Construction / Specialty Contractor License / South Carolina
- South Carolina
- Specialty Contractor
- Renovation & Packaged HVAC
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your South Carolina Specialty Contractor Licenses
This guide covers two South Carolina specialty licenses, Non-Structural Renovation and Packaged Equipment, with the exams, experience, financials and steps for each, in one place.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board requirements
Application fee
$350
Initial license fee; no separate application fee in Reg. 10-10. Plus PSI exams
Exam time
Varies
4 hrs 35 min (Renovation) or 6 hrs 5 min (Packaged Equipment), with Business & Law
Time to get license
~2 yrs
Packaged Equipment needs 2 years of commercial field work
Continuing ed
Not required
No CE before renewal
Overview
Do you need a South Carolina specialty contractor license?
Yes, for both trades. South Carolina requires a Non-Structural Renovation license for non-structural interior and exterior remodeling and finish work. Packaged Equipment contractors need a Mechanical Contractor license with the Packaged Equipment subclassification before they bid on or do any of that work.
License required when
- You install, remodel, renovate or finish interiors or exteriors without touching load-bearing parts of the structure
- You do drywall, flooring (not carpet), windows and doors, cabinets and millwork, insulation, painting, wall covering or waterproofing as a contractor
- You install, replace, alter or repair packaged air conditioning or heating equipment of any size
- You plan to bid on Packaged Equipment work, since the license is needed before bidding
Common exceptions
- Work that alters load-bearing portions of a structure isn’t covered by Non-Structural Renovation and needs a different classification
- Hot water and steam heating systems aren’t covered by Packaged Equipment
- Small-job or owner exemptions aren’t stated in our source, so check with the CLB before you bid
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our source doesn’t list penalty amounts. In general, the Contractor’s Licensing Board can discipline licensees and take action against people who contract without the required license, so get licensed before you bid or start work.
Your fast-track South Carolina specialty contractor license checklist
The South Carolina application, one page
- Passing score on the Business & Law exam
- Passing score on your trade exam
- Proof of 2 years of commercial field work (Packaged Equipment)
- GAAP financial statement or surety bond for your Group
- Application submitted to the Contractor’s Licensing Board
Types
South Carolina specialty contractor license types and classifications
Each license pairs a trade exam with the Business & Law exam. Packaged Equipment is a subclassification of the Mechanical Contractor license, and your Group (1 to 5) sets the most you can bid and take on per job.
NSR
Finish & remodel
Non-Structural Renovation
Interior and exterior installing, remodeling and finishes: acoustical ceilings, drywall partitions, lathing and plastering, flooring (not carpet), windows and doors, fixtures, cabinets, millwork, insulation, painting, wall covering and waterproofing.
Exam
B&L + Non-Structural Renovation
Limit
Not stated
PKG
Mechanical subclass
Packaged Equipment
Install, replace, alter or repair air conditioning equipment and systems that produce conditioned air for heating, cooling or both, including any size package equipment. Excludes hot water and steam heating.
Exam
B&L + Packaged Equipment
Limit
$35,000 (Group 1) to unlimited (Group 5)
Requirements
South Carolina specialty contractor license requirements, class by class
Both licenses need two passed exams. Packaged Equipment adds an experience requirement and a financial statement or surety bond sized to your Group.
| Requirement | Non-Structural Renovation | Packaged Equipment |
|---|---|---|
| Trade exam | Non-Structural Renovation (60 questions) | Packaged Equipment (80 questions) |
| Business & Law exam | Required (50 questions) | Required (50 questions) |
| Experience | Not stated | 2 years full-time, hands-on field work in the past 5 years (commercial only) |
| Net worth by Group (1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5) | Not stated | $3,500 / $10,000 / $20,000 / $40,000 / $200,000 |
| Or surety bond by Group | Not stated | $7,000 / $20,000 / $40,000 / $80,000 / $400,000 |
| Financial statement type | Not stated | Self-prepared (Groups 1–2), CPA/PA compiled or prepared (3–4), CPA/PA audited (5) |
| Continuing ed | Not required | Not required |
Steps
How to get your South Carolina specialty contractor license, step by step
- Pick your license and GroupBefore you start
Choose Non-Structural Renovation or Packaged Equipment. For Packaged Equipment, pick the Group that fits your job sizes: $35,000, $100,000, $200,000, $400,000 or unlimited. - Document your experienceBefore you apply
Packaged Equipment applicants need 2 years of full-time, hands-on commercial field work within the past 5 years. - Get your financials readyBefore you apply
Prepare a GAAP financial statement showing the net worth your Group requires, or a surety bond instead. Groups 3–5 need a CPA/PA statement. - Pass your exams with PSIExam day
Schedule the trade exam and Business & Law with PSI. The trade exams are open book, and you need passing scores before you submit your application. - Apply to the CLBAfter you pass
Apply through the South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board. Call 803-896-4686 or visit llr.sc.gov/clb. - Receive your licenseAfter approval
Once the CLB approves your application, you can bid and work within your classification and Group limit.
Exam
What to expect on the South Carolina specialty contractor exam
You take two exams: the Business & Law exam and the trade exam for your license. The trade exams are open book, so knowing your references matters as much as knowing the material.
