Construction / Plumber License / Utah
- Utah
- Plumber License
- Journeyman & Master
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Utah Plumber License
Utah licenses journeyman and master plumbers, with separate residential versions of both. Here’s what each one takes, which exams you’ll sit and how to stay licensed.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing requirements
Application fee
$116
All classes; plus written and practical exams ($78 CBT / $85 paper each)
Exam time
4 hrs
Written exam, plus a 2.5–3.5 hr practical
Time to get license
8,000 hrs
Plus 576 training hours (Journeyman)
Continuing ed
12 hrs
Each licensing period, before renewal
Overview
Do you need a Utah plumber license?
Yes. In Utah, plumbing work on buildings is done under a license from the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL). You start as a licensed apprentice, then move up to journeyman and master.
License required when
- You work in the plumbing trade on buildings (Journeyman or Master Plumber)
- You plumb residential buildings only (Residential Journeyman or Residential Master Plumber)
- You supervise other plumbers as a master
- You log hours toward a license as an apprentice (Apprentice Plumber license)
Common exceptions
- Our sources don’t list exemptions from plumbing licensing, so ask DOPL before doing any plumbing work without a license
- Apprentices work under an Apprentice Plumber license while they build their hours
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list penalty amounts. DOPL enforces Utah’s licensing laws and can take action against people who do licensed work without a license, so get licensed before you take on plumbing jobs.
Your fast-track Utah plumber license checklist
The Utah application, one page
- Apprentice Plumber license and documented hours
- Completed planned training program (576 or 432 hours)
- Exam pre-approval from the testing agency
- Passing written exam score
- Passing practical exam score
- Application submitted to DOPL
Types
Utah plumber license types and classifications
Utah has two tracks. The standard track covers plumbing of all buildings. The residential track is limited to residential buildings and has shorter hour requirements.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Plumber
Licensed to work in the plumbing trade as limited to the plumbing of buildings.
Exam
Written + practical
Limit
All buildings
MST
Top tier
Master Plumber
Licensed to work in the plumbing trade as limited to the plumbing of buildings. Requires journeyman-level supervisory experience.
Exam
Law & Rule + practical
Limit
All buildings
RJ
Residential
Residential Journeyman Plumber
Licensed to work in the plumbing trade as limited to the plumbing of residential buildings.
Exam
Residential written + practical
Limit
Residential buildings
RM
Residential
Residential Master Plumber
Licensed to work in the plumbing trade as limited to the plumbing of residential buildings. Requires supervisory experience as a Residential Journeyman.
Exam
Law & Rule + practical
Limit
Residential buildings
Requirements
Utah plumber license requirements, class by class
Journeyman licenses are built on apprentice hours plus a planned training program. Master licenses are built on journeyman work and supervisory hours, with a shorter path if you hold an associate degree.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master | Residential Journeyman | Residential Master |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 8,000 hrs as a licensed apprentice | 4,000 hrs work + 4,000 hrs supervisory as a journeyman | 6,000 hrs residential as a licensed apprentice | 4,000 hrs work + 4,000 hrs supervisory as a residential journeyman |
| Training | 576 hrs planned program | Not stated | 432 hrs planned program | Not stated |
| Alternative path | Residential journeymen: 2,000 hrs non-residential + 144 hrs (4th year) training | Associate degree (CHEA-recognized) + 2,000 hrs supervisory | 12,000 hrs residential apprentice experience, 9,000 directly in plumbing | Associate degree (CHEA-recognized) + 2,000 hrs supervisory |
| Written exam | Plumber Written (100 questions) | Master Plumber Law & Rule (40 questions) | Residential Plumber Written (120 questions) | Master Plumber Law & Rule (40 questions) |
| Practical exam | Required | Required unless you already hold a journeyman license | Required | Required unless you already hold a journeyman license |
| Continuing ed | 12 hrs per renewal | 12 hrs per renewal | 12 hrs per renewal | 12 hrs per renewal |
Steps
How to get your Utah plumber license, step by step
- Get your apprentice license and log hoursBefore you apply
Work as a licensed Apprentice Plumber to build your hours: 8,000 for Journeyman or 6,000 residential hours for Residential Journeyman. - Finish your training programBefore you apply
Complete a planned program of training: 576 hours for Journeyman or 432 hours for Residential Journeyman. - Get exam pre-approvalBefore scheduling
Pre-approval is required from the testing agency before you can schedule your exams. - Pass your exams with ProvExam day
Schedule through Prov. Journeymen take a 4-hour open-book written exam and a hands-on practical. Masters take the Law & Rule exam, plus the practical if they don’t already hold a journeyman license. - Apply through DOPLAfter your exams
Submit your application to the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, or call 801-530-6628 with questions. - Keep up with continuing edEach renewal
Complete 12 hours of continuing education each licensing period before you renew.
