Construction / Electrician Continuing Education / Kentucky
- Kentucky
- Electrician CE
- Electrician, Master & Contractor
- Updated Oct 2026
Kentucky Electrician Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses
Kentucky electricians, master electricians and electrical contractors each need 6 hours of approved CE every year, or 12 if you hold both an electrician and a contractor license.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction requirements
Hours per cycle
6 hrs per year
12 hrs per year if you hold both license types
Cycle
Yearly CE, 2-year license
Licenses renewed on or after July 2024 last two years
Deadline
End of birth month
Licenses renew every 2 years, by the last day of your birth month
Online allowed?
Yes
State-approved online CE counts toward renewal
Who needs CE
Who needs continuing education for a Kentucky electrician license?
Kentucky electricians, master electricians and electrical contractors all need CE to renew. Renewal is handled by the state through the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction.
CE applies to
- Electrician (EE)
- Master Electrician (ME)
- Electrical Contractor (CE)
- Electrical Inspectors
Exemptions
- First renewal, if your license was issued within 12 months of that renewal
- Inactive licensees, until they reactivate
Hold more than one license?
If you have both an electrician and an electrical contractor license, you need 6 hours for each, so 12 hours a year.
Kentucky electrician CE at a glance
Kentucky electrician renewal, one box
| Renewed with | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction |
| CE required? | Yes |
| Hours per cycle | 6 hrs per year (12 if you hold both) |
| Cycle | CE yearly; license renews every 2 years |
| Required topics | Electricians: codes or electrical trade; contractors: business or job safety |
| Online allowed? | Yes |
| Deadline | Last day of your birth month, every 2 years |
| Who reports | You, with your renewal |
| Carryover | Up to 12 hours |
| Grace period | 60 days, with a $50 late fee |
| Renewal fee | $100 EE, $200 ME, $400 CE (2-year license) |
| Last updated | October 28, 2026 |
Hours
How many CE hours does a Kentucky electrician license need?
Each license needs 6 hours of approved CE every year. Licenses renewed on or after July 2024 are valid for two years, but CE is still due annually.
| Class | Total | Required topics | Electives | Delivery limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Electrician (EE) & Master Electrician (ME) | 6 hrs per year | Electrical codes or subject matter directly related to the trade | Not stated | Not stated |
| Electrical Contractor (CE) | 6 hrs per year | Business or job safety | Not stated | Not stated |
| Electrician + Electrical Contractor | 12 hrs per year | 6 hrs for each license | Not stated | Not stated |
Electrical inspector CE follows the same topic rules as electricians: codes or subject matter directly related to the electrical trade. No more than 2 hours of safety practices count in any 12-month period, and extra hours can carry forward into the next two educational years, up to 12 hours total.
Deadline
When is the Kentucky electrician license renewal deadline?
Kentucky electrical licenses issued or renewed on or after July 15, 2024 are valid for two years and renew by the last day of your birth month. You still need 6 hours of CE for each year.
| Deadline rule | Last day of your birth month, every 2 years |
| Cycle | 2-year license; CE due every year |
| Grace period | 60 days after expiration; you can keep working and renew with a late fee |
| Late penalty | $50 late renewal fee |
| CE completion deadline | 6 hours each year, before you renew |
Steps
How to renew a Kentucky electrician license, step by step
- Take approved CEEvery year
Complete 6 hours of HBC-approved CE per license per year: codes or trade topics for electricians, business or job safety for contractors. - Get your certificateSame day
Print or save your certificate of completion when you finish. - Confirm it’s reportedWith your renewal
You submit proof of your CE to the department with your renewal application, so keep every certificate. - Pay the renewal fee$100 to $400 fee
Submit your renewal to the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction by the last day of your birth month: $100 for an electrician, $200 for a master electrician and $400 for an electrical contractor. - Check your license statusAfter renewal
Look up your license to confirm the new two-year expiration date.