Format
Open book
Questions
50 + 60 or 80
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Non-Structural Renovation: 60 questions, 150 minutes, 70% to pass
- Packaged Equipment: 80 questions, 4 hours, 56 correct to pass
- Business & Law: 50 questions, 125 minutes, 35 correct to pass
- Renovation topics: plan reading, windows and doors, carpentry, siding, drywall, metal studs, OSHA safety
- Packaged Equipment topics: piping, refrigerants, load calculations, equipment, testing and balancing, HVACR controls
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our source; check with PSI
- Schedule with PSI at (855) 257-1620, 855-340-3701 or psiexams.com
- Approved references can be tabbed and highlighted
- Prep course materials can’t be used during the exam
Exam references · Open book
South Carolina’s Non-Structural Renovation and Packaged Equipment trade exams are open book, and the approved references can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test. The list below covers both trade exams plus the Business & Law exam that every specialty contractor must also pass.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| International Building Code (IBC) — Non-Structural Renovation exam | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| Carpentry and Building Construction, Student Edition — Non-Structural Renovation exam | 2016 | Allowed in exam |
| Finish Carpenter’s Manual — Non-Structural Renovation exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| The Gypsum Construction Handbook — Non-Structural Renovation exam | 7th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Complete Illustrated Guide to Furniture and Cabinet Construction — Non-Structural Renovation exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| OSHA 1926 Construction Industry Regulations — Non-Structural Renovation and Packaged Equipment exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| International Mechanical Code (IMC) — Packaged Equipment exam | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC) — Packaged Equipment exam | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| ACCA Duct Calculation Slide Rule — Packaged Equipment exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| ACCA Manual N: Commercial Load Calculation for Small Commercial Buildings — Packaged Equipment exam | 5th edition | Allowed in exam |
| ACCA Manual D: Residential Duct Systems — Packaged Equipment exam | 3rd edition | Allowed in exam |
| ACCA Manual J: Residential Load Calculation (Full Edition) — Packaged Equipment exam | 8th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning — Packaged Equipment exam | 22nd edition | Allowed in exam |
| Pipefitters Handbook — Packaged Equipment exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Technology — Packaged Equipment exam | Not stated | Study only |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Commercial Contractors (South Carolina edition) — Business & Law exam | 9th edition | Allowed in exam |
Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Technology is listed only as an extra study resource, not needed if you already use Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning.
Prep
Best South Carolina specialty contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a South Carolina specialty contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Initial license fee | Fixed | $350 |
| Business & Law exam (PSI) | Fixed | $78 |
| Trade exam (Non-Structural Renovation or Packaged Equipment, PSI) | Fixed | $64 |
| Financial statement (CPA/PA for Groups 3–5) | Variable | Varies |
| Surety bond (optional alternative) | Variable | Varies |
| Exam reference books | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Excludes financial statement, bond and books | $492 |
Fees from SC Reg. 10-10 and the PSI candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does South Carolina accept out-of-state specialty contractor licenses?
South Carolina has waiver agreements with some states. Check the CLB’s waiver agreements list (PDF) to see whether your license qualifies.
Select states — see the CLB waiver list
The source doesn’t say which exams are waived. If your state isn’t on the list, apply as a new applicant and take both exams.
Local
Do South Carolina cities and counties have their own specialty contractor licensing rules?
Your license is issued by the state. Local permit and business license rules aren’t covered in our source, so check with the city or county where you work.
State handles
- Specialty licenses and subclassifications
- Packaged Equipment Groups and job limits
- Exams, through PSI
- Renewals and discipline
City & county handle
- Building permits and inspections
- Local business licenses
- Any local contractor registration
Governance
Who regulates specialty contractors in South Carolina
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues and renews contractor licenses and subclassifications
- Sets Group financial requirements and job limits
- Reviews experience and financial documents
- Maintains waiver agreements with other states
Maintenance
How to renew your South Carolina specialty contractor license and keep it active
South Carolina doesn’t require continuing education before you renew. Licenses renew every 2 years for $135, with late penalties of $100 to $200.
Renewal cycle
2 years
CE hours
Not required
Renewal fee
$135
Late penalty
$100–$200
FAQ
South Carolina specialty contractor license FAQs
Do I need a license to install drywall or flooring in South Carolina?
Yes, contractors doing non-structural interior or exterior work like drywall, flooring (not carpet), windows, cabinets or painting need a Non-Structural Renovation license. It doesn’t cover changes to load-bearing parts of a structure.
What license do I need to install packaged HVAC units?
A Mechanical Contractor license with the Packaged Equipment subclassification. You need it before you bid on any Packaged Equipment work.
How many exams do I take?
Two: the trade exam for your license and the Business & Law exam. Both are given by PSI.
Are the exams open book?
Yes. The trade exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references. You need 70% to pass.
How much experience do I need for Packaged Equipment?
Two years of full-time, hands-on field work within the past 5 years. Only commercial work counts.
What are the Packaged Equipment Group limits?
Group 1 is $35,000, Group 2 is $100,000, Group 3 is $200,000, Group 4 is $400,000 and Group 5 is unlimited, per bid and job.
Is continuing education required?
No. South Carolina doesn’t require continuing education before renewal for these licenses.
Does my out-of-state license transfer?
Only if your state has a waiver agreement with South Carolina. Check the CLB’s waiver agreements list before you apply.
Sources
Official sources for the South Carolina specialty contractor license
- South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board, General information
- South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board, Home
- Contractor’s Licensing Board, Waiver agreements (PDF)
- PSI, South Carolina Contractor exams
- PSI, South Carolina license catalog
- SC Code of Regulations, Chapter 10, Reg. 10-10 Contractor’s Licensing Board fees (PDF)
- PSI, SC Contractor’s Licensing Board Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the South Carolina Contractor’s Licensing Board.
