Cosmetology / Cosmetology Continuing Education / Georgia
- Georgia
- Cosmetology CE
- Practitioners & Instructors
- Updated Oct 2026
Georgia Cosmetology Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses
Georgia cosmetologists and barbers need 5 hours of board-approved CE every two years, including 3 hours of health and safety, while instructors need 15 hours.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers requirements
Hours per cycle
5 hrs
15 hrs for instructors
Cycle
2 years
Even or odd years, depending on license type
Deadline
Varies by license
For example, Master Cosmetologists March 31 of even years
Online allowed?
Yes, all hours
State-approved online courses can cover the requirement
Who needs CE
Who needs continuing education for a Georgia cosmetology license?
Licensed Georgia cosmetology and barber professionals need CE to renew, except at their first renewal or after 25 years licensed, and instructors need more hours than practitioners. Renewal is handled by the state through the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers.
CE applies to
- Master Cosmetologists
- Estheticians
- Nail Technicians
- Hair Designers
- Master Barbers and Barber II
- Cosmetology, Hair Design, Barber, Barber II, Esthetics and Nail Technology Instructors
Exemptions
- Licensees renewing for the first time
- Licensees licensed 25 years or more, with documentation
- By written request with proof: active-duty military, age 65 or older, or permanent disability
- By written request: illness, temporary disability or other hardship, decided case by case
Georgia cosmetology CE at a glance
Georgia cosmetology renewal, one box
| Renewed with | Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers |
| CE required? | Yes, except at first renewal or after 25+ years licensed |
| Hours per cycle | 5 hrs (15 hrs for instructors) |
| Cycle | 2 years |
| Required topics | 3 hrs health and safety; instructors also need half their hours in teacher training |
| Online allowed? | Yes, all hours |
| Deadline | Varies by license type |
| Who reports | You; send provider proof if audited |
| Carryover | Not stated |
| Grace period | 30-day late-renewal period (6 months for most instructors) |
| Renewal fee | $50 ($45 estheticians and nail technicians; $75 instructors) |
| Last updated | October 28, 2026 |
Hours
How many CE hours does a Georgia cosmetology license need?
Practitioners need 5 hours every two years: 3 hours of board health and safety plus 2 hours of registered courses. Instructors need 15 hours, with at least half in teaching techniques, lesson planning or other advanced teacher training.
| Class | Total | Required topics | Electives | Delivery limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer | 5 hrs | 3 hrs health and safety | 2 hrs in a board-registered area | Not stated |
| Esthetician, Nail Technician | 5 hrs | 3 hrs health and safety | 2 hrs in a board-registered area | Not stated |
| Master Barber, Barber II | 5 hrs | 3 hrs health and safety | 2 hrs in a board-registered area | Not stated |
| Instructors (all license types) | 15 hrs | At least half in teacher training; 3 hrs health and safety | Remaining hours in a board-registered area | Since your last instructor license renewal |
Board-registered areas are industry or trade show, health and safety, industry trends, computer skills, business management, and the area of practice for your license type. The health and safety course must be developed or approved by the board.
Deadline
When is the Georgia cosmetology license renewal deadline?
Georgia licenses expire every two years, and the date depends on your license type. Most license types get a one-month late-renewal period right after expiration.
| Deadline rule | Master Cosmetologists: March 31, even years. Estheticians and Nail Technicians: August 31, odd years. Hair Designers: September 30, even years. Master Barbers and Barber II: December 31, even years. Instructors (cosmetology, esthetician, nail technician, master barber): June 30, odd years. Hair design instructors: September 30, odd years |
| Cycle | 2 years |
| Grace period | 30-day late-renewal period (for example, April 1–30 for Master Cosmetologists); 6 months for cosmetology, esthetician, nail technician and master barber instructors |
| Late penalty | $100 late renewal fee ($90 estheticians and nail technicians; $150 instructors) |
| CE completion deadline | Before you renew; instructors count hours earned since their last renewal |
Steps
How to renew a Georgia cosmetology license, step by step
- Take approved CEBefore your deadline
Complete 5 hours (15 for instructors), including the 3-hour board health and safety course. - Get your certificateSame day
Save the certificate of completion for each course you finish. - Confirm it’s reportedBefore you renew
You confirm your own CE when you renew. If you’re audited, you send the board written proof of completion from the provider for each course. - Pay the renewal fee$45–$75 fee
Renew with the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers by your license’s expiration date: $50 for most licenses, $45 for estheticians and nail technicians and $75 for instructors. - Check your license statusAfter renewal
Confirm with the board that your license shows a new expiration date two years out.
