Cosmetology / Cosmetology License / Georgia
- Georgia
- Master Cosmetologist
- School or Technical College
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Georgia Master Cosmetologist License
Everything you need to train, pass both exams, apply and get licensed as a master cosmetologist in Georgia, pulled together from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering’s requirements.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering requirements
Application fee
Not stated
Check the current fee with the Board
Exam time
~4.6 hrs
120-min theory + 155-min practical
Time to get license
9+ months
1,500 school hours, minimum 9 months
Continuing ed
Not stated
Confirm renewal rules with the Board
Overview
Do you need a Georgia cosmetology license?
Yes. To make a living in Georgia doing hair, nails or skincare, you need a master cosmetologist license from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. You qualify through formal training and two exams.
License required when
- You cut, style, color or chemically treat hair for pay
- You do nail services for pay
- You do skincare services for pay
- You want to work in a licensed Georgia salon
Common exceptions
- Licensed in another state? You can apply by endorsement
- Specific exemptions aren’t listed in our source notes, so confirm with the Board before working without a license
Working without a license
The Board regulates the industry and can take action against anyone practicing cosmetology without a license. Get licensed before you take paying clients.
Your fast-track Georgia cosmetology license checklist
The Georgia application, one page
- High school diploma or GED
- 1,500 school hours, 54 credit hours, or barber crossover
- Passing theory and practical scores
- Transcript from your school
- Government ID and Social Security card
- Application filed in GOALS
Types
Georgia cosmetology license types and classifications
Georgia’s cosmetology license is the master cosmetologist license. You can qualify through any of three training routes.
SCH
Most common
Cosmetology school
Complete 1,500 school hours over at least 9 months.
Exam
Theory + practical
Limit
1,500 hrs
TCSG
College credit
Technical college
Complete 54 semester credit hours at an accredited state technical college, covering the 1,500 hours.
Exam
Theory + practical
Limit
54 credit hrs
XOVER
Licensed barbers
Barber crossover
Use your barber license crossover hours plus 250 hours at an approved cosmetology school.
Exam
Theory + practical
Limit
+250 hrs
Requirements
Georgia cosmetology license requirements, class by class
Every route ends with the same two exams. What changes is how you get your training.
| Requirement | Cosmetology school | Technical college | Barber crossover |
|---|---|---|---|
| Education | High school diploma or GED | High school diploma or GED | High school diploma or GED |
| Training | 1,500 hours, 9 months minimum | 54 semester credit hours | Barber crossover hours + 250 school hours |
| Written (theory) exam | Required | Required | Required |
| Practical exam | Required | Required | Required |
| Minimum age | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Georgia cosmetology license, step by step
- Finish high school or a GEDBefore you start
You need proof of a high school diploma or GED. - Complete your training9+ months
Finish 1,500 school hours, 54 technical college credit hours, or the barber crossover route. You’ll then be given an application for the exams. - Schedule with PSIAfter training
Book your exams on PSI’s Georgia cosmetology site or call (800) 211-2754. - Pass the theory and practical examsExam day
The theory exam is 100 questions in 120 minutes, and you need 70%. The practical has 10 tasks over 155 minutes. - Submit your license applicationAfter you pass
Apply through the Secretary of State’s GOALS portal with your exam scores, diploma, transcript or GED, a government ID and your Social Security card. - Get licensedAfter review
Call the Board at 404-424-9966 with any questions about your application.
Exam
What to expect on the Georgia cosmetology exam
Georgia requires two exams: a closed-book theory exam and a hands-on practical. In Georgia you pass the exams first, then submit your license application.
Format
Closed book + practical
Questions
100 + 10 tasks
Passing score
70% (theory)
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Theory: 100 questions, 120 minutes, 70% to pass
- Scientific concepts 35%, hair care and services 45%, skin care 10%, nail care 10%
- Practical: 10 tasks worth 1 point each, 155 minutes
- Practical tasks include thermal curling, haircutting, chemical waving, foil highlighting, color retouch, relaxer application and a blood exposure procedure
- Exam references include Milady Standard Cosmetology
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our source notes
- Schedule or reschedule through PSI at (800) 211-2754
- Ask the Board about retake fees before you book
Exam references · Closed book
The Georgia Cosmetology Theory exam is closed book, so you can’t bring books into the exam. Use these references to study for the theory and practical exams.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| Cosmetology Career Concepts | Not stated | Study only |
| Milady Standard Cosmetology | Not stated | Study only |
| Pivot Point Fundamentals: Cosmetology | Not stated | Study only |
Prep
Best Georgia cosmetology exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Georgia cosmetology license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| License application | Fixed | Not stated |
| Theory exam | Fixed | Not stated |
| Practical exam | Fixed | Not stated |
| Cosmetology school or technical college | Variable | Varies |
| Textbooks and practical kit | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Fees aren’t stated in our source notes | Not stated |
Check current fees with the Board before you apply.
Reciprocity
Does Georgia accept out-of-state cosmetology licenses?
Georgia doesn’t have reciprocity agreements, but you can still get licensed by endorsement if you hold a license in another state.
No reciprocity agreements
Apply for licensure by endorsement instead. Every state board you hold a license with sends a letter of certification to the Georgia Board, and you submit the endorsement application with all required fees and documents.
Local
Do Georgia cities and counties have their own cosmetology licensing rules?
Your cosmetology license is issued by the state and covers all of Georgia. Local governments handle the business side of running a salon.
State handles
- Cosmetology licenses and renewals
- Approving schools and training hours
- Written and practical exams, through the state’s exam vendor
- Discipline of licensees
City & county handle
- Local business licenses, where required
- Zoning for salon locations
- Building permits if you open or remodel a salon
Governance
Who regulates cosmetologists in Georgia
Licensing authority
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering
404-424-9966
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues master cosmetologist licenses
- Sets training and exam requirements
- Reviews endorsement applications from out-of-state licensees
- Regulates the cosmetology and barbering industry
Maintenance
How to renew your Georgia cosmetology license and keep it active
Our source notes don’t cover Georgia’s renewal cycle, fees or continuing education. Check with the Board before your license is due.
Renewal cycle
Not stated
CE hours
Not stated
Renewal fee
Not stated
Late penalty
Not stated
Renewing your license?
See the Georgia CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Georgia cosmetology license FAQs
How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Georgia?
1,500 school hours over at least 9 months, or 54 semester credit hours at an accredited state technical college.
Do I need a high school diploma?
Yes. Georgia requires proof of a high school diploma or GED.
Can a barber become a cosmetologist in Georgia?
Yes. Licensed barbers can use their crossover hours plus 250 hours at an approved cosmetology school.
What exams do I take?
Two: a closed-book theory exam (100 questions, 120 minutes, 70% to pass) and a 10-task practical that takes 155 minutes. Both are through PSI.
Does Georgia have cosmetology reciprocity?
No, but you can apply by endorsement. Each state board you’re licensed with sends a letter of certification to Georgia.
Do I take the exam before I apply for my license?
Yes. In Georgia you pass both exams first, then submit your license application with your scores.
Sources
Official sources for the Georgia cosmetology license
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbering.