Providers
Approved Kentucky electrician license CE providers
We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Use the board’s approved provider list to confirm a course counts before you pay. All courses must be approved by the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction.
Approval
How to check a Kentucky electrician CE course is approved
Every Kentucky electrical CE course must be approved by the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction. Electrician and contractor courses have different topic rules, so pick the right one for your license.
- Confirm the course is approved by the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction.
- Electricians (EE/ME): pick courses on electrical codes or the electrical trade.
- Contractors (CE): pick courses on business or job safety.
- Hold both licenses? Take 6 hours for each license every year.
Reporting
How Kentucky electrician CE is reported, and what happens in an audit
You report your own CE. Under 815 KAR 2:010, you submit proof of your hours to the department before you renew, and the renewal application asks for that proof.
- Print or save each certificate of completion.
- Track your hours by year, since CE is due annually even on a two-year license.
- Keep electrician and contractor hours separate if you hold both.
Cost
How much does Kentucky electrician license renewal cost?
| Item | Fee | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| Electrician (EE) renewal, 2 years | $100 | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction |
| Master Electrician (ME) renewal, 2 years | $200 | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction |
| Electrical Contractor (CE) renewal, 2 years | $400 | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction |
| Late renewal fee | $50 | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction |
| Reinstatement fee (terminated license) | Equal to the renewal fee, plus the renewal fee | Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction |
| CE courses (6 hours per license per year) | Varies by provider | CE provider |
Fees from the DHBC House Bill 444 notice and 815 KAR 35:060, checked October 2026.
Late or lapsed
Late, expired or inactive Kentucky electrician license
You have a 60-day grace period after your license expires to renew with a late fee. After that the license terminates, but you can reinstate it without retesting within 3 years.
Grace period
For 60 days after expiration you can keep working and renew by paying the renewal fee plus a $50 late fee.
Reinstatement
A license not renewed within 60 days terminates. Within 3 years of termination you can reinstate it without an exam by paying the renewal fee plus a reinstatement fee equal to the renewal fee.
Inactive status
You can ask to place your license in inactive status. You can’t do electrical work while inactive, and you need CE compliance to reactivate.
Makeup CE
You still need 6 hours for each year of the license period before the state will process your renewal.
Who controls
Who controls Kentucky electrician license renewal?
Renewal authority
Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction
500 Mero Street, Frankfort, KY 40601
Licensing phone: 502-573-2002
Responsibilities
- Issues and renews Kentucky electrical licenses
- Approves electrical CE courses
- Sets CE hours and topics for electricians and contractors
Getting licensed
Getting a Kentucky electrician license
Need the license first? Our Kentucky guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.
FAQ
Kentucky electrician license CE FAQs
How many CE hours does a Kentucky electrician need?
6 hours every year. Electrical contractors also need 6 hours a year, and if you hold both licenses you need 12.
My license lasts two years. Do I still need CE every year?
Yes. Licenses renewed on or after July 2024 are valid for two years, but CE is still required annually.
What topics count?
Electricians and master electricians need codes or electrical trade topics. Contractors need business or job safety topics.
Can I take CE online?
Yes. State-approved online courses count toward your hours.
When is the deadline?
The last day of your birth month, every two years. Finish each year’s 6 hours before you renew.
Who reports my hours?
You do. Submit proof of your CE to the department with your renewal application.
Do hours carry over?
Yes. Extra hours can carry forward into the next two educational years, up to 12 hours total.
What happens if I miss the deadline?
You have 60 days to renew with a $50 late fee. After that the license terminates, but you can reinstate it within 3 years without retesting.
Sources
Official sources for Kentucky electrician CE rules
- Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction
- DHBC notice: Biennial Electrical Licenses (HB 444)
- KRS 227A.100, Renewal and reinstatement
- 815 KAR 35:060, Electrical licensing
- 815 KAR 2:010, Continuing education requirements
- DHBC online CE providers list
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Kentucky Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction.
