Cosmetology / Cosmetology License / Illinois

  • Illinois
  • Cosmetology License
  • Written exam only
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Illinois Cosmetology License

Everything you need to train, apply, pass the written exam and get licensed as a cosmetologist in Illinois, pulled together from IDFPR’s requirements.

Last updated October 28, 2026 from Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation requirements

Application fee

Not stated

Check the current fee with IDFPR

Exam time

1.5 hrs

One written exam, no practical

Time to get license

8+ months

1,500 hours over 8 months to 7 years

Continuing ed

Not stated

Confirm renewal rules with IDFPR

Overview

Do you need an Illinois cosmetology license?

Yes. To make a living in Illinois doing hair, nails or skincare, you need a cosmetology license from the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR). Cosmetology covers hair styling, facial hair grooming, nail care, skin treatments, makeup and hair removal.

License required when

  • You cut, style, color or chemically treat hair for pay
  • You groom facial hair for pay
  • You do nail care, skin treatments or makeup for pay
  • You do hair removal (other than electrology) for pay

Common exceptions

  • Cosmetics vendors can demonstrate products without a license
  • Electrology isn’t part of cosmetology, so a cosmetology license doesn’t cover it
  • Cosmetologists can’t affect the living layers of the skin or give medical advice

Working without a license

IDFPR regulates cosmetology and can take action against anyone practicing without a license. Get licensed before you take paying clients.

Your fast-track Illinois cosmetology license checklist

The Illinois application, one page

  • At least 16, past compulsory school age or a graduate
  • 1,500 hours in an approved program
  • Diploma, transcript or GED
  • Government ID and Social Security card
  • Approved application, then Continental Testing booking
  • Passing 011 exam score (75%)

Types

Illinois cosmetology license types and classifications

Illinois issues a cosmetology license that covers hair, nails, skin and makeup. Nail technology falls within cosmetology but is limited to nail and skin care.

011

Full scope

Licensed Cosmetologist

Hair styling, facial hair grooming, nail care, skin treatments, makeup and hair removal. Excludes electrology.

Exam

Exam 011 (written)

Limit

1,500 hrs

Requirements

Illinois cosmetology license requirements, class by class

You need 1,500 hours either way. A cosmetology school may count some barber school training toward that total.

RequirementCosmetology schoolWith barber school credit
Minimum age1616
EducationPast compulsory school age, or high school diploma or equivalentPast compulsory school age, or high school diploma or equivalent
Training hours1,500 in an approved programUp to 1,000 barber school hours may count toward the 1,500, at the school’s discretion
Program length8 months to 7 years8 months to 7 years
Written examRequired (75% to pass)Required (75% to pass)
Practical examNot requiredNot required

Steps

How to get your Illinois cosmetology license, step by step

  1. Check that you qualifyBefore you start
    You need to be at least 16 and either past compulsory school age or a high school graduate (or equivalent).
  2. Complete 1,500 training hours8+ months
    Finish an IDFPR-approved program over at least 8 months and no more than 7 years. Study in another state or country can be credited.
  3. Submit your applicationAfter training
    Attach your diploma, transcript or GED, a government ID and your Social Security card. Details are on IDFPR’s cosmetology page.
  4. Schedule with Continental TestingAfter approval
    Once approved, book exam 011 with Continental Testing Services at 800-359-1313.
  5. Pass the written examExam day
    The exam is closed book, 90 minutes, and you need 75% to pass. There’s no practical exam.
  6. Get licensedAfter you pass
    IDFPR issues your license once your application and passing score are on file.

Exam

What to expect on the Illinois cosmetology exam

Illinois requires one exam: the 011 Licensed Cosmetologist written exam. There’s no practical exam.

Format

Closed book, written

Questions

Not stated

Passing score

75%

Exam vendor

Continental Testing

Scoring & content

  • Exam 011, 90 minutes, 75% to pass
  • Salon safety and sanitation 32%
  • Cut and style hair 13%, waving and relaxing 13%, hair coloring and lightening 13%
  • Analyze and treat scalp, hair, skin and nails 11%
  • Nail services 9%, skin services 9%

Retake policy

  • Retake rules aren’t stated in our source notes
  • Schedule or reschedule with Continental Testing Services at 800-359-1313
  • Ask IDFPR about retake fees before you book

Exam references · Closed book

The Illinois Licensed Cosmetologist exam is closed book, so no books are allowed in the testing room. The exam is based on these references, which you can use to study.

BookEditionUse
Milady Standard CosmetologyNot statedStudy only
Salon FundamentalsNot statedStudy only
Pivot Point Fundamentals: CosmetologyNot statedStudy only

Prep

Best Illinois cosmetology exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does an Illinois cosmetology license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
License applicationFixedNot stated
Written exam (011)FixedNot stated
Cosmetology schoolVariableVaries
Textbooks and suppliesVariableVaries
State fees and examFees aren’t stated in our source notesNot stated

Check current fees with IDFPR before you apply.

Reciprocity

Does Illinois accept out-of-state cosmetology licenses?

If you trained or were licensed outside Illinois, some of that can count here.

Other states — training hours credited

Time spent studying cosmetology under the laws of another state, territory or foreign country is credited toward Illinois’s required period of study.

Other states — licensed applicants

Out-of-state licensees typically apply with an application, fees and proof of license from their current board. Confirm the current process with IDFPR.

Local

Do Illinois cities and counties have their own cosmetology licensing rules?

Your cosmetology license is issued by the state and covers all of Illinois. Local governments handle the business side of running a salon.

State handles

  • Cosmetology licenses and renewals
  • Approving schools and training hours
  • Written and practical exams, through the state’s exam vendor
  • Discipline of licensees

City & county handle

  • Local business licenses, where required
  • Zoning for salon locations
  • Building permits if you open or remodel a salon

Governance

Who regulates cosmetologists in Illinois

Licensing authority

Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation

idfpr.illinois.gov/profs/cosmo

Oversight responsibilities

  • Issues cosmetology licenses
  • Approves cosmetology training programs
  • Sets exam requirements
  • Regulates cosmetologists and barbers

Maintenance

How to renew your Illinois cosmetology license and keep it active

Our source notes don’t cover Illinois’s renewal cycle, fees or continuing education. Check with IDFPR before your license is due.

Renewal cycle

Not stated

CE hours

Not stated

Renewal fee

Not stated

Late penalty

Not stated

Renewing your license?

See the Illinois CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.

FAQ

Illinois cosmetology license FAQs

How many hours do you need for a cosmetology license in Illinois?

1,500 hours in an IDFPR-approved program, taken over at least 8 months and no more than 7 years.

Is there a practical exam in Illinois?

No. Illinois only requires the written 011 Licensed Cosmetologist exam.

What score do I need to pass?

75%. The exam is closed book and you get 90 minutes.

Do barber school hours count toward cosmetology in Illinois?

They can. A cosmetology school may accept up to 1,000 barber school hours toward the 1,500-hour requirement, at its discretion.

How old do you have to be?

At least 16.

Who schedules the Illinois cosmetology exam?

Continental Testing Services. Call 800-359-1313 once your application is approved.

Sources

Official sources for the Illinois cosmetology license

  1. Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, Cosmetology
  2. Continental Testing Services, Illinois 011 Licensed Cosmetologist exam

Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.