Cosmetology / Cosmetology Continuing Education / Illinois
- Illinois
- Cosmetology CE
- Practitioners & Teachers
- Updated Oct 2026
Illinois Cosmetology Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses
Illinois cosmetologists need 14 hours of state-approved CE every two years, estheticians, nail technicians and hair braiders need 10, and teachers need 20 to 24.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) requirements
Hours per cycle
10–24 hrs
14 for cosmetologists, 10 for other practitioners, 20–24 for teachers
Cycle
2 years
Even or odd years, depending on license type
Deadline
Sept 30 or Oct 31
Last day of the month your license expires
Online allowed?
Yes, all hours
In-person and online individual study courses from approved sponsors can cover the total
Who needs CE
Who needs continuing education for an Illinois cosmetology license?
Every Illinois cosmetology practitioner and teacher needs CE to renew. Renewal is handled by the state through IDFPR, not your city.
CE applies to
- Cosmetologists
- Estheticians
- Nail Technicians
- Hair Braiders
- Cosmetology Teachers
- Esthetics, Nail Technology and Hair Braider Teachers
Exemptions
- First renewal: profession-specific CE isn’t required, but the 1-hour sexual harassment prevention course is
- Waivers for good cause, such as military service, illness or hardship, if you apply with your renewal
First renewal?
IDFPR says profession-specific CE isn’t required for your first renewal, but the 1-hour sexual harassment prevention course is. IDFPR also says 1 hour of CE at the initial renewal shall cover domestic violence and sexual assault awareness, so check with IDFPR what applies to you.
Illinois cosmetology CE at a glance
Illinois cosmetology renewal, one box
| Renewed with | Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR) |
| CE required? | Yes, for practitioner and teacher licenses |
| Hours per cycle | 10–24 hrs, by license type |
| Cycle | 2 years |
| Required topics | 1 hr sexual harassment prevention every renewal; 1 hr domestic violence and sexual assault awareness at the initial renewal |
| Online allowed? | Yes, all hours |
| Deadline | Sept 30 or Oct 31, by license type |
| Who reports | Licensee certifies on the renewal application |
| Carryover | Not stated |
| Grace period | Not stated |
| Renewal fee | Not stated |
| Last updated | October 28, 2026 |
Hours
How many CE hours does an Illinois cosmetology license need?
Cosmetologists need 14 hours every two years: 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention and 13 hours in approved subject areas. Estheticians, nail technicians and hair braiders need 10 hours: 1 hour of sexual harassment prevention and 9 in approved subjects. Teachers add 10 hours on teaching, so cosmetology teachers need 24 hours and esthetics, nail technology and hair braiding teachers need 20 hours.
| Class | Total | Required topics | Electives | Delivery limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cosmetologist | 14 hrs | 1 hr sexual harassment prevention; 1 hr domestic violence and sexual assault awareness at the initial renewal | 13 hrs. Approved subjects: product chemistry, machines & implements, sanitation, hazardous chemicals, exposure minimization, anatomy of skin, scalp, hair & nails, human relations, management & marketing | In person or online individual study; instructor credit up to 10 hrs |
| Esthetician, Nail Technician, Hair Braider | 10 hrs | 1 hr sexual harassment prevention; 1 hr domestic violence and sexual assault awareness at the initial renewal | 9 hrs. Approved subjects: product chemistry, machines & implements, sanitation, hazardous chemicals, exposure minimization, anatomy of skin, scalp, hair & nails, human relations, management & marketing | In person or online individual study; instructor credit up to 10 hrs |
| Cosmetology Teacher | 24 hrs | 1 hr sexual harassment prevention; 10 hrs teaching methodology, educational psychology, classroom management or other teaching courses | 13 hrs in approved cosmetology subjects | In person or online individual study; instructor credit up to 10 hrs |
| Esthetics, Nail Tech & Hair Braider Teacher | 20 hrs | 1 hr sexual harassment prevention; 10 hrs teaching methodology, educational psychology, classroom management or other teaching courses | 9 hrs in approved subjects for your profession | In person or online individual study; instructor credit up to 10 hrs |
A CE hour is at least 50 minutes of class time. CE must be completed within the 2 years before your license expires. On every renewal after your first, 1 hour of CE may cover domestic violence and sexual assault awareness, but it isn’t required. CE that fits more than one license you hold can count for both.
Deadline
When is the Illinois cosmetology license renewal deadline?
