Construction / Electrician License / Wisconsin
- Wisconsin
- Electrician License
- Journeyman, Master & Contractor
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Wisconsin Electrician License
How to qualify for a Wisconsin journeyman or master electrician license, pass the exam and set up an electrical contractor license, based on the Department of Safety and Professional Services’ requirements.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services requirements
Application fee
$35
Plus $30 DSPS exam fee; $95 to test at Pearson VUE
Exam time
4 hrs
Journeyman exam
Time to get license
~4 yrs
8,000 hours over 48 months, or an approved apprenticeship
Continuing ed
24 hrs
Before each renewal
Overview
Do you need a Wisconsin electrician license?
Yes. Wisconsin requires electricians to be licensed before any bidding or work takes place. Individuals hold a journeyman or master license, and any business that offers electrical work needs an Electrical Contractor license.
License required when
- You perform electrical wiring work as an individual (journeyman or master)
- You engage in, or offer to engage in, the business of installing, repairing or maintaining electrical wiring (Electrical Contractor license)
- You bid for or contract electrical work in Wisconsin
Common exceptions
- Journeymen work under the general supervision of a Licensed Master Electrician or Registered Master Electrician
- Time in a federal or state-approved electrical apprenticeship counts toward journeyman eligibility
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our source notes don’t list penalty amounts. DSPS regulates electrical credentials in Wisconsin and can take action against people or businesses doing electrical work without the required license.
Your fast-track Wisconsin electrician license checklist
The Wisconsin application, one page
- Approved apprenticeship or 8,000 documented hours
- Master: 12 months as a licensed journeyman and 10,000 hours
- Exam pre-approval from DSPS
- Passing exam score
- License application to DSPS
- Contractors: workers’ comp and unemployment proof
Types
Wisconsin electrician license types and classifications
Journeyman and master licenses cover the individual doing the work. The Electrical Contractor license covers the business that bids and contracts the work.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Performs electrical wiring under the general supervision of a licensed or registered master electrician.
Exam
Two-part journeyman exam
Limit
Not stated
MST
Supervisory
Master Electrician
The top individual license. Requires journeyman experience and the master exam.
Exam
Master exam, 50 questions
Limit
Not stated
EC
Business license
Electrical Contractor
Lets a business bid, contract and offer electrical work, using properly licensed or registered people to do it.
Exam
No exam
Limit
Not stated
Requirements
Wisconsin electrician license requirements, class by class
Experience and education requirements step up from journeyman to master. Contractor requirements focus on ownership and state insurance programs.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master | Electrical Contractor |
|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 8,000 hours over 48 months, 1,000 a year for the last 5 years, or an approved apprenticeship | 10,000 hours over 60 months, or 1,000 a year for the last 7 years | Not stated |
| Prior license | None | At least 12 months as a licensed journeyman | Not stated |
| Education credit | Up to 2,000 hours (500 per full-time semester) | Up to 3,000 hours; an electrical engineering degree is listed as a route | Not stated |
| Exam | Two-part journeyman exam, pre-approval required | Master exam, pre-approval required | None |
| Who applies | The individual | The individual | Owner, partner, or board chair or CEO of the business |
| Insurance | Not stated | Not stated | Proof of workers’ comp and unemployment compliance or exemption |
Steps
How to get your Wisconsin electrician license, step by step
- Build your experienceBefore you apply
Complete an approved apprenticeship or log 8,000 hours over 48 months (10,000 over 60 months for master). School can count for part of it. - Get pre-approved to testBefore the exam
Apply to sit for the exam through DSPS. You’ll get an exam confirmation letter in the mail once you’re approved. - Pass the state examExam day
The journeyman exam is 100 questions in 4 hours, open book, and 70% passes. Test centers are in larger cities around the state. - Apply for your license$35 application fee
Once you’ve passed, apply through DSPS for your journeyman or master license. The license fee is $100 for journeyman and $200 for master. - Contractors: license the businessIf you contract
The owner, partner or CEO applies for the Electrical Contractor license with proof of workers’ comp and unemployment compliance or exemption.
Exam
What to expect on the Wisconsin electrician exam
Journeyman and master applicants each take their own exam after pre-approval. Both are open book, and since October 1, 2026 the exams are based on the 2023 NEC.
