Construction / Electrician License / Alabama
- Alabama
- Electrician License
- Journeyman & Contractor
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Alabama Electrician License
Everything you need to qualify for an Alabama journeyman electrician or electrical contractor license, from the 8,000-hour experience rule to the ProV and NASCLA exams, renewal and reciprocity.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Alabama Electrical Contractors Board requirements
Application fee
$115–$165
Exam fee paid to the AECB; plus $35–$150 license fee
Exam time
4 hrs
ProV journeyman exam; contractor exam time not stated
Time to get license
~4 yrs
8,000 hours of experience, up to 2,000 from education
Continuing ed
14 hrs
Required for each renewal
Overview
Do you need an Alabama electrician license?
Yes. In Alabama, electricians are licensed by the AECB at two levels. Journeymen install electrical systems under a master or state-certified electrical contractor. Electrical contractors run the business of soliciting, installing, maintaining and repairing electrical work.
License required when
- You solicit or contract for electrical power or control system work (Electrical Contractor)
- You install, maintain, alter or repair electrical wiring, devices, equipment or apparatus as a business
- You install wiring, lighting, heating, power or control equipment as a Journeyman Electrician under a licensed contractor
- You work from plans and specifications on commercial, industrial or residential jobs
Common exceptions
- The sources we reviewed don’t list exemptions from licensing
- Before you rely on any exemption, confirm it with the AECB at 334-420-7232
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list penalty amounts. In general, the AECB can refuse, suspend or discipline licenses and act against people who do electrical work without the right license, so get licensed before you take on work.
Your fast-track Alabama electrician license checklist
The Alabama application, one page
- Proof of 8,000 hours of electrical experience
- Diploma, certificate or transcript for any education credit
- Signed, notarized application for exam approval
- Testing agency pre-approval before you schedule
- Passing score on your ProV or NASCLA exam (plus Business & Law for NASCLA contractors)
Types
Alabama electrician license types and classifications
Alabama has two main electrical license levels. Both need 8,000 hours of experience, and both let you choose between a ProV exam and a NASCLA exam.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Installs electrical wiring, apparatus and equipment for lighting, heating, power or control, working from plans under a master or state-certified electrical contractor.
Exam
ProV or NASCLA Journeyman
Limit
Works under a contractor
EC
Run a business
Electrical Contractor
Solicits and installs electrical power or control systems, and maintains, alters or repairs electrical wiring, devices and equipment.
Exam
ProV Contractor, or NASCLA + B&L
Limit
Not stated
Requirements
Alabama electrician license requirements, class by class
Both levels need the same number of hours. What changes is the kind of experience you document and the exam you take.
| Requirement | Journeyman Electrician | Electrical Contractor |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | 8,000 hours | 8,000 hours |
| Type of experience | Installing wiring, apparatus and equipment in commercial, industrial or residential work | Designing, planning, laying out and directly supervising electrical construction |
| Education credit | 1 year of approved curriculum or apprenticeship = 1,000 hours, max 2,000 | 1 year of electrical education = half a year of experience, max 2,000 hours |
| Application | Board approval to sit for the exam | Signed, notarized application for approval to sit for the exam |
| Exam | ProV Journeyman or NASCLA Journeyman | ProV Contractor, or NASCLA Contractor plus Business & Law |
| Continuing ed | 14 hours each renewal | 14 hours each renewal |
| Minimum age | Not stated | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Alabama electrician license, step by step
- Document your experienceBefore you apply
Gather proof of 8,000 hours of electrical experience. Education or apprenticeship can cover up to 2,000 hours if you include a diploma, certificate or transcript. - Apply for exam approvalBefore you test
Send the AECB a signed, notarized application for approval to sit for the exam. Call 334-420-7232 or visit aecb.alabama.gov to start. - Choose ProV or NASCLABefore you schedule
Pick the ProV Journeyman or Contractor exam, or the NASCLA exam if you want a license in several states. NASCLA contractor candidates also take Alabama Business & Law. - Schedule and pass your examExam day
You need pre-approval from the testing agency before you can book. Test centers are in larger cities around the state, and the exams are open book. - Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
Once you pass, apply through the AECB for your journeyman or electrical contractor license. - Keep it currentEach renewal
Complete 14 hours of continuing education for every renewal.
Exam
What to expect on the Alabama electrician exam
You take either the journeyman or contractor level exam, through ProV or NASCLA. All the exams are open book, and they test on the 2023 NEC until January 1, 2027, when the Board switches to the 2026 NEC.
