Construction / Electrical Contractor License / Florida
- Florida
- Electrical Contractor
- Unlimited & Residential
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Florida Electrical Contractor License
How to qualify for a Florida Unlimited or Residential electrical contractor license, get approved for the exams, pass them and stay licensed, all in one place.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation requirements
Application fee
$263.25
Exam application; plus $123.75 exam fee and $296 license fee
Exam time
6.5 + 5 hrs
Business & Finance plus the Residential trade exam
Time to get license
3–6 yrs
Depends on which experience route you qualify under
Continuing ed
11 hrs
Required each renewal
Overview
Do you need a Florida electrical contractor license?
Yes. Florida requires a license to bid on any electrical project. You’ll choose between the Unlimited license, which covers all electrical work, and the Residential license, which is limited to smaller homes and single-phase service.
License required when
- You bid on any electrical project in Florida
- You install, repair, alter, add to or design electrical wiring, fixtures, appliances, apparatus, raceways or conduit
- You work on electrical systems in plants and substations, or on alarm systems and specialty categories (Unlimited license)
- You do electrical work on 1–4 family homes up to 2 stories with single-phase service up to 400 amps (Residential license at minimum)
Common exceptions
- Our sources don’t list exemptions for this license, so ask DBPR before relying on one
- Work outside the Residential scope (over 2 stories, more than 4 units, 3-phase or over 400 amps) isn’t an exception. It needs the Unlimited license
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific penalty amounts. Contracting without the required license can lead to disciplinary action and fines from the state, so get licensed before you bid. Check with DBPR for the current penalties.
Your fast-track Florida electrical contractor license checklist
The Florida application, one page
- Proof of 3–6 years of qualifying experience
- Exam pre-approval through PTI
- Passing scores for Business & Finance and your trade exam
- Personal and business credit reports and financial statements
- Certificate of insurance coverage
- Legal entity formed and background check done
Types
Florida electrical contractor license types and classifications
Florida offers two electrical contractor licenses. Both take the same Business & Finance exam. The difference is the scope of work and the trade exam.
UNL
Full scope
Unlimited Electrical Contractor
Install, repair, alter, add to or design electrical wiring, fixtures, apparatus, raceways and conduit, including plants, substations and all alarm systems and specialty categories.
Exam
B&F + Unlimited or NASCLA
Limit
No scope limit stated
RES
Homes only
Residential Electrical Contractor
Electrical work on 1, 2, 3 or 4 family homes up to 2 stories and their accessory structures.
Exam
B&F + Residential or NASCLA
Limit
Single phase, 400 amp single service
Requirements
Florida electrical contractor license requirements, class by class
Most requirements are the same for both licenses. The Unlimited license adds a 3-phase work requirement.
| Requirement | Unlimited | Residential |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | 3–6 yrs, one qualifying route | 3–6 yrs, one qualifying route |
| 3-phase work | At least 40% of experience | Not stated |
| Business & Finance exam | Required | Required |
| Trade exam | Unlimited or NASCLA Electrical | Residential or NASCLA Electrical |
| Business net worth | At least $10,000 | At least $10,000 |
| Personal finances | Credit report and positive net worth | Credit report and positive net worth |
| Insurance | Certificate of coverage | Certificate of coverage |
| Minimum age | Not stated | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Florida electrical contractor license, step by step
- Confirm your experience routeBefore you apply
Qualify under one route: 3 of the last 12 years as an electrical engineer, 3 of the last 6 in management, 4 of the last 8 as a foreman, supervisor or contractor, or 6 of the last 12 in training, technical or military work (or a mix totaling 6). - Get exam pre-approvalBefore you test
Submit your application for examination. Pre-approval is handled by PTI at floridaexam.com or 407-264-0562. - Pass your examsExam day
Schedule with Pearson VUE at 888-204-6230. Take Business & Finance plus the Unlimited, Residential or NASCLA Electrical exam. All are open book. - Handle the legal itemsBefore you apply
Complete background checks, form your legal entity, get the required insurance and a bond if one is needed. - Gather your financialsBefore you apply
Pull personal and business credit reports and financial statements. The business must show a net worth of at least $10,000. - Apply with DBPRFinal step
Submit your license application to DBPR. The initial certified license fee is $296. Call 850-487-1395 with questions.
Exam
What to expect on the Florida electrical contractor exam
Everyone takes the Business & Finance exam. For the trade portion, you choose the Florida exam for your license or the NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam. The exams are open book, and approved references can be tabbed and highlighted.
