Construction / General Contractor License / Alabama
- Alabama
- General Contractor
- Building & Under Four Stories
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Alabama General Contractor License
Everything you need to qualify, pass both exams and apply with the Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, covering the full building license and the Building Contractor Under Four Stories license.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors requirements
Application fee
$300
Prime contractor; $150 for a subcontractor. Plus $96–$106 per PSI exam
Exam time
7.5 hrs
NASCLA + Business & Law (about 5.8 hrs for Under Four Stories)
Time to get license
Varies
The Board reviews your education and work records
Continuing ed
Not required
No CE needed to renew
Overview
Do you need an Alabama general contractor license?
In Alabama, you need a general contractor license when you’re paid to build, supervise or work on a construction project that costs $50,000 or more. That covers buildings, highways, sewers, site work, grading, paving and other improvements.
License required when
- The project costs $50,000 or more
- You’re paid to build, supervise or work on the project
- The work involves buildings, structures, highways, sewers, site work, grading, paving or other improvements
- You want to bid on work within a Board-approved classification and bid limit
Common exceptions
- Projects that cost less than $50,000 fall below the general contractor threshold
- Our sources don’t list other exemptions, so ask the Board before you bid on a job near the threshold
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific penalties. In general, the Board can act against anyone who contracts in Alabama without the license their work requires, so get licensed before you bid on a $50,000+ job.
Your fast-track Alabama general contractor license checklist
The Alabama application, one page
- Business registered with the Alabama Secretary of State
- A designated Qualifying Party
- Proof of general liability insurance
- A current financial statement
- Education and work records
- Passing scores on your trade exam and Business & Law
Types
Alabama general contractor license types and classifications
Your license is issued for an approved classification and bid limit. The Board sets both based on the education, work records and financials in your application.
BLDG
Most common
General Contractor, Building
Commercial building construction of any height, plus other building work within your approved classification.
Exam
NASCLA + B&L
Limit
Set by the Board
U4S
Up to 3 stories
Building Contractor Under Four Stories
Buildings up to 3 stories with roofs no higher than 50 feet, including excavation and foundations. Interior nonstructural work on taller buildings is allowed, and taller new work only under a licensed general contractor or construction manager.
Exam
U4S trade + B&L
Limit
Set by the Board
Requirements
Alabama general contractor license requirements, class by class
The business and legal requirements are the same for both licenses. What changes is the trade exam you take.
| Requirement | General Contractor, Building | Under Four Stories |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | Education and work records reviewed | Education and work records reviewed |
| Qualifying party | Required | Required |
| Business registration | Alabama Secretary of State | Alabama Secretary of State |
| General liability | Proof required | Proof required |
| Financial statement | Current statement | Current statement |
| Trade exam | NASCLA, 115 questions, 70% | U4S, 90 questions, 70% |
| Business & Law exam | 50 questions, 70% | 50 questions, 70% |
| Minimum age | Not stated | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Alabama general contractor license, step by step
- Choose your licenseBefore you start
Pick the full building license or Building Contractor Under Four Stories, based on the height and size of the projects you plan to take on. - Register your businessBefore you apply
Register with the Alabama Secretary of State and name a Qualifying Party for your company. - Get exam pre-approvalBefore you book
PSI requires pre-approval before you can schedule. Call PSI at (833) 333-4751 to start. - Pass your exams with PSIExam day
Take your trade exam and the Alabama Business & Law exam at a PSI test center. Both are open book, and you need 70% to pass. - Gather insurance and financialsBefore you apply
Get proof of general liability insurance and a current financial statement, plus your education and work records. - Apply with the BoardSubmit your application
Send your completed application to the Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors. Call 334-272-5030 with questions.
Exam
What to expect on the Alabama general contractor exam
Everyone takes two exams: the Alabama Business & Law exam and a trade exam. Full building applicants take the NASCLA Commercial General Building Contractor exam, and Under Four Stories applicants take their own trade exam. All are open book.
