Construction / Electrical Contractor License / South Carolina
- South Carolina
- Electrical Contractor
- Commercial, Groups 1–5
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your South Carolina Electrical Contractor License
Everything you need to qualify for a Mechanical Contractor license with the Electrical sub-classification in South Carolina, from picking your Group to passing the exams and meeting the financial rules.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board requirements
Application fee
$350
Initial license fee; plus $156–$194 in PSI exam fees
Exam time
~7 hrs
SC Electrical (5 hrs) + B&L (125 min)
Time to get license
~2 yrs
2 years of commercial field work within the past 5
Continuing ed
Not required
No CE before renewal
Overview
Do you need a South Carolina electrical contractor license?
Yes. South Carolina requires a Mechanical Contractor license with the Electrical sub-classification before you bid on or do any electrical contracting work. Your license Group sets how large a bid or job you can take.
License required when
- You bid on or perform electrical contracting work in South Carolina
- You install or repair electrical systems up to 600 volts
- You install indoor and outdoor lighting and related equipment
- You install window or through-the-wall AC units under 3 tons/3 HP that need no piping
Common exceptions
- Our source doesn’t list exemptions for this license
- If you think your work is exempt, ask the CLB before you bid
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our source doesn’t list specific penalty amounts. Contracting without the right license or outside your Group limit can lead to action by the Contractor’s Licensing Board, so confirm your license covers the job before you bid.
Your fast-track South Carolina electrical contractor license checklist
The South Carolina application, one page
- Group chosen to match your job sizes
- 2 years of commercial field work within the past 5
- Passing score on the SC or NASCLA Electrical exam
- Passing score on Business Management & Law
- GAAP financial statement for your Group, or a surety bond
Types
South Carolina electrical contractor license types and classifications
Electrical work falls under the Mechanical Contractor license with an Electrical sub-classification. The Board splits it into 5 Groups, and each Group sets your limit per bid and per job.
G1
Smallest jobs
Group 1
Electrical sub-classification for bids and jobs up to $35,000. Self-prepared balance sheet allowed.
Exam
Electrical + B&L
Limit
$35,000
G2
Self-prepared financials
Group 2
Bids and jobs up to $100,000. Self-prepared balance sheet allowed.
Exam
Electrical + B&L
Limit
$100,000
G3
CPA financials
Group 3
Bids and jobs up to $200,000. Needs a CPA/PA compiled or prepared GAAP statement.
Exam
Electrical + B&L
Limit
$200,000
G4
CPA financials
Group 4
Bids and jobs up to $400,000. Needs a CPA/PA compiled or prepared GAAP statement.
Exam
Electrical + B&L
Limit
$400,000
G5
Largest projects
Group 5
No limit on bid or job size. Needs a CPA/PA audited statement.
Exam
Electrical + B&L
Limit
Unlimited
Requirements
South Carolina electrical contractor license requirements, class by class
The exams and experience are the same for every Group. What changes is your job limit and the net worth you have to show, or the surety bond you can post instead.
| Requirement | Groups 1–2 | Groups 3–4 | Group 5 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Limit per bid and job | $35,000 / $100,000 | $200,000 / $400,000 | Unlimited |
| Financial statement | Self-prepared GAAP balance sheet | CPA/PA compiled or prepared GAAP | CPA/PA audited |
| Net worth | $3,500 / $10,000 | $20,000 / $40,000 | $200,000 |
| Or surety bond | $7,000 / $15,000 | $30,000 / $60,000 | $300,000 |
| Experience | 2 years commercial within the past 5 | 2 years commercial within the past 5 | 2 years commercial within the past 5 |
| Exams | SC or NASCLA Electrical + B&L | SC or NASCLA Electrical + B&L | SC or NASCLA Electrical + B&L |
Steps
How to get your South Carolina electrical contractor license, step by step
- Pick your GroupBefore you start
Choose the Group that matches the size of jobs you’ll bid, from $35,000 (Group 1) to unlimited (Group 5). - Confirm your experienceBefore you apply
You need 2 years of full-time, hands-on field work within the past 5 years. Only commercial work counts. - Pass your exams with PSIBefore you apply
Pass Business & Law and either the SC Electrical exam or the NASCLA Electrical exam. Schedule at psiexams.com or 855-340-3701. You need passing scores before you apply. - Prepare your financialsBefore you apply
Get the GAAP financial statement your Group requires showing the minimum net worth, or post the matching surety bond instead. - Apply with the CLBFinal step
Submit your application to the Contractor’s Licensing Board for your Mechanical Contractor license with the Electrical sub-classification.
Exam
What to expect on the South Carolina electrical contractor exam
Everyone takes Business Management & Law. For the trade exam, you choose the South Carolina Electrical Contractor exam or the NASCLA Accredited Electrical exam. All are offered by PSI and are open book.
