Construction / Roofing Contractor License / Kansas
- Kansas
- Roofing Contractor
- State Registration & County License
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Kansas Roofing Contractor License
Kansas doesn’t issue a state roofing license, but every roofer still needs a state registration and, in most metro areas, a county or city license. Here’s how both pieces fit together for Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee and Douglas counties.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Kansas Attorney General and county licensing office requirements
Application fee
$250
State registration ($125 if approved January–April); plus $115 ICC exam and county fees
Exam time
3 hrs
ICC (KGP) Kansas Standard Roofing exam
Time to get license
Varies
Douglas County asks for 2 years of roofing experience
Continuing ed
Varies
Hours and topics set by each county
Overview
Do you need a Kansas roofing contractor license?
Yes, in two layers. The State of Kansas doesn’t license roofing contractors directly, but every roofer must hold a Roofing Contractor Registration Certificate from the Kansas Attorney General. Then you get your contractor license from the city, county or jurisdiction where you work.
License required when
- You do roofing work anywhere in Kansas (Attorney General registration)
- You install or repair roofing material, roof sheathing, damp-proofing or roof insulation
- You repair structural damage to an existing roof-support system or install skylights
- You work in a county or city that licenses roofers, such as Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee or Douglas County
Common exceptions
- There is no separate state-issued roofing license, so the state step is registration only
- Some counties accept a qualifying degree in place of the exam (Johnson, Shawnee and Douglas)
- Douglas County accepts an equivalent license from a jurisdiction it has a reciprocity agreement with
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific fines. Working without the state registration or a required local license can lead to enforcement by the Attorney General or your local licensing office, and you won’t be able to pull permits.
Your fast-track Kansas roofing contractor license checklist
The Kansas application, one page
- Attorney General Roofing Contractor Registration Certificate
- Liability insurance of at least $500,000
- Workers’ comp certificate
- Kansas Department of Revenue tax clearance
- Passing ICC (KGP) roofing exam score, or a qualifying degree
- Your county’s license application and fees
Types
Kansas roofing contractor license types and classifications
Kansas roofers need the state registration first, then a local license. Most counties qualify you through the same ICC (KGP) Kansas Standard Roofing Contractor / Subcontractor exam.
AG
Required statewide
Roofing Contractor Registration
Issued by the Kansas Attorney General. Every roofer in Kansas needs it before getting a local license.
Exam
No exam
Limit
Not stated
KGP
Most common
Local Roofing Contractor License
Issued by your city or county. Covers roofing material, sheathing, weather-proofing, roof insulation, roof-support repairs and skylights.
Exam
ICC (KGP) Standard Roofing
Limit
Not stated
Requirements
Kansas roofing contractor license requirements, class by class
Every county wants insurance and a qualifying exam score or degree. The details below come from four of the busiest licensing offices.
| Requirement | Johnson County | Sedgwick County | Douglas County |
|---|---|---|---|
| State AG registration | Required statewide | Registration number on application | Proof of current certificate |
| Qualifying exam | 75% on ICC (KGP) roofing exam | 75% on ICC (KGP) roofing exam | ICC (KGP) roofing exam |
| Degree option | BS in architecture, engineering or construction (ABET or ACCE) | Not accepted | Bachelor’s in engineering, architecture or construction science |
| Experience | Not stated | Not stated | 2 years of roofing work |
| General liability | Proof required | $300,000 minimum | $1,000,000 per occurrence |
| Workers’ comp | Proof required | Certificate required | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Kansas roofing contractor license, step by step
- Register with the Kansas Attorney GeneralBefore you apply
Apply for your Roofing Contractor Registration Certificate with proof of at least $500,000 in liability insurance, workers’ comp and a tax clearance from the Kansas Department of Revenue. The fee is $250, or $125 if you apply and are approved between January 1 and April 30. - Check your local requirementsBefore you apply
Find out what your city or county asks for. Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee and Douglas counties all license roofers, and their insurance minimums differ. - Pass the ICC (KGP) roofing examExam day
Schedule the Kansas Standard Roofing Contractor / Subcontractor exam with Pearson VUE at 877-234-6082. It costs $115, it’s open book, 60 questions, 3 hours, and you need 75%. - Get your insurance in placeBefore you apply
Line up general liability and workers’ comp certificates that meet your county’s minimum, from $300,000 in Sedgwick County to $1,000,000 in Douglas County. - Apply for your local licenseCounty fee
Submit your county application with fees, insurance proof, your exam score or degree, and your state registration number. Johnson County charges $100 to apply plus $225 for the license, and Sedgwick County charges $360 for a 2-year roofing license.
Exam
What to expect on the Kansas roofing contractor exam
Most Kansas counties use one exam: the ICC (KGP) Kansas Standard Roofing Contractor / Subcontractor exam. It’s open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references.
