Construction / Code Official License / Utah

  • Utah
  • Building Inspector
  • Limited & Combination
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Utah Building Inspector License

Utah licenses building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical inspectors through the Division of Professional Licensing. There’s no separate state exam: you qualify with ICC certifications.

Last updated October 28, 2026 from Utah Division of Professional Licensing requirements

Application fee

Not stated

Check the current DOPL fee schedule

Exam time

Varies

Set by each ICC certification exam

Time to get license

Varies

Depends on how many ICC certifications you need

Continuing ed

Not stated

Check with DOPL at renewal

Overview

Do you need a Utah code official license?

Yes, if a local regulator, state regulator or compliance agency employs you to inspect construction in Utah. You need a DOPL inspector license backed by ICC certifications.

License required when

  • You inspect building, electrical, plumbing or mechanical work
  • You check construction, alterations, remodels, repairs or installations against the state codes adopted under Title 15A
  • You work for a local regulator, state regulator or compliance agency
  • You take action based on what you find during inspections

Common exceptions

  • Work outside inspection, such as permit counter or clerical roles
  • Inspections not done for a regulator or compliance agency

Working without a license

DOPL licenses inspectors in Utah and can take disciplinary action, including denying, suspending or revoking a license, for rule violations. Confirm you’re licensed before you start inspecting.

Your fast-track Utah code official license checklist

The Utah application, one page

  • Choose limited or combination
  • Current ICC (or IAEI or AWS) certification copies
  • Qualifying Questionnaire answered
  • Supporting documents for any “yes” answers
  • Application and fee to DOPL

Types

Utah code official license types and classifications

Utah has two inspector licenses. A limited license covers the trades you hold certifications in. A combination license covers all four.

LTD

Single trade

Limited Inspector

Inspects in the areas covered by your ICC (or IAEI or AWS) certifications, such as building only or plumbing only.

Exam

One or more ICC exams

Limit

Trades you’re certified in

COMBO

All trades

Combination Inspector

Inspects building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical work.

Exam

ICC Combination, or all four trades

Limit

All four trades

Requirements

Utah code official license requirements, class by class

Both licenses use the same application. The difference is which certifications you send in.

RequirementLimited InspectorCombination Inspector
Application and feeRequiredRequired
Qualifying QuestionnaireDocuments for any “yes” answersDocuments for any “yes” answers
CertificationsAt least one accepted ICC, IAEI or AWS inspector certificationICC Combination Inspector, or building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical
Electrical optionICC Electrical Inspector or IAEI General ElectricalICC Electrical Inspector or IAEI General Electrical
State examNone beyond certification examsNone beyond certification exams
ExperienceNot statedNot stated

Steps

How to get your Utah code official license, step by step

  1. Pick your licenseBefore you start
    Choose a limited license for one or a few trades, or a combination license for all four.
  2. Earn your certificationsExam day
    Pass the ICC exams you need, such as B1 or B2 for building, E1 or E2 for electrical, P1 or P2 for plumbing and M1 or M2 for mechanical.
  3. Answer the Qualifying QuestionnaireBefore you apply
    Gather supporting documents for any “yes” answers.
  4. Apply to DOPLApplication
    Submit your application, fee and copies of your certifications. Call DOPL at 801-530-6628 or start at dopl.utah.gov/building-inspector.
  5. Get licensedAfter approval
    Once DOPL approves your application, you can inspect in the trades your license covers.

Exam

What to expect on the Utah code official exam

Utah doesn’t give its own inspector exam. Each ICC certification has its own exam, and those certifications are what qualify you.

Format

ICC certification exams

Questions

Not stated

Passing score

Not stated

Exam vendor

ICC

Scoring & content

  • Commercial: B2 Building, E2 Electrical, P2 Plumbing, M2 Mechanical
  • Residential: B1 Building, E1 Electrical, P1 Plumbing, M1 Mechanical
  • C8 Combination Inspector qualifies for the combination license
  • IAEI General Electrical and AWS Certified Welding Inspector also count for a limited license

Retake policy

  • Retakes follow each certifying body’s rules
  • Our source doesn’t state Utah-specific retake rules
  • Call DOPL at 801-530-6628 with questions

Exam references

The state hasn’t published a reference list for this exam in our sources. Check the candidate bulletin from the exam vendor before you buy books.

Utah licensing is based on ICC inspector certifications (B1, B2, E1, E2, M1, M2, P1, P2 and C8), each with its own reference list in the ICC exam bulletin.

Prep

Best Utah code official exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does a Utah code official license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
DOPL application feeFixedNot stated
ICC certification examsVariableNot stated
Code booksVariableVaries
State fees and examsDepends on how many certifications you needNot stated

A combination license through four separate trade certifications means four exams.

Reciprocity

Does Utah accept out-of-state code official licenses?

Utah’s inspector licenses are built on national certifications, so ICC certifications you already hold can count toward a Utah license.

No reciprocity agreements

Our source lists no state-to-state agreements. Apply to DOPL as a new applicant with copies of your current certifications.

Local

Do Utah cities and counties have their own code official licensing rules?

DOPL licenses inspectors statewide. Cities, counties and other agencies hire inspectors and run local inspections under the state codes.

State handles

  • Limited and combination inspector licenses
  • Deciding which certifications qualify
  • Applications and the Qualifying Questionnaire

City & county handle

  • Hiring building inspectors
  • Permits and inspections
  • Applying the state construction codes on local projects

Governance

Who regulates building inspectors in Utah

Licensing authority

Utah Division of Professional Licensing

801-530-6628

dopl.utah.gov/building-inspector

Oversight responsibilities

  • Issues limited and combination inspector licenses
  • Sets which ICC, IAEI and AWS certifications qualify
  • Reviews applications and Qualifying Questionnaire answers

Maintenance

How to renew your Utah code official license and keep it active

Our source doesn’t give Utah’s renewal cycle, fee or continuing education rules for inspectors. Check with DOPL before your license expires, and keep your ICC certifications current.

Renewal cycle

Not stated

CE hours

Not stated

Renewal fee

Not stated

Late penalty

Not stated

FAQ

Utah code official license FAQs

Does Utah have a state building inspector exam?

No. Utah licenses inspectors based on ICC certifications (or IAEI or AWS for some limited licenses), and each of those has its own exam.

What’s the difference between a limited and combination inspector?

A limited inspector covers only the trades they’re certified in. A combination inspector covers building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical.

Which ICC certifications qualify for a combination license?

An ICC Combination Inspector certification (C8), or separate building, electrical, plumbing and mechanical inspector certifications.

Can I use an IAEI certification?

Yes. IAEI General Electrical can stand in for the ICC electrical inspector certification.

Who issues inspector licenses in Utah?

The Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL). You can reach them at 801-530-6628.

What’s the Qualifying Questionnaire?

It’s part of the DOPL application. If you answer “yes” to any question, include supporting documents.

Sources

Official sources for the Utah code official license

  1. Utah Division of Professional Licensing, Building Inspector
  2. International Code Council (ICC), inspector certifications
  3. Utah Code Title 15A, State Construction and Fire Codes Act

Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing.