Construction / Electrician License / Wyoming
- Wyoming
- Electrician License
- Journeyman & Master
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Wyoming Electrician License
How to qualify, apply and pass the exam for a Wyoming journeyman or master electrician license, based on the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety’s requirements.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety requirements
Application fee
$100–$200
License fee after you pass: journeyman $100, master $200; plus $115 ICC exam
Exam time
4 hrs
Journeyman; master is 5 hrs
Time to get license
~4 yrs
8,000 hours plus 576 classroom hours
Continuing ed
16 hrs
Each renewal
Overview
Do you need a Wyoming electrician license?
Yes. Wyoming licenses electricians and electrical contracting businesses separately. Your license type sets the work you can do and whether you can contract for electrical services.
License required when
- You install electrical wiring, apparatus or equipment (journeyman or higher)
- You bid, plan or lay out electrical work for customers (electrical contractor license)
- You supervise as a master electrician
Common exceptions
- Journeymen must be employed by a contractor holding a current Wyoming electrical contractor’s license
- A current license from another state with equal or tougher work history requirements may be accepted toward eligibility
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our source notes don’t list penalty amounts. The Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety licenses electricians and contractors and can take action against anyone doing electrical work without the required license.
Your fast-track Wyoming electrician license checklist
The Wyoming application, one page
- 8,000 hours of experience (16,000 for master)
- 576 hours of classroom instruction
- Work mix: no more than 75% in one category
- Pre-approval from the state
- Passing ICC exam score
- License application to the state
Types
Wyoming electrician license types and classifications
Individuals hold a journeyman or master license. The business that bids and contracts the work holds an electrical contractor license.
385
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Installs electrical wiring, apparatus and equipment while employed by a licensed Wyoming electrical contractor.
Exam
ICC 385, 80 questions
Limit
Not stated
701
4 yrs as journeyman
Master Electrician
The top individual license, for electricians with 8 years in the trade, including 4 as a licensed journeyman.
Exam
ICC 701, 100 questions
Limit
Not stated
EC
Business license
Electrical Contractor
Licensed to bid, plan, lay out and install electrical work.
Exam
Not stated
Limit
Not stated
Requirements
Wyoming electrician license requirements, class by class
Both levels need classroom instruction and documented experience across work categories. Master applicants need twice the experience.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | 4 years (8,000 hours) in electrical wiring | 8 years (16,000 hours) in electrical wiring |
| Licensed journeyman time | None | 4 years (8,000 hours) |
| Classroom instruction | 576 hours (144 a year) from an approved apprenticeship program | 576 hours |
| Work mix | Commercial, industrial and residential, no more than 75% in one | Not stated |
| Education credit | Up to 2 years (4,000 hours) for accredited coursework beyond 576 hours | Not stated |
| Exam | ICC 385: 80 questions, 56 correct to pass, 4 hours | ICC 701: 100 questions, 70 correct to pass, 5 hours |
Steps
How to get your Wyoming electrician license, step by step
- Build your experienceBefore you apply
Log 8,000 hours (16,000 for master) across commercial, industrial and residential work, with no more than 75% in any one category. - Complete classroom instructionBefore you apply
Finish 576 hours of electrical classroom instruction, usually 144 hours a year through an approved apprenticeship program. - Get pre-approvedBefore the exam
Contact the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety at 307-777-7288 to get approved to test. - Pass your ICC examExam day
Schedule with ICC through Pearson VUE at 877-234-6082. Both exams are open book. - Apply for your license$100 or $200
Once you’ve passed, upload your pass letter to your state eLicense portal account and pay the initial license fee: $100 for journeyman, $200 for master.
Exam
What to expect on the Wyoming electrician exam
Journeyman and master applicants take separate ICC exams, scheduled through Pearson VUE after pre-approval. Both are open book and test your knowledge of electrical codes and how to apply them.
