Construction / Electrician License / Utah

  • Utah
  • Electrician License
  • Journeyman, Master & Residential
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your Utah Electrician License

How to qualify, test and stay licensed as a Utah journeyman, master, residential journeyman or residential master electrician, based on Division of Professional Licensing requirements.

Last updated October 27, 2026 from Utah Division of Professional Licensing requirements

Application fee

$116

All classes; plus $85 written exam and $25 per practical task

Exam time

4 hrs

Journeyman written exam, plus a 110-minute practical

Time to get license

~4 yrs

8,000 hours in an approved apprenticeship for journeyman

Continuing ed

16 hrs

Before each renewal

Overview

Do you need a Utah electrician license?

Yes. Utah’s Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL) licenses electricians under the Electricians Licensing Act. Utah has separate commercial and residential tracks, each with a journeyman and a master level.

License required when

  • You wire, install or repair electrical equipment for light, heat or power
  • You plan, lay out or supervise electrical installations (master level)
  • You do residential wiring, mainly with nonmetallic sheathed cable (residential licenses)
  • You’re gaining experience as an apprentice, which counts only as a licensed apprentice electrician

Common exceptions

  • Residential licenses cover residential projects only, so commercial work needs a journeyman or master license
  • Our sources don’t list exemptions from licensing, so check with DOPL before doing any electrical work unlicensed

Penalties for unlicensed work

DOPL can take enforcement action against anyone working outside their license. Our sources don’t state penalty amounts, so check DOPL and the Construction Trades Licensing Act (Title 58, Chapter 55) for the current rules.

Your fast-track Utah electrician license checklist

The Utah application, one page

  • Licensed apprentice hours documented
  • Apprenticeship or degree records
  • Prov pre-approval
  • Passing written exam score
  • Passing practical exam (journeyman levels)
  • Application submitted to DOPL

Types

Utah electrician license types and classifications

Pick commercial or residential first, then journeyman or master. Masters plan and supervise; journeymen do the hands-on wiring.

JRY

Most common

Journeyman Electrician

Wires, installs and repairs electrical apparatus and equipment for light, heat, power and other purposes.

Exam

Journeyman + practical

Limit

All building types

MST

Top tier

Master Electrician

Plans, lays out and supervises the wiring, installation and repair of electrical equipment.

Exam

Master Law & Rules

Limit

Plan and supervise

RJ

Homes

Residential Journeyman Electrician

Wires, installs and repairs electrical equipment on buildings using primarily nonmetallic sheathed cable.

Exam

Residential + practical

Limit

Residential work

RM

Homes, supervisory

Residential Master Electrician

Plans, lays out and supervises electrical installations on residential projects.

Exam

Master Law & Rules

Limit

Residential projects

Requirements

Utah electrician license requirements, class by class

Each license has its own experience path. Masters can qualify through licensed journeyman time, a degree, or (residential) more apprentice hours.

RequirementJourneymanMasterResidential JourneymanResidential Master
Experience8,000 hrs in an approved apprenticeship (4 yrs), or 16,000 hrs in 8 yrs4 yrs as a licensed journeyman3,000 hrs residential as a licensed apprentice8,000 hrs residential as a licensed apprentice
Education optionBoard-approved apprenticeship2-yr AAS + 2 yrs journeyman, or BSEE + 1 yr licensed2-yr apprenticeship education (288+ classroom hrs) or competency examBSEE or master’s in EE + 2,000 hrs residential
Written examJourneyman: 100 questions, 4 hrsMaster Law & Rules: 80 questionsResidential: 90 questions, 4 hrsMaster Law & Rules: 80 questions
Practical exam6 tasks, 110 minNot needed if you hold a journeyman license4 tasks, 70 minNot stated
Passing score75%Not stated75%Not stated
Application fee$116$116$116$116

Steps

How to get your Utah electrician license, step by step

  1. Pick your trackBefore you start
    Decide between the commercial (journeyman and master) and residential tracks. Experience only counts once you’re a licensed apprentice.
  2. Complete your apprenticeship hours~4 years
    Journeyman candidates need 8,000 hours in a board-approved apprenticeship over 4 years. Residential journeyman candidates need 288+ classroom hours and 3,000 hours of residential experience.
  3. Get pre-approved with ProvBefore you schedule
    Contact Prov at 877-228-3926 and review the Prov exam bulletin. Pre-approval is required before you can schedule.
  4. Pass the written examExam day
    Journeyman: 100 questions, 4 hours, 75% to pass. Residential journeyman: 90 questions, 4 hours, 75% to pass. Masters take the 80-question Law & Rules exam.
  5. Pass the practical examBring your tools
    A pass/fail hands-on test: 6 tasks in 110 minutes (journeyman) or 4 tasks in 70 minutes (residential). Bring the required tools.
  6. Apply with DOPLAfter you pass
    Submit your application to the Division of Professional Licensing. Call 801-530-6628 with questions.

Exam

What to expect on the Utah electrician exam

Since August 1, 2025, Utah uses three written exams (Journeyman, Master Law & Rules, and Residential) in place of the old separate code and theory exams. Journeyman-level candidates also take a hands-on practical exam.