Format
Open book
Questions
115 + 50
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- NASCLA Commercial General Building: 115 questions, 330 minutes, 81 correct to pass
- Under Four Stories trade exam: 90 questions, 230 minutes, 70% to pass
- Business & Law: 50 questions, 120 minutes, 70% to pass
- Approved references can be tabbed and highlighted; see the PSI candidate bulletin
- Business & Law covers licensing, bidding, liens, payroll and taxes, contracts and risk management
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- Check the PSI candidate bulletin before you book a retake
- Pre-approval is required before scheduling
- Schedule online with PSI or call (833) 333-4751
Exam references · Open book
The Alabama general contractor exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references and use them during the test. The list covers the Building Contractor Under Four Stories trade exam, the NASCLA Commercial General Building Contractor exam and the Alabama Business and Law exam.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| International Building Code (IBC) — Under Four Stories exam | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| International Building Code (IBC) — NASCLA Commercial exam | 2024 | Allowed in exam |
| International Residential Code (IRC) — Under Four Stories exam | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| International Energy Conservation Code (IECC) — Under Four Stories exam | 2018 | Allowed in exam |
| ACI 318-19: Building Code Requirements for Structural Concrete and Commentary — both trade exams | 2019 (2022 printing) | Allowed in exam |
| ACI 530.1-13: Building Code Requirements and Specification for Masonry Structures — Under Four Stories exam | 2013 | Allowed in exam |
| Building Component Safety Information (BCSI) — both trade exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Carpentry and Building Construction — both trade exams | 2016 | Allowed in exam |
| Contractor’s Guide to Quality Concrete Construction — both trade exams | 4th edition | Allowed in exam |
| The Gypsum Construction Handbook — both trade exams | 7th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Modern Masonry — both trade exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| OSHA 29 CFR 1926 Construction Regulations — both trade exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Pipe and Excavation Contracting — both trade exams | Revised edition | Allowed in exam |
| SDI Manual of Construction with Steel Deck — both trade exams | 3rd edition | Allowed in exam |
| SJI Technical Digest No. 9: Handling and Erection of Steel Joists and Joist Girders — both trade exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Mechanical and Electrical Systems for Construction Managers — NASCLA Commercial exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| ICC A117.1: Standard for Accessible and Usable Buildings and Facilities — NASCLA Commercial exam | 2017 | Allowed in exam |
| Construction Jobsite Management — NASCLA Commercial exam | 5th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Construction Project Management — NASCLA Commercial exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management — NASCLA Commercial exam | Basic Edition | Allowed in exam |
| Erector’s Manual: Standards and Guidelines for the Erection of Precast Concrete Products — NASCLA Commercial exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Green Building Fundamentals — NASCLA Commercial exam | 2nd edition | Allowed in exam |
| Training and Certification of Field Personnel for Unbonded Post-Tensioning — NASCLA Commercial exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Principles and Practices of Commercial Construction — NASCLA Commercial exam | 11th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Roofing Construction & Estimating — NASCLA Commercial exam | Revised edition | Allowed in exam |
| Placing Reinforcing Bars — NASCLA Commercial exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Developing Your Stormwater Pollution Prevention Plan (EPA) — NASCLA Commercial exam (print) | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| ANSI/EIMA 99-A: Standard for Exterior Insulation and Finish Systems (EIFS) and EIFS with Drainage — NASCLA Commercial exam | 2017 | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Alabama General Contractors Edition — Business and Law exam | 3rd edition | Allowed in exam |
The EPA stormwater guide is a free download that candidates print and bring in.
Prep
Best Alabama general contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does an Alabama general contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $300 prime; $150 subcontractor |
| Trade exam (NASCLA or Under Four Stories) | Fixed | $106 NASCLA commercial; $96 Under Four Stories |
| Business & Law exam | Fixed | $96 |
| Current financial statement | Variable | Varies |
| General liability insurance | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Prime application plus both PSI exams; excludes insurance and financial statement costs | $492–$502 |
Fees from the Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors application instructions and the PSI Alabama candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Alabama accept out-of-state general contractor licenses?
Alabama has reciprocity agreements with 4 states. Our sources don’t spell out what each one waives, so contact the Board before you apply.
Arkansas — reciprocity agreement
Details of what’s waived aren’t stated. Ask the Board how to apply using your Arkansas license.
Louisiana — reciprocity agreement
Details of what’s waived aren’t stated. Ask the Board how to apply using your Louisiana license.
Mississippi — reciprocity agreement
Details of what’s waived aren’t stated. Ask the Board how to apply using your Mississippi license.
Tennessee — reciprocity agreement
Details of what’s waived aren’t stated. Ask the Board how to apply using your Tennessee license.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant and take both the trade exam and Business & Law.
Local
Do Alabama cities and counties have their own general contractor licensing rules?
Your general contractor license comes from the state, but cities and counties still run their own permitting.
State handles
- General contractor licenses, classifications and bid limits
- Exam pre-approval for PSI testing
- Reciprocity with Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee
- License renewals
City & county handle
- Building permits and inspections
- Local business licenses, which vary by city
- Local permit and registration rules
Governance
Who regulates general contractors in Alabama
Licensing authority
Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors
334-272-5030
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues and renews general contractor licenses
- Sets each licensee’s classification and bid limit
- Reviews education, work records and financials
- Requires business, insurance and exam proof before licensing
Maintenance
How to renew your Alabama general contractor license and keep it active
Alabama doesn’t require continuing education to renew a general contractor license. Renewal is $200 a year for a prime license and $100 for a subcontractor license, sent with your renewal form and financial information.
Renewal cycle
Annual
CE hours
Not required
Renewal fee
$200 prime; $100 subcontractor
Late penalty
Not stated
FAQ
Alabama general contractor license FAQs
When do I need a general contractor license in Alabama?
When you’re paid to build, supervise or work on a project that costs $50,000 or more. That includes buildings, highways, sewers, site work, grading and paving.
Which exams do I take?
Two: the Alabama Business & Law exam plus a trade exam. That’s the NASCLA Commercial General Building Contractor exam for the full building license, or the Under Four Stories trade exam.
Is the Alabama contractor exam open book?
Yes. All the exams are open book, and approved references can be tabbed and highlighted. You need 70% to pass.
What’s the difference between the building license and Under Four Stories?
The Under Four Stories license covers buildings up to 3 stories with roofs no higher than 50 feet. Taller new construction is only allowed under a licensed general contractor or construction manager.
Is continuing education required?
No. Alabama doesn’t require continuing education to renew a general contractor license.
Does Alabama have reciprocity?
Yes, with Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee. Contact the Board to find out what your out-of-state license lets you skip.
Who schedules the exam?
PSI. You need pre-approval first, then you can book online or call (833) 333-4751.
Sources
Official sources for the Alabama general contractor license
- Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors
- PSI, Alabama Candidate Information Bulletin
- PSI, Exam scheduling
- NASCLA Commercial General Building Contractor exam
- Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, prime contractor application instructions (PDF)
- Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, subcontractor application instructions (PDF)
- Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, 2026 prime renewal form (PDF)
- Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors, 2026 subcontractor renewal form (PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Alabama Licensing Board for General Contractors.
