Construction / Electrician License / Kansas
- Kansas
- Electrician License
- Journeyman, Master & Residential
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Kansas Electrician License
Kansas doesn’t license electricians at the state level, so your city or county does. This page walks through the journeyman, master and residential licenses using the rules in Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee and Douglas counties.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee and Douglas County licensing requirements
Application fee
$100
Johnson County; plus $225 license and $115 ICC exam. Other counties vary
Exam time
3–5 hrs
Residential 3, journeyman 4, master 5
Time to get license
~2 yrs
Journeyman field experience in Sedgwick and Douglas counties
Continuing ed
Varies
Hours and topics set by each county
Overview
Do you need a Kansas electrician license?
Yes, if you do electrical work in Kansas. But the license comes from your local city, county or jurisdiction, not the state. Most of the larger counties use the ICC Kansas Standard electrician exams, so the steps look similar from place to place.
License required when
- You install electrical systems as a journeyman working for an electrical contractor
- You design or install electrical systems and supervise others as a master electrician
- You install systems in one- and two-family homes without supervision as a residential electrician
- You run an electrical contracting business, such as a Class D/E electrical contractor license in Johnson County
Common exceptions
- There’s no statewide license, so requirements and exemptions depend on where you work
- A residential electrician working outside one- and two-family dwellings must work as an apprentice
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list penalty amounts. Local licensing offices control who can pull permits and can refuse permits, stop work or discipline license holders who break their rules, so check with your city or county before you start.
Your fast-track Kansas electrician license checklist
The Kansas application, one page
- Your local licensing office’s requirements
- Proof of field experience (or trade school)
- 75% or better on your ICC Kansas Standard exam
- General liability and workers’ comp certificates
- Signed local application and fees
Types
Kansas electrician license types and classifications
Kansas counties issue three main electrician licenses. Each one is tied to an ICC Kansas Standard exam, and you need 75% to pass any of them.
KGH
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Works at the electrical trade as an employee of an electrical contractor.
Exam
ICC Kansas Standard Journeyman
Limit
Works for a contractor
KGD
Top tier
Master Electrician
Designs and installs electrical systems for an electrical contractor and may supervise others. Also the exam behind Johnson County’s electrical contractor license.
Exam
ICC Kansas Standard Master
Limit
Can supervise
KGX
Homes only
Residential Electrician
Installs electrical systems in one- and two-family dwellings without supervision. Works as an apprentice on anything else.
Exam
ICC Kansas Standard Residential
Limit
1–2 family homes
Requirements
Kansas electrician license requirements, class by class
Experience rules differ by county. Here’s how they compare in the counties our sources cover. Check with your own local office before you apply.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master | Residential |
|---|---|---|---|
| Exam | KGH: 80 questions, 4 hrs | KGD: 100 questions, 5 hrs | KGX: 60 questions, 3 hrs |
| Passing score | 75% | 75% | 75% |
| Experience (Sedgwick) | 2 yrs field, or 1 yr field + 1 yr trade school | Current journeyman + 2 yrs as journeyman | Not stated |
| Experience (Douglas) | 2 yrs practical field experience | 4 yrs field, or 2 yrs as journeyman | 2 yrs, including 1–2 family dwelling work |
| Insurance (contractor licenses) | General liability and workers’ comp | General liability and workers’ comp | General liability and workers’ comp |
| Where you apply | Your city or county | Your city or county | Your city or county |
Steps
How to get your Kansas electrician license, step by step
- Find your local licensing officeBefore you start
Licenses are issued by your city, county or jurisdiction. Look up its rules first, since experience, fees and forms vary. - Build your field experience~2 yrs
Journeymen generally need 2 years in the field (Sedgwick also accepts 1 year plus 1 year of trade school). Masters need more, often time as a journeyman. - Schedule your ICC examBefore exam day
Book the Kansas Standard exam for your license through Pearson VUE at 877-234-6082. Every Kansas Standard exam costs $115. Test centers are in larger cities around the state. - Pass the examExam day
Score at least 75% on the open-book journeyman, master or residential exam, and keep proof of your score. - Line up insuranceBefore you apply
Contractor licenses need general liability and workers’ comp certificates. Sedgwick County requires at least $300,000 in general liability. - Apply locallyFee varies
Submit your application, fees, exam score and insurance proof to your city or county. Johnson County charges a $100 application fee plus $225 per license, and Sedgwick County charges $360 for a 2-year electrical license. Shawnee County also asks for a Master Verification form, a Renovate Right form and a Certificate of Insurance Acknowledgement.
Exam
What to expect on the Kansas electrician exam
Each license has its own ICC Kansas Standard exam. All are open book, and you can tab and highlight your references.
Format
Open book
Questions
60 / 80 / 100
Passing score
75%
Exam vendor
Pearson VUE
Scoring & content
- Master (KGD): 100 questions, 5 hours
- Journeyman (KGH): 80 questions, 4 hours
- Residential (KGX): 60 questions, 3 hours
- Topics include services, feeders, branch circuits, wiring methods, equipment and special occupancies
- References like the NEC can be tabbed and highlighted
Retake policy
- Retake rules: Not stated in our sources
- Schedule and reschedule with Pearson VUE at 877-234-6082
- You need 75% on every attempt
- Ask your local office how long it accepts a passing score
Exam references · Open book
The ICC Kansas Standard electrician exams (Master, Journeyman and Residential) are open book. You can tab and highlight the approved references below and use them during the test.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Master Electrician exam | 2017 | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References — Master Electrician exam | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
Our sources list these books for the Master exam only, so check the ICC candidate bulletin for the Journeyman and Residential exams before you buy.
