Construction / Electrician License / Colorado

  • Colorado
  • Electrician License
  • Journeyman, Master & Residential
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Colorado Electrician License

The hours, schooling and exams you need for a Colorado journeyman, master or residential electrician license, plus how renewal and reciprocity work.

Last updated October 27, 2026 from Colorado State Electrical Board requirements

Application fee

Not stated

Plus $78 PSI exam fee; confirm the state fee with the State Electrical Board

Exam time

4 hrs

Journeyman exam, 240 minutes

Time to get license

~4 yrs

Journeyman; residential takes at least 2 years

Continuing ed

24 hrs

Every renewal

Overview

Do you need a Colorado electrician license?

Yes. Colorado’s State Electrical Board licenses electricians who wire for, install and repair electrical apparatus and equipment for light, heat and power. Your license level decides what you can do, and only a master can plan, lay out and supervise installations.

License required when

  • You wire for, install or repair electrical apparatus and equipment for light, heat or power (journeyman)
  • You plan, lay out or supervise electrical installations (master)
  • You wire one- to four-family homes (residential or higher)

Common exceptions

  • Residential electricians are limited to one-, two-, three- and four-family dwellings
  • Apprentices build hours toward a license; those registered on or after 1/1/2011 also need 288 classroom hours

Penalties for unlicensed work

Our sources don’t list specific fines. The State Electrical Board licenses electricians and can deny, discipline or act against anyone doing electrical work without the right license.

Your fast-track Colorado electrician license checklist

The Colorado application, one page

  • License level chosen: journeyman, master or residential
  • Documented hours over the minimum time span
  • Classroom transcript, if you apprenticed on or after 1/1/2011
  • Pre-approval from PSI
  • Passing exam score
  • License application through DORA

Types

Colorado electrician license types and classifications

Colorado has three main electrician licenses. Each one needs documented hours and a passing exam score, with pre-approval before you test.

JRY

Most common

Journeyman Electrician

Wire for, install and repair electrical apparatus and equipment for light, heat, power and other purposes.

Exam

Journeyman, 90 questions

Limit

All occupancies

MST

Can supervise

Master Electrician

Everything a journeyman can do, plus plan, lay out and supervise electrical installations and repairs.

Exam

Master Electrical exam

Limit

All occupancies

RES

Homes only

Residential Electrician

Wire for and install electrical apparatus and equipment in one-, two-, three- and four-family dwellings.

Exam

Residential Electrician exam

Limit

1–4 family dwellings

Requirements

Colorado electrician license requirements, class by class

Hours have to be earned over a minimum time span, so you can’t compress the experience into fewer years.

RequirementJourneymanMasterResidential
Experience8,000 hrs over at least 4 yrsJourneyman requirements plus 2,000 hrs over at least 1 yr4,000 hrs over at least 2 yrs
Type of workAt least 4,000 hrs commercial/industrialIncludes planning and layout, and supervision while holding a journeyman licenseResidential only
Education288 classroom hrs if registered as an apprentice on or after 1/1/2011EE degree plus 2,000 hrs, or trade school / community college plus 8,000 hrsNot stated
ProofTranscript or similar statementNot statedNot stated
ExamJourneyman, 90 questions, 70%Master Electrical examResidential Electrician exam
Pre-approval to testRequiredRequiredNot stated

Steps

How to get your Colorado electrician license, step by step

  1. Pick your licenseBefore you start
    Choose journeyman, master or residential based on the work you do and the hours you can document.
  2. Build and document your hoursBefore you apply
    Track your hours and keep transcripts for classroom education. Master supervision hours don’t count toward your total hours.
  3. Get pre-approvedBefore the exam
    Pre-approval from the testing agency is required before you schedule. Call PSI at 855-898-0710 to start.
  4. Schedule with PSIAfter approval
    Book online at candidate.psiexams.com. Test centers are in larger cities across the state.
  5. Pass the open-book examExam day
    PSI provides the code book at the test. The exams are based on the 2026 NEC.
  6. Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
    Apply through the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) for your Colorado electrical license.

Exam

What to expect on the Colorado electrician exam

All Colorado electrical exams are open book and based on the 2026 NEC. PSI hands you the code book at the test center, so get comfortable finding things in it before exam day.