Illinois cosmetology licenses expire every two years on the last day of the month, in an even or odd year depending on your license type.
| Deadline rule | Cosmetologists and Estheticians: September 30, odd years. Nail Technicians and Hair Braiders: October 31, even years. Teachers: September 30 |
| Cycle | 2 years |
| Next deadlines | Nail Technicians and Hair Braiders: Oct 31, 2026. Cosmetologists and Estheticians: Sept 30, 2027 |
| Grace period | Not stated |
| Late penalty | Not stated |
| CE completion deadline | Before you renew |
Steps
How to renew an Illinois cosmetology license, step by step
- Take approved CEBefore your deadline
Complete your 10, 14, 20 or 24 hours of CE from an IDFPR-approved sponsor, including the 1-hour sexual harassment prevention course. - Get your certificateSame day
Save the certificate of completion for each course you finish. - Confirm it’s reportedBefore you renew
You certify on your renewal application that you’ve completed your CE. Don’t wait on a provider; keep your own certificates in case you’re picked for IDFPR’s random audit. - Pay the renewal feeFee not stated
Submit your renewal and fee to IDFPR by your license’s expiration date. - Check your license statusAfter renewal
Confirm with IDFPR that your license shows a new expiration date two years out.
Providers
Approved Illinois cosmetology license CE providers
We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Use the board’s approved provider list to confirm a course counts before you pay. Courses must be state approved to count.
Approval
How to check an Illinois cosmetology CE course is approved
Only CE from a sponsor registered with IDFPR, or another qualifying provider, counts toward Illinois cosmetology CE. Courses must fall within your profession’s approved subject areas, and online individual study courses must include an exam and a way to verify you finished.
- Confirm the sponsor is on IDFPR’s approved CE sponsor list before you pay.
- Check that the topic is in your profession’s approved subject areas and not on IDFPR’s prohibited practices list.
- Check that your total matches your license type: 10, 14, 20 or 24 hours.
- Include the 1-hour sexual harassment prevention course.
Reporting
How Illinois cosmetology CE is reported, and what happens in an audit
You certify on your renewal application that you’ve completed the required CE from an approved sponsor within the 2 years before your license expires. IDFPR checks compliance through random audits.
- Keep a certificate of attendance or completion for every course.
- Keep proof of your domestic violence and sexual assault awareness hour from your first renewal.
- If you’re picked for a random audit, you must produce your proof.
- To restore a license to active status, you submit proof of your CE.
Cost
How much does Illinois cosmetology license renewal cost?
| Item | Fee | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| License renewal fee | Not stated | IDFPR |
| Late renewal fee | Not stated | IDFPR |
| CE courses (10 to 24 hours) | Varies by provider | CE provider |
IDFPR’s cosmetology page and CE fact sheet don’t list renewal fees. Check the amount when you renew online.
Late or lapsed
Late, expired or inactive Illinois cosmetology license
If you miss the renewal window and the online portal won’t let you renew, you must request a reinstatement application from IDFPR.
Grace period
Not stated by IDFPR. Contact IDFPR before your license expires if you’re running late.
Reinstatement
Once the portal closes, request a reinstatement application from IDFPR. You’ll submit proof of your CE, and CE can’t be waived when restoring a license.
CE waiver
If military service, illness or hardship kept you from finishing, file your renewal with the fee and a waiver request. Your license is renewed while IDFPR reviews it.
Makeup CE
You still need your full CE hours for your license type before you can renew.
Who controls
Who controls Illinois cosmetology license renewal?
Renewal authority
Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR)
555 West Monroe Street, 5th Floor, Chicago, IL 60661
320 West Washington Street, 3rd Floor, Springfield, IL 62786
1 (888) 473-4858
Responsibilities
- Issues and renews Illinois cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology, hair braiding and teacher licenses
- Sets CE hours by license type
- Approves CE sponsors and audits CE compliance
Getting licensed
Getting an Illinois cosmetology license
Need the license first? Our Illinois guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.
FAQ
Illinois cosmetology license CE FAQs
How many CE hours does an Illinois cosmetologist need?
14 hours every two years. Estheticians, nail technicians and hair braiders need 10.
How many hours do teachers need?
Cosmetology teachers need 24 hours. Esthetics, nail technology and hair braider teachers need 20.
When is the deadline?
Cosmetologists and estheticians renew September 30 of odd years. Nail technicians and hair braiders renew October 31 of even years. Teacher licenses expire September 30.
Is CE required for my first renewal?
IDFPR says profession-specific CE isn’t required for your first renewal, but the 1-hour sexual harassment prevention course is. Its fact sheet also says 1 hour at the initial renewal shall cover domestic violence and sexual assault awareness, so confirm with IDFPR.
Can I take CE online?
Yes. You can earn all your hours through in-person courses and online individual study courses from approved sponsors.
Do hours carry over?
IDFPR’s fact sheet doesn’t say extra hours carry over, so plan on new hours each cycle.
Who reports my hours?
You do. You certify on your renewal application that you’ve finished your CE, and IDFPR may ask for proof in a random audit.
Sources
Official sources for Illinois cosmetology CE rules
- Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation, cosmetology
- IDFPR, barber, cosmetology, esthetics, hair braiding and nail technology CE fact sheet
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR).