Format
Open book, computer
Questions
50 + 80 (Residential)
Passing score
75% (Residential)
Exam vendor
Pearson VUE
Scoring & content
- Business & Finance: 50 questions, 6.5 hours
- Residential: 80 questions, 75% to pass, 5 hours
- NASCLA Electrical: 100 questions, 75 correct to pass, 270 minutes
- Unlimited exam details: Not stated
- Exams move to the 2026 code books in 2027; check the reference lists
Retake policy
- Retake examination application: $67.25
- Other retake rules: Not stated
- Pre-approval comes through PTI before you can schedule
- Ask Pearson VUE about rescheduling rules when you book
Exam references · Open book
Florida’s electrical contractor exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight the references below and use them during the test. The list covers the Unlimited and Residential Electrical Contractor exams plus the Business & Finance exam for electrical contractors.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| Florida Contractors Manual — Unlimited, Residential and Business & Finance exams | 2025 | Allowed in exam |
| Florida Statutes Chapter 455 (printed inside the Florida Contractors Manual) — Business & Finance exam | 2019 | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Unlimited and Residential exams | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| OSHA 1926 Construction Regulations — Unlimited and Residential exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 72: National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code — Unlimited and Residential exams | 2019 | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 780: Standard for the Installation of Lightning Protection Systems — Unlimited and Residential exams | 2017 | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 101: Life Safety Code — Unlimited and Residential exams | 2018 | Allowed in exam |
| Fire Alarm Signaling Systems Handbook — Unlimited exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Engineering Sign Structures: An Introduction to Analysis and Design — Unlimited exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Neon Techniques and Handling — Unlimited exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Design and Control of Concrete Mixtures — Unlimited exam | 17th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Telecommunications Wiring — Unlimited exam | 3rd edition | Allowed in exam |
| NTC Blue Book, Low Voltage Systems — Unlimited exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| UL 681: Installation and Classification of Burglar and Holdup Alarm Systems — Unlimited exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| UL 365: Standard for Police Station Connected Burglar Alarm Units and Systems — Unlimited exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
Florida construction exams move to the 2026 code books in 2027, so check the state’s updated reference list for your exam date. If you take the NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam instead, check the NASCLA candidate bulletin for its references.
Prep
Best Florida electrical contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Florida electrical contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Certified examination application | Fixed | $263.25 |
| Computer-based exam (paid to vendor after approval) | Fixed | $123.75 |
| Initial certified license (active) | Fixed | $296 |
| Credit reports and financial statements | Variable | Varies |
| Insurance | Variable | Varies |
| Bond, if required | Variable | Varies |
| Approved reference books | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes credit reports, insurance, bond and references | $683 |
Fees from the Florida Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board FAQs and renewal table, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Florida accept out-of-state electrical contractor licenses?
Our sources don’t confirm any reciprocity agreements for this license. The NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam can stand in for Florida’s trade exam, and it’s accepted by 15 state licensing boards.
No reciprocity agreements
Our sources don’t list any. Apply as a new applicant, and ask DBPR whether an agreement covers the license you already hold.
Local
Do Florida cities and counties have their own electrical contractor licensing rules?
Your state license covers Florida, but local governments still control permits and inspections on each job.
State handles
- Electrical contractor licensing
- Exam pre-approval and testing
- License renewal and continuing education
- Discipline of licensees
City & county handle
- Building and electrical permits
- Job inspections
- Any local business registration, so check with your city or county
Governance
Who regulates electrical contractors in Florida
Licensing authority
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
850-487-1395
Oversight responsibilities
- Reviews applications for examination and licensure
- Issues and renews electrical contractor licenses
- Sets continuing education requirements
- Disciplines licensees
Maintenance
How to renew your Florida electrical contractor license and keep it active
Florida requires 11 hours of continuing education each renewal. Certified electrical licenses expire August 31 of even years, and the renewal fee is $296.
Renewal cycle
2 yrs, Aug 31 (even years)
CE hours
11
Renewal fee
$296
Late penalty
Not stated
Renewing your license?
See the Florida CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Florida electrical contractor license FAQs
Do I need a license to do electrical work in Florida?
Yes. Florida requires a license to bid on any electrical project, whatever the size.
What’s the difference between Unlimited and Residential?
The Unlimited license covers all electrical work, including plants, substations and alarm systems. Residential is limited to 1–4 family homes up to 2 stories with single-phase service up to 400 amps.
How much experience do I need?
Between 3 and 6 years, depending on your route. For example, 4 of the last 8 years as a foreman, supervisor or contractor qualifies. Unlimited applicants need at least 40% of their work in 3-phase services.
Is the Florida electrical exam open book?
Yes. Approved references can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the exam.
Can I take the NASCLA exam instead?
Yes. You can take the NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam instead of Florida’s trade exam, but you still need to pass Business & Finance.
How many CE hours do I need?
11 hours of continuing education each renewal.
What net worth do I need?
Your business financial statement must show a net worth of at least $10,000, and your personal statement must show a positive net worth.
Sources
Official sources for the Florida electrical contractor license
- Florida DBPR, Construction Industry licensing
- Florida DBPR, Construction examination reference lists
- PTI, Florida exam pre-approval
- Florida Statutes, Chapter 455
- Pearson VUE, Florida contractor exam scheduling
- NASCLA Accredited Electrical Exam
- Florida DBPR, Electrical Contractors’ Licensing Board FAQs (application fees)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
