Cosmetology / Cosmetology Continuing Education / Iowa
- Iowa
- Cosmetology CE
- All Individual Licenses
- Updated Oct 2026
Iowa Cosmetology Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses
Iowa cosmetology licensees need 6 hours of approved CE every two years, 4 in their discipline and 2 on Iowa laws, rules and infection control, before the renewal period ends March 31.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences requirements
Hours per cycle
6 hrs
4 more hours for each extra active license
Cycle
2 years
April 1 through March 31 two years later
Deadline
Mar 31
End of your two-year renewal period
Online allowed?
Yes
Live, virtual, online or prerecorded courses count
Who needs CE
Who needs continuing education for an Iowa cosmetology license?
Every individual Iowa cosmetology licensee needs CE to renew, except on the very first renewal after licensing. Renewal is handled by the state through the Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences, part of the Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing (DIAL).
CE applies to
- Individual Iowa cosmetology license holders
- Licensees who hold two or three active cosmetology licenses
- Licensed instructors, who add 6 hours of teaching methodology
- Licensees reactivating an inactive license
Exemptions
- Your first renewal period after you’re first licensed: no CE required
- Licensees practicing only in another state can meet that state’s CE rules; if that state has no CE rule, no Iowa CE is required (fees still apply)
- Active-duty military, spouses of active-duty service members, and government employees assigned outside the US
- Disability or illness: you can apply for an extension or exemption
Holding more than one license?
Add 4 discipline-specific hours for each extra active license. Two licenses need 10 hours and three need 14.
Iowa cosmetology CE at a glance
Iowa cosmetology renewal, one box
| Renewed with | Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences |
| CE required? | Yes, from your second renewal on |
| Hours per cycle | 6 hrs (10 for two licenses, 14 for three) |
| Cycle | 2 years |
| Required topics | 4 hrs in your discipline, 2 hrs Iowa laws, rules & infection control |
| Online allowed? | Yes, live, virtual, online or prerecorded |
| Deadline | March 31, end of the renewal period |
| Who reports | Licensee uploads certificates at renewal |
| Carryover | Up to 50%, max 3 discipline hrs; none for law & rules |
| Grace period | 30 days, $60 late fee |
| Renewal fee | $60 per license |
| Last updated | October 28, 2026 |
Hours
How many CE hours does an Iowa cosmetology license need?
With one active license you need 6 hours every two years: 4 hours specific to your discipline and 2 hours on Iowa barbering and cosmetology law, rules and infection control. Each extra active license adds 4 discipline-specific hours. Live, virtual, online and prerecorded courses all count.
| Class | Total | Required topics | Electives | Delivery limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| One active license | 6 hrs | 4 hrs in your discipline; 2 hrs Iowa laws, rules & infection control | Not stated | None; live, virtual, online or prerecorded |
| Two active licenses | 10 hrs | 4 hrs in each discipline; 2 hrs Iowa laws, rules & infection control | Not stated | None; live, virtual, online or prerecorded |
| Three active licenses | 14 hrs | 4 hrs in each discipline; 2 hrs Iowa laws, rules & infection control | Not stated | None; live, virtual, online or prerecorded |
| Instructor | Practice-license CE plus 6 hrs | 6 hrs teaching methodology on top of your practice-license CE, including 2 hrs Iowa law & rules | Not stated | None; live, virtual, online or prerecorded |
| Reactivation, inactive 5 years or less | 6 hrs | Completed within 2 years before applying, or 2,080 hours of practice in another state | Not stated | None; live, virtual, online or prerecorded |
| Reactivation, inactive more than 5 years | 12 hrs | Completed within 2 years before applying | Not stated | None; live, virtual, online or prerecorded |
No CE is required during your first renewal period after you’re first licensed. You can carry up to 50% of the required hours into the next period, with a maximum of 3 discipline hours; law, rules and infection control hours don’t carry over.
Deadline
When is the Iowa cosmetology license renewal deadline?
Iowa cosmetology licenses run on a two-year period that starts April 1 and ends March 31 two years later. Finish your CE and renew by March 31 of your renewal year. You can renew in the 60 days before your license expires.
| Deadline rule | March 31 at the end of your two-year renewal period |
| Cycle | 2 years, April 1 to March 31 |
| Grace period | 30 days after expiration; your license stays active but a late fee applies |
| Late penalty | $60 late fee; after 30 days the license goes inactive and needs reactivation ($120) |
| CE completion deadline | Before you renew, by March 31 |
Steps
How to renew an Iowa cosmetology license, step by step
- Take approved CEBefore March 31
Complete 4 hours in your discipline and 2 hours on Iowa laws, rules and infection control, plus 4 more discipline hours for each extra license. - Get your certificateSame day
Save the certificate of completion for every course you finish. It should show the course date, title, hours, sponsor and your name. - Confirm it’s reportedAt renewal
You report your own CE: upload your certificates of completion with your online renewal application. Keep them for two years in case you’re audited. - Pay the renewal fee$60 fee
Submit your online renewal and the $60 fee per license to the Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences before March 31. Renewing in the 30-day grace period adds a $60 late fee. - Check your license statusAfter renewal
Confirm with the board that your license shows the new two-year expiration date.