Format

Open book, code book provided

Questions

90 (journeyman)

Passing score

70%

Exam vendor

PSI

Scoring & content

  • Journeyman: 90 questions, 240 minutes, 70% to pass
  • Master and residential: question counts and time not stated
  • Topics include services, feeders and branch circuits, grounding and bonding, overcurrent protection, raceways and boxes, and calculations
  • Journeyman topics also cover special occupancies, motors, transformers and photovoltaics
  • Based on the 2026 NEC (NFPA 70)

Retake policy

  • Retesting costs $73 through PSI; failed candidates can call PSI to reschedule
  • Schedule and reschedule through PSI at 855-898-0710
  • Pre-approval is required before you can book

Exam references · Open book

The Colorado Journeyman, Master and Residential electrical exams are open book and based on the 2026 NEC. The testing agency provides a copy of the code book at the exam, so your own copy is for studying and getting to know where everything is.

BookEditionUse
NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC)2026Allowed in exam

Prep

Best Colorado electrician exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does a Colorado electrician license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
Application feeFixedNot stated
PSI exam feeFixed$78
PSI retest fee (if needed)Fixed$73
2026 NEC for studyVariableVaries
Classroom education (288 hrs for apprentices since 2011)VariableVaries
State fees and examsPSI exam fee only; the state application and license fee isn’t published in our sources$78

Exam fees from the PSI Colorado candidate information bulletin, checked October 2026; confirm the state application fee with the State Electrical Board.

Reciprocity

Does Colorado accept out-of-state electrician licenses?

Colorado has reciprocity agreements with 15 states. Check with the State Electrical Board which license levels each one covers before you apply.

Alaska — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Arkansas — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Idaho — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Iowa — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Maine — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Minnesota — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Montana — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Nebraska — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

New Hampshire — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

New Mexico — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

North Dakota — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Oklahoma — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

South Dakota — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Utah — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

Wyoming — reciprocity agreement

Colorado lists a reciprocity agreement with this state. Confirm with the State Electrical Board which license levels it covers.

All other states — no agreement

Apply as a new applicant with documented hours and pass the Colorado exam.

Local

Do Colorado cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?

Your electrical license is issued by the state and covers all of Colorado. Permits are handled where you work.

State handles

  • Journeyman, master and residential licenses
  • Exams, through PSI
  • License applications through DORA
  • Continuing education and renewals

City & county handle

  • Electrical permits
  • Inspections
  • Local business licenses

Governance

Who regulates electricians in Colorado

Licensing authority

Colorado State Electrical Board (Department of Regulatory Agencies)

303-894-2300

dpo.colorado.gov/Electrical

Oversight responsibilities

  • Issues journeyman, master and residential electrician licenses
  • Sets experience and education requirements
  • Requires 24 hours of continuing education for renewal
  • Manages reciprocity agreements with other states

Maintenance

How to renew your Colorado electrician license and keep it active

You need 24 hours of continuing education for each renewal. Our sources don’t list the renewal cycle or fees, so check with the State Electrical Board.

Renewal cycle

Not stated

CE hours

24

Renewal fee

Not stated

Late penalty

Not stated

Renewing your license?

See the Colorado CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.

FAQ

Colorado electrician license FAQs

How many hours do I need to be a journeyman electrician in Colorado?

8,000 hours earned over at least 4 years, with at least 4,000 in commercial or industrial work. Apprentices registered on or after 1/1/2011 also need 288 classroom hours.

Is the Colorado electrical exam open book?

Yes. The exams are open book and based on the 2026 NEC, and PSI provides the code book at the test center.

What score do I need to pass the Colorado journeyman exam?

70%. The exam has 90 questions and you get 240 minutes.

How do I become a master electrician in Colorado?

Meet the journeyman requirements plus 2,000 more hours over at least a year, including planning, layout and supervision as a licensed journeyman. Electrical engineering graduates need 2,000 hours of construction experience.

What can a Colorado residential electrician do?

Wire for and install electrical apparatus and equipment in one-, two-, three- and four-family dwellings. You need 4,000 hours of residential experience over at least 2 years.

Does Colorado have electrician reciprocity?

Yes, with 15 states including Arkansas, Minnesota, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming.

How much continuing education do Colorado electricians need?

24 hours for each renewal.

Sources

Official sources for the Colorado electrician license

  1. Colorado Division of Professions and Occupations, State Electrical Board
  2. PSI, Colorado electrical exam scheduling
  3. NFPA 70, National Electrical Code (2026)
  4. PSI, Colorado State Electrical Board candidate information bulletin

Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Colorado State Electrical Board.