Construction / Electrician License / Utah
- Utah
- Electrician License
- Journeyman, Master & Residential
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Utah Electrician License
How to qualify, test and stay licensed as a Utah journeyman, master, residential journeyman or residential master electrician, based on Division of Professional Licensing requirements.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Utah Division of Professional Licensing requirements
Application fee
$116
All classes; plus $85 written exam and $25 per practical task
Exam time
4 hrs
Journeyman written exam, plus a 110-minute practical
Time to get license
~4 yrs
8,000 hours in an approved apprenticeship for journeyman
Continuing ed
16 hrs
Before each renewal
Overview
Do you need a Utah electrician license?
Yes. Utah’s Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) licenses electricians under the Electricians Licensing Act. Utah has separate commercial and residential tracks, each with a journeyman and a master level.
License required when
- You wire, install or repair electrical equipment for light, heat or power
- You plan, lay out or supervise electrical installations (master level)
- You do residential wiring, mainly with nonmetallic sheathed cable (residential licenses)
- You’re gaining experience as an apprentice, which counts only as a licensed apprentice electrician
Common exceptions
- Residential licenses cover residential projects only, so commercial work needs a journeyman or master license
- Our sources don’t list exemptions from licensing, so check with DOPL before doing any electrical work unlicensed
Penalties for unlicensed work
DOPL can take enforcement action against anyone working outside their license. Our sources don’t state penalty amounts, so check DOPL and the Construction Trades Licensing Act (Title 58, Chapter 55) for the current rules.
Your fast-track Utah electrician license checklist
The Utah application, one page
- Licensed apprentice hours documented
- Apprenticeship or degree records
- Prov pre-approval
- Passing written exam score
- Passing practical exam (journeyman levels)
- Application submitted to DOPL
Types
Utah electrician license types and classifications
Pick commercial or residential first, then journeyman or master. Masters plan and supervise; journeymen do the hands-on wiring.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Wires, installs and repairs electrical apparatus and equipment for light, heat, power and other purposes.
Exam
Journeyman + practical
Limit
All building types
MST
Top tier
Master Electrician
Plans, lays out and supervises the wiring, installation and repair of electrical equipment.
Exam
Master Law & Rules
Limit
Plan and supervise
RJ
Homes
Residential Journeyman Electrician
Wires, installs and repairs electrical equipment on buildings using primarily nonmetallic sheathed cable.
Exam
Residential + practical
Limit
Residential work
RM
Homes, supervisory
Residential Master Electrician
Plans, lays out and supervises electrical installations on residential projects.
Exam
Master Law & Rules
Limit
Residential projects
Requirements
Utah electrician license requirements, class by class
Each license has its own experience path. Masters can qualify through licensed journeyman time, a degree, or (residential) more apprentice hours.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master | Residential Journeyman | Residential Master |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 8,000 hrs in an approved apprenticeship (4 yrs), or 16,000 hrs in 8 yrs | 4 yrs as a licensed journeyman | 3,000 hrs residential as a licensed apprentice | 8,000 hrs residential as a licensed apprentice |
| Education option | Board-approved apprenticeship | 2-yr AAS + 2 yrs journeyman, or BSEE + 1 yr licensed | 2-yr apprenticeship education (288+ classroom hrs) or competency exam | BSEE or master’s in EE + 2,000 hrs residential |
| Written exam | Journeyman: 100 questions, 4 hrs | Master Law & Rules: 80 questions | Residential: 90 questions, 4 hrs | Master Law & Rules: 80 questions |
| Practical exam | 6 tasks, 110 min | Not needed if you hold a journeyman license | 4 tasks, 70 min | Not stated |
| Passing score | 75% | Not stated | 75% | Not stated |
| Application fee | $116 | $116 | $116 | $116 |
Steps
How to get your Utah electrician license, step by step
- Pick your trackBefore you start
Decide between the commercial (journeyman and master) and residential tracks. Experience only counts once you’re a licensed apprentice. - Complete your apprenticeship hours~4 years
Journeyman candidates need 8,000 hours in a board-approved apprenticeship over 4 years. Residential journeyman candidates need 288+ classroom hours and 3,000 hours of residential experience. - Get pre-approved with ProvBefore you schedule
Contact Prov at 877-228-3926 and review the Prov exam bulletin. Pre-approval is required before you can schedule. - Pass the written examExam day
Journeyman: 100 questions, 4 hours, 75% to pass. Residential journeyman: 90 questions, 4 hours, 75% to pass. Masters take the 80-question Law & Rules exam. - Pass the practical examBring your tools
A pass/fail hands-on test: 6 tasks in 110 minutes (journeyman) or 4 tasks in 70 minutes (residential). Bring the required tools. - Apply with DOPLAfter you pass
Submit your application to the Division of Professional Licensing. Call 801-530-6628 with questions.
Exam
What to expect on the Utah electrician exam
Since August 1, 2025, Utah uses three written exams (Journeyman, Master Law & Rules, and Residential) in place of the old separate code and theory exams. Journeyman-level candidates also take a hands-on practical exam.