Providers
Approved Georgia cosmetology license CE providers
We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Use the board’s approved provider list to confirm a course counts before you pay. The health and safety course must be developed or approved by the board, and other courses must be registered with the board.
Approval
How to check a Georgia cosmetology CE course is approved
Georgia CE must be board approved. The 3-hour health and safety course has to be developed or approved by the board, and your other hours must come from courses previously registered with the board.
- Confirm the health and safety course is board approved.
- Check that your other courses are registered with the board in an approved area.
- Instructors: make sure at least half your 15 hours are teacher training.
Reporting
How Georgia cosmetology CE is reported, and what happens in an audit
You’re responsible for your own CE. The board audits licensees, and if you’re picked you must send written proof of attendance or completion from the provider for each course you claim. Providers must give you a certificate showing their board registration number.
- Keep the provider’s certificate of completion for every course.
- Check the certificate shows the provider’s board registration number.
- Track your health and safety hours separately.
- Instructors: keep proof of teacher-training hours earned since your last renewal.
Cost
How much does Georgia cosmetology license renewal cost?
| Item | Fee | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| License renewal fee | $50 (Master Cosmetologist, Hair Designer, Master Barber, Barber II); $45 (Esthetician, Nail Technician); $75 (Instructor) | Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers |
| Late renewal fee | $100; $90 (Esthetician, Nail Technician); $150 (Instructor) | Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers |
| Reinstatement | $200 application for reinstatement | Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers |
| CE courses (5 or 15 hours) | Varies by provider | CE provider |
Fees from the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers fee schedule (rev. 03/22), checked October 2026. If you reinstate, pay only the reinstatement fee and processing fee, not the renewal fee. A processing fee ($5 online, $10 paper) may apply.
Late or lapsed
Late, expired or inactive Georgia cosmetology license
Practitioner licenses have a 30-day late-renewal period right after the expiration date, with a higher late fee. After that, you reinstate the license with a $200 application and CE for each lapsed period.
Late-renewal period
Master Cosmetologists April 1–30, Estheticians and Nail Technicians September 1–30, Hair Designers October 1–31 and Master Barbers January 1–31. Most instructor licenses have 6 months.
Reinstatement
Pay all required fees, including the $200 reinstatement fee, and document 5 CE hours for each lapsed renewal period.
Makeup CE
You still need your full 5 hours (15 for instructors) to renew.
Who controls
Who controls Georgia cosmetology license renewal?
Renewal authority
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
237 Coliseum Drive, Macon, Georgia 31217
Phone: (404) 424-9966
Responsibilities
- Issues and renews Georgia cosmetology, barber and instructor licenses
- Develops or approves the required health and safety course
- Registers CE courses
- Sets CE hours and topic rules
Getting licensed
Getting a Georgia cosmetology license
Need the license first? Our Georgia guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.
FAQ
Georgia cosmetology license CE FAQs
How many CE hours does a Georgia cosmetologist need?
5 hours every two years: 3 hours of board health and safety and 2 hours in a board-registered area.
How many hours do instructors need?
15 hours since your last renewal, with at least half in teacher training and 3 hours of health and safety.
When is the deadline?
It depends on your license. Master Cosmetologists renew March 31 of even years, Estheticians and Nail Technicians August 31 of odd years, Hair Designers September 30 of even years, and Master Barbers and Barber II December 31 of even years.
What happens if I miss the deadline?
Practitioner licenses get a 30-day late-renewal period with a higher fee ($100, or $90 for estheticians and nail technicians). After that you reinstate with a $200 application and 5 CE hours for each lapsed period.
Can I take CE online?
Yes. State-approved online courses can cover the requirement.
Do hours carry over?
The board’s CE rule doesn’t mention carryover, so plan on new hours each cycle.
Is CE required for my first renewal?
No. Licensees renewing for the first time are exempt, and so are those licensed 25 years or more.
Sources
Official sources for Georgia cosmetology CE rules
- Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers
- Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers, fee schedule
- Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 240-3, Continuing Education
- Ga. Comp. R. & Regs. 240-1, Organization (fees)
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers.