Format
Open book
Questions
60
Passing score
75%
Exam vendor
Pearson VUE (ICC)
Scoring & content
- 60 questions, 3 hours
- Topics: permits, inspections, violations and stop work orders, weather protection
- Fire classification, roof coverings, re-roofing and roof insulation
- Rooftop structures and roof drainage
- References may be tabbed and highlighted
Retake policy
- Retake rules are not stated in our sources
- Contact Pearson VUE at 877-234-6082 to reschedule
- Test centers are in larger Kansas cities
Exam references · Open book
The ICC (KGP) Kansas Standard Roofing Contractor/Subcontractor exam is open book. You can tab and highlight the references below and use them during the test, but online course material isn’t allowed in the room.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| International Building Code (IBC) | 2018 | Allowed in exam |
| International Plumbing Code (IPC) | 2018 | Allowed in exam |
Prep
Best Kansas roofing contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Kansas roofing contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Attorney General registration (initial) | Fixed | $250 ($125 prorated January–April) |
| Attorney General registration renewal | Fixed | $250 |
| ICC (KGP) roofing exam | Fixed | $115 |
| Johnson County application + Class DR license | Fixed | $100 + $225 |
| Roofing license, 2 years (Sedgwick County) | Fixed | $360 |
| General liability insurance | Variable | Varies |
| Workers’ comp insurance | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes insurance and county license fees | $365 ($250 registration + $115 exam) |
Registration fees from the Kansas Attorney General’s Roofing Contractor Registration Act fee schedule (K.A.R. 16-8-6), exam fee from the ICC State of Kansas bulletin (August 20, 2026), and county fees from Johnson County and Sedgwick County MABCD, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Kansas accept out-of-state roofing contractor licenses?
There’s no statewide reciprocity because Kansas doesn’t license roofers at the state level. Many Kansas counties do have agreements with each other.
Kansas counties — local license recognized
Reciprocity agreements exist between many Kansas counties. Ask your local licensing office which jurisdictions it recognizes.
Douglas County — exam or degree waived
Douglas County accepts an equivalent contractor license from a jurisdiction it has a valid reciprocity agreement with.
Local
Do Kansas cities and counties have their own roofing contractor licensing rules?
In Kansas, local governments do most of the licensing. The state’s only role is the Attorney General registration.
State handles
- Roofing Contractor Registration Certificates (Attorney General)
- Proof of $500,000 liability insurance and workers’ comp
- Tax clearance through the Kansas Department of Revenue
City & county handle
- Roofing contractor licenses and qualifying exams
- Insurance minimums for local licenses
- Continuing education hours and topics
- Permits and inspections
Johnson County
Contractor Licensing
- Application with application and licensing fees
- Proof of general liability and workers’ comp
- ID check and a digital photo of the qualifying individual
- 75% on the ICC (KGP) exam, or an accredited BS in architecture, engineering or construction
Sedgwick County
MABCD
- Application signed by the qualified person and all owners or partners
- 75% on the ICC (KGP) exam
- At least $300,000 in general liability, plus workers’ comp
- Kansas roofer registration number
Shawnee County / Topeka
Contractor Licensing
- Application, Qualifying Party Verification and Renovate Right forms
- General liability and workers’ comp certificates, plus the insurance acknowledgement form
- 75% on the ICC (KGP) exam, or a transcript showing 30 hours of construction science, engineering or architecture coursework
Douglas County / Lawrence
Planning & Development Services
- 2 years of roofing experience
- Current Kansas Roofing Contractor Registration Certificate
- $1,000,000 per occurrence general liability, including completed operations
- ICC (KGP) exam, a qualifying bachelor’s degree, or a reciprocal license
Governance
Who regulates roofing contractors in Kansas
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues Roofing Contractor Registration Certificates
- Checks liability insurance, workers’ comp and tax clearance
- Registration is required before county and city licenses
Maintenance
How to renew your Kansas roofing contractor license and keep it active
Renewal is handled by your county or city, and so are continuing education requirements. Hours and topics vary, so check with your local licensing office.
Renewal cycle
Varies by county
CE hours
Varies by county
Renewal fee
$250 (state registration)
Late penalty
$250 (state registration)
FAQ
Kansas roofing contractor license FAQs
Does Kansas have a state roofing license?
No. Kansas doesn’t license roofers directly. You need a Roofing Contractor Registration Certificate from the Attorney General, then a license from your city or county.
How much insurance do I need for the state registration?
At least $500,000 in liability insurance, plus workers’ comp and a tax clearance from the Kansas Department of Revenue.
What exam do Kansas counties use for roofers?
The ICC (KGP) Kansas Standard Roofing Contractor / Subcontractor exam. It’s open book, 60 questions, 3 hours, and you need 75% to pass.
Can a degree replace the exam?
In some counties, yes. Johnson, Shawnee and Douglas counties accept qualifying construction, engineering or architecture education. Sedgwick County requires the exam.
Is continuing education required?
Yes, to renew your local license. The hours and topics vary by county, so check with your local licensing office.
Does my Kansas county license work in other counties?
Sometimes. Many Kansas counties have reciprocity agreements with each other, so ask the office where you want to work.
Sources
Official sources for the Kansas roofing contractor license
- Kansas Attorney General, Roofing Contractor Registration
- Johnson County, Contractor Licensing
- Sedgwick County MABCD, Building Contractor License
- City of Topeka, Contractor Licensing
- City of Lawrence, Contractor Licensing
- Pearson VUE, ICC license exams
- Kansas Attorney General, Roofing Contractor Registration Act schedule of fees
- K.S.A. 50-6,128, roofing registration fees
- ICC, State of Kansas Contractor/Trades Examination Bulletin
- Johnson County, New License & License Types (licensing fees)
- Sedgwick County MABCD, License Fees Table A
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Kansas Attorney General or any Kansas county licensing office.
