C license and 8-hour course if contracting
Types
Virginia electrician license types and classifications
Virginia recognizes three electrical licenses. You can earn a journeyman or master license on its own. The electrical contractor license is paired with a Class A, B or C contractor license.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Installs, repairs and maintains electrical materials and equipment under the supervision of a master electrician.
Exam
Journeyman exam
Limit
Works under a master
MST
Work independently
Master Electrician
Everything a journeyman can do, plus planning, laying out details and supervising journeymen. May work independently.
Exam
Master exam or NASCLA
Limit
Not stated
ELE
Run a business
Electrical Contractor
Lets a licensed contractor bid on and complete electrical jobs in Virginia. Requires a Class A, B or C contractor license.
Exam
Class A/B exams; Class C course only
Limit
Set by contractor class
Requirements
Virginia electrician license requirements, class by class
Journeymen have several ways to qualify, mixing schooling and experience. Masters build on the journeyman license or long trade experience.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master | Electrical Contractor |
|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 4–10 years, depending on training | 1 year as a licensed VA journeyman, or 10 years in the trade | Not stated |
| Education | 2-year program, or 80–240 hours of training with experience | Not stated | 8-hour pre-licensing course |
| Degree option | Engineering bachelor’s degree plus 1 year of experience | Not stated | Not stated |
| Exam | Journeyman exam (pre-approval required) | Master exam (pre-approval required) | Class A or B exams; none for Class C |
| Other license | None needed | None needed | Class A, B or C contractor license |
| Continuing ed | 3 hrs per renewal | 3 hrs per renewal | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Virginia electrician license, step by step
- Choose your licenseBefore you start
Decide whether you’re going for journeyman, master or electrical contractor. A contractor license comes on top of your trade license. - Meet the experience and education rulesBefore you apply
Journeymen qualify with a 2-year program, 80–240 hours of training plus 4–6 years of experience, an engineering degree plus 1 year, or 10 years in the trade. Masters need 1 year as a licensed journeyman or 10 years in the trade. - Get pre-approved by DPORBefore you schedule
Apply for exam approval through the Tradesmen Board at DPOR (804-367-8511). Pre-approval is required before you can book. - Pass your exam with PSIExam day
Schedule at psiexams.com or call 855-340-3910. Exams are open book, and test centers are in larger cities across the state. - Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
Apply through DPOR to receive your Virginia license. - Add a contractor license if you need oneIf you’ll bid jobs
Complete the 8-hour pre-licensing course. Class A and B applicants also pass the contractor exams.
Exam
What to expect on the Virginia electrician exam
Each license level has its own open-book exam through PSI. Contractor applicants can choose the state exam or the NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam.
Format
Open book
Questions
70 (J) · 90 (M)
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Journeyman: 70 questions, 210 minutes, 49 correct to pass
- Master: 90 questions, 63 correct to pass
- NASCLA Electrical: 100 questions, 270 minutes, 75 correct to pass
- Topics include grounding and bonding, services and feeders, motors, special occupancies and Virginia regulations
- References include the NEC 2020 (NFPA 70), the Tradesman regulations and the Virginia Statewide Building Code
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- The PSI exam fee is $100 for journeyman and $125 for master; ask PSI about waiting periods before you book
- Books may be tabbed and highlighted ahead of time
- Pre-approval from DPOR is required before scheduling
Exam references · Open book
Virginia’s electrical exams are open book: the references below can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test. The list covers the Journeyman and Master Electrical exams, plus the Class A/B contractor exam for those getting a contractor license.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Journeyman and Master Electrical exams | 2020 | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 70E: Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace — Journeyman and Master Electrical exams | 2024 | Allowed in exam |
| Virginia Individual License and Certification Regulations — Journeyman and Master Electrical exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code, Chapter 1 only — Journeyman and Master Electrical exams | 2015 | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management — Class A/B contractor exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code — Class A/B contractor exam | 2018 | Allowed in exam |
Class C contractors only need the 8-hour pre-licensing course, with no additional exam.