Format

Open book + practical

Questions

100 / 90 / 80

Passing score

75%

Exam vendor

Prov

Scoring & content

  • Journeyman: 100 questions, 240 minutes, 75% to pass, open book
  • Residential journeyman: 90 questions, 240 minutes, 75% to pass, open book
  • Master Law & Rules: 80 questions on NEC topics, NFPA 70E, Utah licensing laws and rules, and Utah NEC amendments
  • Practical: pass/fail, covering torque settings, switch wiring, schematics, and conduit bending or motor wiring
  • References may be tabbed and highlighted

Retake policy

  • Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
  • Journeyman license holders don’t retake the practical exam for master
  • Pre-approval from Prov is required before scheduling
  • Check the Prov bulletin for current retake and rescheduling rules

Exam references · Open book

Utah’s electrician exams are open book, and the approved references can be tabbed and highlighted and used during the test. The list covers the Journeyman, Residential Journeyman and Master Electrician Law and Rules exams.

BookEditionUse
NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Journeyman and Residential exams2023Allowed in exam
Ugly’s Electrical References — all exams2023Allowed in exam
Utah General Rule of the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, R156-1 — all examsNot statedAllowed in exam
Utah Electricians Licensing Act Rule, R156-55b — all examsNot statedAllowed in exam
Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 55 — Journeyman and Residential examsNot statedAllowed in exam
NFPA 70: National Electrical Code Handbook — Master Law and Rules exam2023Allowed in exam
NFPA 70E: Standard for Electrical Safety in the Workplace — Master Law and Rules exam2024Allowed in exam
State Construction and Fire Codes Act, Utah Code 15A-3-601 — Master Law and Rules examNot statedAllowed in exam
Division of Professional Licensing Act, Title 58, Chapter 1 — Master Law and Rules examNot statedAllowed in exam
Workplace Safety and Security, R614-1-5 — Master Law and Rules examNot statedAllowed in exam
Utah Labor Commission Industrial Accidents laws and rules — Master Law and Rules examNot statedAllowed in exam

Since August 1, 2025, the Journeyman, Residential and Master Law and Rules exams replaced the old separate code and theory exams.

Prep

Best Utah electrician exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does a Utah electrician license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
DOPL application fee (all classes)Fixed$116
Written exam fee (Prov)Fixed$85
Practical exam fee (Prov, $25 per task)Fixed$150 journeyman (6 tasks); $100 residential (4 tasks)
NEC and other reference booksVariableVaries
Tools for the practical examVariableVaries
State fees and examsJourneyman; excludes books and tools$351

Fees from the DOPL fee schedule and electrician application form, and the Prov Utah Electrical candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.

Reciprocity

Does Utah accept out-of-state electrician licenses?

Utah has journeyman and master reciprocity agreements with several states. You can also qualify by reciprocity with the NASCLA exam, as long as it comes with a license held for 12 months in the state where you used the exam.

Journeyman states — journeyman license

Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma and Oregon.

Idaho — master license

Master-level reciprocity.

Oregon — master license

Master-level reciprocity.

Wyoming — master license

Master-level reciprocity.

NASCLA exam — exam credit

Accepted with a 12-month license from the state where you used the exam.

All other states — no agreement

Apply as a new applicant and take the Utah exams.

Local

Do Utah cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?

Your DOPL license is good statewide. Utah adopts the electrical code at the state level, with Utah amendments, while local building departments handle permits and inspections.

State handles

  • Electrician licenses and renewals through DOPL
  • Exams, through Prov
  • Code adoption and Utah NEC amendments (Title 15A)
  • Continuing education requirements

City & county handle

  • Electrical permits for individual jobs
  • Inspections of completed work
  • Any local business licensing

Governance

Who regulates electricians in Utah

Licensing authority

Utah Division of Professional Licensing (DOPL)

801-530-6628

dopl.utah.gov/el

Oversight responsibilities

  • Issues and renews journeyman, master and residential electrician licenses
  • Works with the Electricians Licensing Board on experience requirements
  • Enforces the Electricians Licensing Act Rule (R156-55b)
  • Sets continuing education requirements

Maintenance

How to renew your Utah electrician license and keep it active

Complete 16 hours of continuing education each licensing period before you renew. Electrician licenses expire November 30 of even years, and the renewal fee is $84.

Renewal cycle

Every 2 years (Nov 30, even years)

CE hours

16

Renewal fee

$84

Late penalty

+$20 within 30 days; +$50 after 30 days

Renewing your license?

See the Utah CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.

FAQ

Utah electrician license FAQs

How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Utah?

About 4 years. You need 8,000 hours of verifiable experience in a board-approved apprenticeship within 4 years, then you pass the journeyman and practical exams.

How do I become a master electrician in Utah?

Most people need 4 years as a licensed journeyman. A 2-year AAS degree plus 2 years as a journeyman, or a BSEE plus 1 year of licensed experience, also qualifies. Then you pass the 80-question Master Law & Rules exam.

Is the Utah electrician exam open book?

Yes. The written exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight your references.

What’s on the Utah electrician practical exam?

It’s a pass/fail hands-on test. The journeyman version has 6 tasks in 110 minutes, including conduit bending and motor control. The residential version has 4 tasks in 70 minutes.

What’s the difference between a journeyman and residential journeyman license?

A residential journeyman works on residential projects using mainly nonmetallic sheathed cable. It needs 3,000 hours of residential experience and a 90-question exam, compared with 8,000 hours and a 100-question exam for journeyman.

Does Utah have electrician reciprocity?

Yes. Journeyman reciprocity covers Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oklahoma and Oregon. Master reciprocity covers Idaho, Oregon and Wyoming.

How much continuing education do Utah electricians need?

16 hours each licensing period, completed before you renew.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Utah Division of Professional Licensing.