Prep
Best Kansas electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Kansas electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee (Johnson County, new licenses) | Fixed | $100 |
| Class DE electrical contractor license (Johnson County) | Fixed | $225 |
| Electrical license, 2 years (Sedgwick County) | Fixed | $360 |
| ICC Kansas Standard exam (KGH, KGD or KGX) | Fixed | $115 |
| Code books for the exam | Variable | Varies |
| General liability and workers’ comp | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes code books and insurance; other counties set their own fees | $440 in Johnson County ($100 + $225 + $115 exam) |
Exam fee from the ICC State of Kansas Contractor/Trades bulletin (Pearson VUE, published August 20, 2026); local fees from the Johnson County licensing fee schedule and Sedgwick County MABCD Fee Table A, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Kansas accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Many Kansas counties have reciprocity agreements with each other. Our sources don’t list any agreements with other states.
Kansas counties — local license recognition
Agreements are set city by city and county by county. Contact your local office to find out which licenses it accepts.
Other states — no agreement listed
Plan to apply as a new applicant with your local Kansas office and take the required exam.
Local
Do Kansas cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
In Kansas, local governments do almost all of the licensing work. Here’s how four of the largest counties handle it.
State handles
- No statewide electrician license
- Electricians apply through their local jurisdiction instead
City & county handle
- Electrician and electrical contractor licenses
- Experience, exam and insurance requirements
- Continuing education hours and topics
- Reciprocity with other Kansas jurisdictions
Johnson County
Contractor Licensing
- Class D/E electrical contractor license
- Proof of general liability and workers’ comp
- Qualify with a B.S. in architecture, engineering, construction science or construction management from an ABET or ACCE program
- Or score at least 75% on the ICC Kansas Standard Master Electrician exam
Sedgwick County
MABCD
- Front and back of the application signed by the qualified person and all owners or partners
- At least $300,000 in general liability, plus workers’ comp
- Journeyman: 2 yrs field, or 1 yr field + 1 yr trade school, and 75% on KGH
- Master: current journeyman, 2 yrs as journeyman, and 75% on KGD
Shawnee County / Topeka
Trade contractor licensing
- Trade License Application and proof of a 75% exam score
- Master (KGD), journeyman (KGH) or residential (KGX) exam
- Master Verification, Renovate Right and Certificate of Insurance Acknowledgement forms
- General liability and workers’ comp certificates
Douglas County / Lawrence
Contractor licensing
- Master: 75% on the master exam and 4 yrs field or 2 yrs as journeyman
- Journeyman: 75% on KGH and 2 yrs field experience
- Residential: 2 yrs field experience in one- and two-family dwellings
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Kansas
Licensing authority
Local city and county licensing offices
Johnson County Contractor Licensing
Oversight responsibilities
- Issue journeyman, master, residential and contractor licenses
- Set experience, insurance and exam requirements
- Set continuing education rules for renewal
- Decide which other jurisdictions’ licenses to accept
Maintenance
How to renew your Kansas electrician license and keep it active
Kansas electricians must complete continuing education to renew. The renewal cycle, hours and topics vary by county, so check with your local licensing office.
Renewal cycle
Varies by county
CE hours
Varies by county
Renewal fee
$225 (Johnson County)
Late penalty
$75 (Johnson County)
Renewing your license?
See the Kansas CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Kansas electrician license FAQs
Does Kansas have a state electrician license?
No. Electricians are licensed by their local city, county or jurisdiction, not the state.
Which exam do I take for a Kansas electrician license?
Most counties use the ICC Kansas Standard exams: KGH for journeyman, KGD for master and KGX for residential. You need 75% on each.
Is the Kansas electrician exam open book?
Yes. You can tab and highlight approved references like the NEC and use them during the exam.
How much experience do I need to be a journeyman electrician in Kansas?
In Sedgwick and Douglas counties, 2 years of field experience. Sedgwick also accepts 1 year in the field plus 1 year of electrical trade school.
How do I schedule the Kansas electrician exam?
Through Pearson VUE at 877-234-6082. The exam fee is $115, and test centers are set up in larger cities around the state.
Does my Kansas license work in another county?
Sometimes. Many Kansas counties have reciprocity agreements with each other, so ask your local office which licenses it accepts.
Do Kansas electricians need continuing education?
Yes, to renew. The number of hours and the topics vary by county.
Sources
Official sources for the Kansas electrician license
- Johnson County, Class D/E Electrical Contractor License
- Sedgwick County MABCD, Building Contractor License
- City of Topeka, Trade Contractors Info
- City of Lawrence, Contractor Licensing
- Pearson VUE, exam scheduling
- ICC, State of Kansas Contractor/Trades Examination Bulletin
- Johnson County, New License & License Types (licensing fees)
- Sedgwick County MABCD, License Fees Table A
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with any Kansas city or county licensing office.