Prep
Best Virginia electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Virginia electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $150 journeyman or master license; contractor license $235 Class C; $380 Class B; $400 Class A plus $25 Recovery Fund |
| Exam fee (PSI) | Fixed | $100 journeyman; $125 master |
| Class A/B contractor exam (PSI, contractors only) | Fixed | $85 Class A (3 portions); $72 Class B (2 portions) |
| 8-hour pre-licensing course (contractors) | Variable | Varies |
| Code books (NEC and references) | Variable | Varies |
| Continuing education (3 hrs) | Variable | Varies |
| DPOR technology fee (certain fees, from July 1, 2026) | Fixed | $7.25 per year |
| State fees and exams | Journeyman license and exam; excludes contractor license, course and books | $250 |
Fees from 18VAC50-30-90, 18VAC50-22-100 and the DPOR Tradesmen Board exam fee list, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Virginia accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Virginia has tradesman reciprocity agreements with several states. If your state isn’t listed, you may qualify through Universal License Recognition.
Agreement states — see DPOR’s list
DPOR publishes the full list of Tradesmen reciprocal agreements. Check it for your state and license level.
Other states — Universal License Recognition
If your licensing agency isn’t on the list, you can apply through Universal License Recognition (ULR).
NASCLA Electrical Exam — accepted in 15 states
Contractor applicants can take the NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam instead of the state-specific exam. It’s accepted by 15 state licensing boards.
Local
Do Virginia cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Virginia issues electrical licenses at the state level, so your license works statewide. Local building departments still handle permits.
State handles
- Journeyman, master and contractor licenses
- Exam pre-approval
- Reciprocity and ULR
- Continuing education
City & county handle
- Building permits and inspections
- Local business licenses
- Check with your locality before you start a job
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Virginia
Licensing authority
Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation (DPOR), Tradesmen Board
804-367-8511
Oversight responsibilities
- Approves applicants to sit for the tradesman exams
- Issues journeyman, master and electrical contractor licenses
- Manages reciprocity and Universal License Recognition
- Sets continuing education for renewal
Maintenance
How to renew your Virginia electrician license and keep it active
Complete 3 hours of continuing education before each renewal. Electrician licenses renew every three years, and the tradesman renewal fee is $160.
Renewal cycle
3 years
CE hours
3
Renewal fee
$160
Late penalty
Reinstatement fee $210 (includes renewal) after 30 days
Virginia Tradesmen Board
Applications, renewals and CE details from DPOR
FAQ
Virginia electrician license FAQs
How do I become a journeyman electrician in Virginia?
Meet one of the education and experience paths, like a 2-year approved program or 240 hours of training plus 4 years of experience, get DPOR pre-approval and pass the journeyman exam.
How long does it take to become a master electrician in Virginia?
You need 1 year of experience as a licensed Virginia journeyman, or 10 years in the trade, and you must pass the master exam.
Is the Virginia electrical exam open book?
Yes. The journeyman exam is 70 questions in 210 minutes and you need 49 correct. The master exam is 90 questions and you need 63 correct.
Do I need a contractor license to do electrical work in Virginia?
Only to bid on and complete jobs as a business. The electrical contractor license goes with a Class A, B or C license, and you need one to bid on projects over $1,000.
Can I take the NASCLA exam instead of the Virginia exam?
Contractor applicants can choose the NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam instead of the state exam. It’s 100 questions in 270 minutes, and you need 75 correct.
Does Virginia have electrician reciprocity?
Yes, with several states. DPOR publishes the list, and if your state isn’t on it you can apply through Universal License Recognition.
How much continuing education do Virginia electricians need?
3 hours for each renewal.
Sources
Official sources for the Virginia electrician license
- DPOR, Tradesmen Board
- DPOR, Individual License and Certification Regulations (PDF)
- DPOR, Tradesmen reciprocal agreements (PDF)
- DPOR, Universal License Recognition
- PSI, Virginia exam scheduling
- Virginia Statewide Building Code 2018 (PDF)
- 18VAC50-30-90, Fees for licensure and certification (tradesmen)
- 18VAC50-30-100, Examination fees (tradesmen)
- 18VAC50-30-120, Renewal (tradesmen)
- 18VAC50-30-130, Reinstatement (tradesmen)
- DPOR, Tradesmen Board exam fees (paid directly to PSI)
- 18VAC50-22-100, Fees (contractors)
- PSI, Virginia Contractor (Class A/B) Candidate Information Bulletin
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation.