Format
Open book
Questions
80 / 100
Passing score
56 / 70 correct
Exam vendor
ICC via Pearson VUE
Scoring & content
- Journeyman (385): 80 questions, 56 correct to pass, 4 hours
- Master (701): 100 questions, 70 correct to pass, 5 hours
- Topics: plan reading, services, feeders, branch circuits, wiring methods, equipment, control devices, motors and special occupancies
- ICC’s Wyoming bulletin lists the permitted references
Retake policy
- Retake waiting period: Not stated
- Each attempt is $115 through Pearson VUE
- Check the ICC bulletin or call Pearson VUE for current rules
Exam references · Open book
The Wyoming Journeyman and Master Electrician exams are open book, and the ICC Wyoming bulletin lists the references permitted during testing. The same books cover both the Journeyman and Master exams.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Key Word Index | 2023 | Not stated |
The Key Word Index is offered as a study aid alongside the permitted references; confirm in the ICC bulletin whether it can go into the exam room.
Prep
Best Wyoming electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Wyoming electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Initial license fee (journeyman / master) | Fixed | $100 / $200 |
| ICC exam fee (Pearson VUE) | Fixed | $115 |
| Classroom instruction (576 hours) | Variable | Varies |
| Code books for the open-book exam | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes classroom instruction and code books; card payments add a 2.5% processing fee | $215 journeyman / $315 master |
Fees from the Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety licensing page and the ICC Wyoming electrical candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Wyoming accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Wyoming has reciprocity agreements for journeyman electricians with 16 states, and for master electricians with 3.
Journeyman — reciprocity with 16 states
Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Maine, Minnesota, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Texas and Utah. What’s waived isn’t in our source notes, so confirm with the state.
Master — reciprocity with 3 states
Idaho, South Dakota and Utah. Confirm the terms with the Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant. A license from a state with equal or tougher work history rules may still count toward eligibility.
Local
Do Wyoming cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Electrician and contractor licenses come from the state.
State handles
- Journeyman, master and electrical contractor licenses
- Exam pre-approval
- Continuing education and renewals
City & county handle
- Local business licenses
- Any local permit and inspection rules (check with your city)
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Wyoming
Licensing authority
Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety
307-777-7288
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues journeyman, master and electrical contractor licenses
- Pre-approves applicants for ICC exams
- Reviews out-of-state licenses for reciprocity
- Sets continuing education for renewal
Maintenance
How to renew your Wyoming electrician license and keep it active
Licenses are valid for 3 years. You need 16 hours of continuing education for each renewal, 8 of them code-related. Renewal is $50 for journeymen and $100 for masters, with a $50 late fee if you renew within 45 days after expiration.
Renewal cycle
3 years
CE hours
16
Renewal fee
$50 journeyman / $100 master
Late penalty
$50 within 45 days
Renewing your license?
See the Wyoming CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Wyoming electrician license FAQs
How many hours do I need to become a journeyman electrician in Wyoming?
4 years (8,000 hours) of electrical work plus 576 hours of classroom instruction. No more than 75% of your experience can be in one category.
Is the Wyoming electrical exam open book?
Yes. Both the journeyman and master exams are open book, and ICC’s Wyoming bulletin lists the permitted references.
How many questions are on the Wyoming journeyman exam?
80 questions, and you need 56 correct to pass. You get 4 hours.
Who gives the Wyoming electrical exam?
ICC, through Pearson VUE. You schedule after the state pre-approves you.
How do I become a master electrician in Wyoming?
Get 8 years (16,000 hours) of experience, including 4 years as a licensed journeyman, plus 576 classroom hours. Then pass the 100-question master exam.
Does Wyoming have electrician reciprocity?
Yes. Journeymen have agreements with 16 states, and masters with Idaho, South Dakota and Utah.
How much continuing education do Wyoming electricians need?
16 hours for each renewal.
How much does a Wyoming electrician license cost?
The ICC exam is $115 through Pearson VUE. After you pass, the initial license fee is $100 for journeyman or $200 for master. Renewal every 3 years is $50 or $100.
Sources
Official sources for the Wyoming electrician license
- Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety
- ICC, Wyoming electrical candidate bulletin (PDF)
- Pearson VUE, ICC exam scheduling
- Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety, licensing page
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Wyoming Department of Fire Prevention and Electrical Safety.