Providers
Approved Iowa cosmetology license CE providers
We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Use the board’s approved provider list to confirm a course counts before you pay. Courses must be offered by or sponsored in advance by a barbering and cosmetology association, school or textbook publisher, or a university or college.
Approval
How to check an Iowa cosmetology CE course is approved
The Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences sets the CE topics and standards. Courses must be offered or sponsored by an approved type of organization, and product sales aren’t allowed during a CE course. A discipline course doesn’t cover the separate 2-hour law and rules requirement, so you need both.
- Confirm the course is approved for Iowa cosmetology CE before you pay.
- Check whether it counts as discipline hours or as Iowa laws, rules and infection control.
- If you hold more than one license, make sure each discipline gets its own 4 hours.
Reporting
How Iowa cosmetology CE is reported, and what happens in an audit
You report your own CE. When you renew online, you upload your certificates of completion with the renewal application before your license expires. The Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences may audit licensees after renewal.
- Keep a certificate of completion for every course, showing the course date, title, hours, sponsor and your name.
- Keep certificates for two years after the renewal.
- If you’re audited, send your certificates within 30 days of the notice.
- If your hours come up short, you have 90 days from the deficit notice to make them up.
- Track discipline hours and law and rules hours separately for each license you hold.
Cost
How much does Iowa cosmetology license renewal cost?
| Item | Fee | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| License renewal fee | $60 per license, each biennium | Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences |
| Late fee (30-day grace period) | $60 | Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences |
| Reactivation fee | $120 | Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences |
| CE courses | Varies by provider | CE provider |
Fees from Iowa Administrative Code 481—507.5 and the DIAL renewal page, checked October 2026. Fees are nonrefundable.
Late or lapsed
Late, expired or inactive Iowa cosmetology license
If you miss March 31, you have a 30-day grace period with a $60 late fee. After that the license goes inactive, and you can’t practice in Iowa until you reactivate it.
Grace period
30 days after expiration. Your license is still active, but you pay a $60 late fee to renew.
Inactive 5 years or less
Apply for reactivation, pay $120, send license verification from the state where you most recently practiced, and show 6 hours of CE from the last two years or 2,080 hours of practice in another state.
Inactive more than 5 years
Apply for reactivation, pay $120, send license verification, and show 12 hours of CE from the last two years.
Instructors
Add 6 hours of teaching methodology to reactivate.
Who controls
Who controls Iowa cosmetology license renewal?
Renewal authority
Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences
Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, & Licensing (DIAL)
6200 Park Avenue, Suite 100, Des Moines, IA 50321
Responsibilities
- Issues and renews Iowa barbering and cosmetology licenses
- Sets the CE topics and hour requirements
- Sets reactivation requirements for expired and inactive licenses
Getting licensed
Getting an Iowa cosmetology license
Need the license first? Our Iowa guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.
FAQ
Iowa cosmetology license CE FAQs
How many CE hours does an Iowa cosmetology licensee need?
6 hours every two years with one active license: 4 in your discipline and 2 on Iowa laws, rules and infection control. Two licenses need 10 hours and three need 14.
When is the deadline?
The renewal period runs April 1 to March 31 two years later, so finish CE and renew by March 31.
Is CE required for my first renewal?
No. You don’t need CE during the first renewal period after you’re first licensed. It starts with your second renewal.
Can I take CE online?
Yes. Iowa counts live, virtual, online and prerecorded CE, including webinars and online courses, as long as the course meets the board’s standards.
Who reports my hours?
You do. Upload your certificates of completion with your online renewal application, and keep them for two years in case you’re audited.
Do hours carry over?
Partly. You can carry up to 50% of the required hours into the next period, with a maximum of 3 discipline hours. Law, rules and infection control hours don’t carry over.
What if my license is expired or inactive?
You have a 30-day grace period with a $60 late fee. After that the license is inactive. Inactive 5 years or less: 6 hours of CE (or 2,080 hours of practice elsewhere). Inactive more than 5 years: 12 hours. Reactivation costs $120.
Sources
Official sources for Iowa cosmetology CE rules
- DIAL, barbering & cosmetology license renewal
- Iowa Administrative Code 481—Chapter 944, continuing education
- Iowa Administrative Code 481—Chapter 940, licensure and renewal
- Iowa Administrative Code 481—507.5, license fees
- Iowa Administrative Code 481—500.7, CE audits
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Iowa Board of Barbering and Cosmetology Arts and Sciences.