Format
Open book + practical
Questions
100 / 90 / 80
Passing score
75%
Exam vendor
Prov
Scoring & content
- Journeyman: 100 questions, 240 minutes, 75% to pass, open book
- Residential journeyman: 90 questions, 240 minutes, 75% to pass, open book
- Master Law & Rules: 80 questions on NEC topics, NFPA 70E, Utah licensing laws and rules, and Utah NEC amendments
- Practical: pass/fail, covering torque settings, switch wiring, schematics, and conduit bending or motor wiring
- References may be tabbed and highlighted
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- Journeyman license holders don’t retake the practical exam for master
- Pre-approval from Prov is required before scheduling
- Check the Prov bulletin for current retake and rescheduling rules
Exam references · Open book
Utah’s electrician exams are open book, and the approved references can be tabbed and highlighted and used during the test. The list covers the Journeyman, Residential Journeyman and Master Electrician Law and Rules exams.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Journeyman and Residential exams | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Ugly’s Electrical References — all exams | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| Utah General Rule of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, R156-1 — all exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Electricians Licensing Act Rule, R156-55b — all exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 55 — Journeyman and Residential exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code Handbook — Master Law and Rules exam | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 70E: Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace — Master Law and Rules exam | 2024 | Allowed in exam |
| State Construction and Fire Codes Act, Utah Code 15A-3-601 — Master Law and Rules exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Division of Professional Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 1 — Master Law and Rules exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Workplace Safety and Security, R614-1-5 — Master Law and Rules exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Labor Commission Industrial Accidents laws and rules — Master Law and Rules exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
Since August 1, 2025, the Journeyman, Residential and Master Law and Rules exams replaced the old separate code and theory exams.
Prep
Best Utah electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Utah electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| DOPL application fee (all classes) | Fixed | $116 |
| Written exam fee (Prov) | Fixed | $85 |
| Practical exam fee (Prov, $25 per task) | Fixed | $150 journeyman (6 tasks); $100 residential (4 tasks) |
| NEC and other reference books | Variable | Varies |
| Tools for the practical exam | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Journeyman; excludes books and tools | $351 |
Fees from the DOPL fee schedule and electrician application form, and the Prov Utah Electrical candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Utah accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Utah has journeyman and master reciprocity agreements with several states. You can also qualify by reciprocity with the NASCLA exam, as long as it comes with a license held for 12 months in the state where you used the exam.
Journeyman states — journeyman license
Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma and Oregon.
Idaho — master license
Master-level reciprocity.
Oregon — master license
Master-level reciprocity.
Wyoming — master license
Master-level reciprocity.
NASCLA exam — exam credit
Accepted with a 12-month license from the state where you used the exam.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant and take the Utah exams.
Local
Do Utah cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Your DOPL license is good statewide. Utah adopts the electrical code at the state level, with Utah amendments, while local building departments handle permits and inspections.
State handles
- Electrician licenses and renewals through DOPL
- Exams, through Prov
- Code adoption and Utah NEC amendments (Title 15A)
- Continuing education requirements
City & county handle
- Electrical permits for individual jobs
- Inspections of completed work
- Any local business licensing
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Utah
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues and renews journeyman, master and residential electrician licenses
- Works with the Electricians Licensing Board on experience requirements
- Enforces the Electricians Licensing Act Rule (R156-55b)
- Sets continuing education requirements
Maintenance
How to renew your Utah electrician license and keep it active
Complete 16 hours of continuing education each licensing period before you renew. Electrician licenses expire November 30 of even years, and the renewal fee is $84.
Renewal cycle
Every 2 years (Nov 30, even years)
CE hours
16
Renewal fee
$84
Late penalty
+$20 within 30 days; +$50 after 30 days
Renewing your license?
See the Utah CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Utah electrician license FAQs
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Utah?
About 4 years. You need 8,000 hours of verifiable experience in a board-approved apprenticeship within 4 years, then you pass the journeyman and practical exams.
How do I become a master electrician in Utah?
Most people need 4 years as a licensed journeyman. A 2-year AAS degree plus 2 years as a journeyman, or a BSEE plus 1 year of licensed experience, also qualifies. Then you pass the 80-question Master Law & Rules exam.
Is the Utah electrician exam open book?
Yes. The written exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight your references.
What’s on the Utah electrician practical exam?
It’s a pass/fail hands-on test. The journeyman version has 6 tasks in 110 minutes, including conduit bending and motor control. The residential version has 4 tasks in 70 minutes.
What’s the difference between a journeyman and residential journeyman license?
A residential journeyman works on residential projects using mainly nonmetallic sheathed cable. It needs 3,000 hours of residential experience and a 90-question exam, compared with 8,000 hours and a 100-question exam for journeyman.
Does Utah have electrician reciprocity?
Yes. Journeyman reciprocity covers Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma and Oregon. Master reciprocity covers Idaho, Oregon and Wyoming.
How much continuing education do Utah electricians need?
16 hours each licensing period, completed before you renew.
Sources
Official sources for the Utah electrician license
- Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Electricians
- Prov, Utah Electrical exam bulletin
- Utah Electricians Licensing Act Rule, R156-55b
- Utah General Rule of the Division of Professional Licensing, R156-1
- Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 55
- Division of Professional Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 1
- State Construction and Fire Codes Act, 15A-3-601
- Utah DOPL Fee Schedule
- Utah DOPL Electrician Application (PDF)
- Utah DOPL Electrician Renewal/Reinstatement Form (PDF)
- Prov, Utah Electrical Candidate Information Bulletin
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing.