Format
Open book
Questions
100 (journeyman), 50 (master)
Passing score
70% (journeyman)
Exam vendor
Pearson VUE (computer) or DSPS (paper)
Scoring & content
- Journeyman: two-part exam, 100 questions, 4 hours, 70% to pass
- Master: 50 questions
- Topics: Wis. Admin. Code SPS 305 and SPS 316, and the 2023 NEC
- References can be tabbed and highlighted; DSPS lists the permitted references
Retake policy
- Retake waiting period: Not stated
- Retake fee: Not stated
- Check with DSPS for current retake rules
Exam references · Open book
The Wisconsin Journeyman and Master Electrician exams are open book, and the permitted references can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test. DSPS lists the permitted references on each exam’s page.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Key Word Index (NEC) | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 305 | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Wisconsin Administrative Code SPS 316 | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
Beginning October 1, 2026, Wisconsin electrical exams are based on the 2023 NEC.
Prep
Best Wisconsin electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Wisconsin electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| License application fee | Fixed | $35 |
| Exam fee (DSPS) | Fixed | $30 |
| Pearson VUE computer-based exam fee | Fixed | $95 |
| Initial license fee | Fixed | $100 journeyman; $200 master or Electrical Contractor |
| Code books for the open-book exam | Variable | Varies |
| Workers’ comp and unemployment coverage (contractors) | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Application, DSPS exam and license fees, journeyman ($165) to master ($265); excludes the $95 Pearson VUE fee, code books and insurance | $165–$265 |
Fees from Wis. Admin. Code SPS 305.02 and the DSPS credential fee and trades exam fee pages, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Wisconsin accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Wisconsin has no reciprocity agreements for electrician licenses.
No reciprocity agreements
Out-of-state electricians apply as new applicants, meet Wisconsin’s experience rules and pass the Wisconsin exam.
Local
Do Wisconsin cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Electrician and contractor licenses come from the state through DSPS.
State handles
- Journeyman, master and Electrical Contractor licenses
- Exam pre-approval
- Continuing education and renewals
City & county handle
- Local business licenses
- Any local permit and inspection rules (check with your city)
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Wisconsin
Licensing authority
Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services (DSPS)
608-266-2112
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues journeyman, master and Electrical Contractor licenses
- Pre-approves applicants to sit for the exams
- Lists permitted exam references
- Sets continuing education for renewal
Maintenance
How to renew your Wisconsin electrician license and keep it active
Journeyman and master licenses run 4 years and expire June 30. You need 24 hours of continuing education before each renewal, and the renewal fee matches the initial license fee.
Renewal cycle
4 years (June 30)
CE hours
24
Renewal fee
$100 journeyman; $200 master
Late penalty
Not stated
Renewing your license?
See the Wisconsin CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Wisconsin electrician license FAQs
How many hours do I need to become a journeyman electrician in Wisconsin?
8,000 hours over 48 months, or 1,000 hours a year for the last 5 years. Completing an approved apprenticeship also qualifies, and up to 2,000 hours of education can count.
Is the Wisconsin journeyman exam open book?
Yes. It’s 100 questions in 4 hours, and you need 70% to pass. Permitted references can be tabbed and highlighted.
Which NEC is the Wisconsin exam based on?
Since October 1, 2026, Wisconsin electrical exams are based on the 2023 NEC.
How do I become a master electrician in Wisconsin?
Hold a journeyman license for at least 12 months, log 10,000 hours over 60 months (or 1,000 a year for the last 7 years), and pass the master exam.
Do I need a contractor license to do electrical work for customers?
Yes. Anyone in the business of installing, repairing or maintaining electrical wiring needs an Electrical Contractor license, applied for by the owner, a partner or the CEO.
Does Wisconsin have electrician reciprocity?
No. Wisconsin has no reciprocity agreements for this license, so you apply as a new applicant.
How much continuing education do Wisconsin electricians need?
24 hours before each renewal.
Sources
Official sources for the Wisconsin electrician license
- Wisconsin DSPS, Professions
- Wisconsin DSPS, Journeyman Electrician
- Wisconsin DSPS, Master Electrician
- Wis. Admin. Code SPS 305
- Wis. Admin. Code SPS 316
- Wis. Admin. Code SPS 305.02, Table 305.02 fees
- Wisconsin DSPS, Credential Fees and Renewal Dates
- Wisconsin DSPS, Trades Exam Information and Fee Schedule
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services.