Format
Open book
Questions
80 or 100 + 50
Passing score
56/80 SC, 75/100 NASCLA
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- SC Electrical: 80 questions, 5 hours, 56 correct to pass
- NASCLA Electrical: 100 questions, 270 minutes, 75 correct to pass
- Business Management & Law: 50 questions, 125 minutes, 35 correct to pass
- SC topics include services and feeders, grounding, motors, low voltage, signs and fire alarm systems
- References can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test
Retake policy
- Waiting period between attempts: Not stated
- Retake fee: the PSI exam fee again for each attempt
- You must pass before you submit your license application
- Contact PSI at 855-340-3701 to schedule
Exam references · Open book
South Carolina’s electrical contractor exams are open book. You can bring the approved references below into the exam, and they can be tabbed and highlighted. The list covers the Electrical Contractor trade exam and the Commercial Business & Law exam.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) | 2020 | Allowed in exam |
| American Electricians’ Handbook | 17th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Key Word Index (NEC) | 2020 | Allowed in exam |
| OSHA 1926: Construction Industry Regulations | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 72: National Fire Alarm and Signaling Code | 2019 | Allowed in exam |
| South Carolina 811 Excavator Manual | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Commercial Contractors (South Carolina edition) — Business & Law exam | 9th edition | Allowed in exam |
Prep
Best South Carolina electrical contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a South Carolina electrical contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $350 (initial license fee) |
| Electrical exam (SC or NASCLA) | Fixed | $78 (SC) / $116 (NASCLA) |
| Business Management & Law exam | Fixed | $78 |
| CPA/PA financial statement (Groups 3–5) | Variable | Varies |
| Surety bond (if used instead of net worth) | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes financial statement and bond costs | $506–$544 |
Fees from the Contractor’s Licensing Board fee page and the PSI commercial candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does South Carolina accept out-of-state electrical contractor licenses?
South Carolina has waiver agreements with some states. The Board publishes the full list, so check it before you apply.
Agreement states — see the CLB list
The Contractor’s Licensing Board keeps a current list of waiver agreements. Our source doesn’t name the states or what’s waived.
NASCLA exam — trade exam option
South Carolina accepts the NASCLA Accredited Electrical exam in place of its own trade exam. You still take Business Management & Law.
Local
Do South Carolina cities and counties have their own electrical contractor licensing rules?
Your Mechanical Contractor license comes from the state. Cities and counties still handle permits and inspections for each job.
State handles
- Mechanical Contractor licenses and the Electrical sub-classification
- Group limits and financial requirements
- Exams, through PSI
- Waiver agreements with other states
City & county handle
- Electrical permits
- Inspections
- Any local business license rules
Governance
Who regulates electrical contractors in South Carolina
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues Mechanical Contractor licenses with the Electrical sub-classification
- Sets Group limits and net worth or bond requirements
- Reviews experience and financial statements
- Maintains waiver agreements with other states
Maintenance
How to renew your South Carolina electrical contractor license and keep it active
South Carolina doesn’t require continuing education before you renew. Contractor licenses renew every two years for $135, due by October 31 (general contractor licenses expire in even-numbered years, mechanical in odd-numbered years). Late renewals add a $100 to $200 penalty.
Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
CE hours
Not required
Renewal fee
$135
Late penalty
$100–$200
FAQ
South Carolina electrical contractor license FAQs
What license do electrical contractors need in South Carolina?
A Mechanical Contractor license with the Electrical sub-classification, issued by the Contractor’s Licensing Board.
What are the Group limits?
Group 1 is $35,000, Group 2 is $100,000, Group 3 is $200,000, Group 4 is $400,000 and Group 5 is unlimited, per bid and per job.
Can I take the NASCLA exam instead of the SC exam?
Yes. You can choose the SC Electrical exam (80 questions, 56 correct to pass) or the NASCLA Electrical exam (100 questions, 75 correct to pass). Everyone also takes Business Management & Law.
How much experience do I need?
Two years of full-time, hands-on field work within the past 5 years. Only commercial work counts.
Can I use a surety bond instead of showing net worth?
Yes. Each Group lets you post a surety bond instead, from $7,000 for Group 1 up to $300,000 for Group 5.
Is continuing education required in South Carolina?
No. South Carolina doesn’t require CE before renewal for this license.
Do I take the exam before or after I apply?
Before. You need passing scores before you submit your license application to the CLB.
Sources
Official sources for the South Carolina electrical contractor license
- South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board
- Contractor’s Licensing Board, Waiver Agreements (PDF)
- PSI, exam scheduling
- NASCLA Accredited Electrical Contractor Exam
- Contractor’s Licensing Board, Fees
- Contractor’s Licensing Board, General and Mechanical Contractors
- PSI, SC Commercial Contractor Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board.