Format
Open book
Questions
80 (JRY) / 90 (EC)
Passing score
Not stated
Exam vendor
ProV
Scoring & content
- ProV Journeyman: 80 questions, 4 hours
- ProV Electrical Contractor: 90 questions, covering business and trade topics
- NASCLA Journeyman: 110 questions, 5 hours, 75% to pass
- NASCLA Electrical Contractor: 4.5 hours, plus a 40-question, 2-hour Business & Law exam
- References can be tabbed and highlighted; see the ProV candidate bulletin
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- Check the ProV candidate bulletin before you book
- Testing agency pre-approval is required before scheduling
- Exams move to the 2026 NEC on January 1, 2027
Exam references · Open book
The Alabama journeyman and electrical contractor exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references and use them during the test. The list covers the Prov Journeyman and Electrical Contractor exams and the Electrical Contractor Business and Law exam taken by NASCLA-route contractors.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Journeyman and Contractor exams | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| American Electricians’ Handbook — Journeyman and Contractor exams | 17th edition | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management — Contractor and Business and Law exams | Basic Edition | Allowed in exam |
| Alabama Electrical Contractors Supplement to the Contractor’s Guide — Contractor and Business and Law exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
Electrical exams test on the 2023 NEC now, and the board switches to the 2026 NEC on January 1, 2027.
Prep
Best Alabama electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does an Alabama electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Exam application fee (paid to the AECB) | Fixed | $115 journeyman; $165 contractor |
| Initial license fee | Fixed | $35 journeyman; $150 contractor |
| Business & Law exam (NASCLA contractor path) | Fixed | Not stated |
| Code books and references | Variable | Varies |
| Notarizing your application | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Exam and license fees; excludes NASCLA exam costs and books | $150–$315 |
Fees from the Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors How to Get Licensed page and Administrative Code Rule 303-X-3-.10, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Alabama accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Alabama has reciprocity agreements with 6 states. Our sources don’t spell out the terms, so contact the AECB before you apply.
Louisiana — reciprocity agreement
Terms aren’t stated in our sources. Contact the AECB to confirm what’s waived.
Mississippi — reciprocity agreement
Terms aren’t stated in our sources. Contact the AECB to confirm what’s waived.
North Carolina — reciprocity agreement
Terms aren’t stated in our sources. Contact the AECB to confirm what’s waived.
South Carolina — reciprocity agreement
Terms aren’t stated in our sources. Contact the AECB to confirm what’s waived.
Tennessee — reciprocity agreement
Terms aren’t stated in our sources. Contact the AECB to confirm what’s waived.
Virginia — reciprocity agreement
Terms aren’t stated in our sources. Contact the AECB to confirm what’s waived.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant. The NASCLA exam can help if you need licenses in several states.
Local
Do Alabama cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Your AECB license is a state license. Local governments still handle permits and inspections on each job.
State handles
- Journeyman and electrical contractor licenses
- Exam approval, with exams through ProV or NASCLA
- Continuing education for renewal
- Reciprocity agreements
City & county handle
- Electrical and building permits
- Inspections
- Local business licenses
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Alabama
Oversight responsibilities
- Approves applicants to sit for electrical exams
- Issues journeyman electrician and electrical contractor licenses
- Sets continuing education for renewal
- Manages reciprocity agreements with other states
Maintenance
How to renew your Alabama electrician license and keep it active
You need 14 hours of continuing education for each renewal. The renewal fee is $150 for an electrical contractor and $35 for a journeyman electrician.
Renewal cycle
Not stated
CE hours
14
Renewal fee
$150 contractor; $35 journeyman
Late penalty
Not stated
Renewing your license?
See the Alabama CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Alabama electrician license FAQs
How many hours do I need for an Alabama journeyman electrician license?
8,000 hours of electrical experience. Approved education or apprenticeship can count for up to 2,000 of those hours, at 1,000 hours per year.
What’s the difference between a journeyman and an electrical contractor in Alabama?
A journeyman installs electrical work under a master or state-certified electrical contractor. An electrical contractor runs the business of soliciting and doing electrical work, and must show 8,000 hours of design, layout and supervision experience.
Is the Alabama electrical exam open book?
Yes. All Alabama electrical exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references listed in the ProV candidate bulletin.
Can I take the NASCLA exam instead of the ProV exam?
Yes. Alabama accepts either. If you take the NASCLA electrical contractor exam, you must also pass the Alabama Business & Law exam.
Which NEC edition is the Alabama exam based on?
The 2023 NEC. Starting January 1, 2027, the Board will test on the 2026 NEC.
Does Alabama have electrical license reciprocity?
Yes, with Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee and Virginia. Contact the AECB for the terms.
How much continuing education do Alabama electricians need?
14 hours for each renewal.
Sources
Official sources for the Alabama electrician license
- Alabama Electrical Contractors Board
- ProV, AECB Candidate Information Bulletin (Sept 15, 2026)
- NASCLA, Accredited Examination Program for electrical exams
- Alabama Board of Electrical Contractors, How to Get Licensed
- Alabama Administrative Code Chapter 303-X-3, fees and charges
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Alabama Electrical Contractors Board.