Exam
What to expect on the Utah plumber exam
Most applicants sit two exams: a written exam and a hands-on practical. The written exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references.
Format
Open book + practical
Questions
100 / 120 / 40
Passing score
70% / 84 of 120 / 75%
Exam vendor
Prov
Scoring & content
- Journeyman written: 100 questions, 4 hours, 70% to pass
- Residential written: 120 questions, 4 hours, 84 correct to pass
- Master Law & Rule: 40 questions, 2 hours, 75% to pass
- Practical: 2 projects in 2.5 hours (journeyman) or 3 projects including copper brazing in 3.5 hours (residential)
- References include the 2021 IPC, IFGC and IMC, OSHA 1926, NFPA 13 (2016) and Utah Water Quality rule R317-4
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- Pre-approval from the testing agency is required before scheduling
- Journeyman license holders don’t retake the practical for a master license
- No safety glasses at the practical means no solder or brazing projects and a failing grade on those parts
- Check with Prov for current scheduling and retake rules
Exam references · Open book
The Utah plumber exams are open book: the references below can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test. The list covers the Journeyman and Residential Journeyman Plumber written exams and the Master Plumber Law and Rule exam; the free state rules and statutes need to be printed and brought with you.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC) — Plumber written exams | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| International Mechanical Code (IMC) — Plumber written exams | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| International Plumbing Code (IPC) — Plumber written exams | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| OSHA 1926 Construction Industry Regulations — Plumber written exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 13: Standard for the Installation of Sprinkler Systems — Plumber written exams | 2016 | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Water Quality Rules, R317-4 — Plumber written exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Contractor Education Book — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | 12th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Utah DOPL Licensing Act, 58-1 (Parts 3 and 5) — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Plumbing Licensing Act Rules, R156-55c — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Construction Trades Licensing Act, 58-55 — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Workplace Safety and Security, R614-1-5 — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Workers’ Compensation Act, Chapter 34A-2 — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Antidiscrimination Act, Chapter 34A-5 — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act, Chapter 34A-6 — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Centralized New Hire Registry Act, Chapter 35A-7 — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Labor Commission Antidiscrimination and Labor Rules — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Labor Commission Industrial Accidents Rules — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Amendments to the International Plumbing Code — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Utah Excavator’s Guide — Master Plumber Law and Rule exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
The plumber practical exam is a hands-on test, so no references apply to it.
Prep
Best Utah plumber exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Utah plumber license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| License application | Fixed | $116 |
| Written exam (Prov) | Fixed | $78 CBT / $85 paper |
| Practical exam (Prov) | Fixed | $78 CBT / $85 paper |
| Code books and references | Variable | Varies |
| Practical exam tools and materials | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Journeyman, computer-based exams; excludes books and tools | $272 |
Fees from the DOPL fee schedule and plumber application form, and the Prov Utah Plumbing candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Utah accept out-of-state plumber licenses?
Utah has no reciprocity agreements for plumbing licenses, so out-of-state plumbers qualify the same way as everyone else.
No reciprocity agreements
Apply as a new applicant, document your hours and pass the Utah exams for your license.
Local
Do Utah cities and counties have their own plumber licensing rules?
Your plumbing license comes from the state and covers all of Utah. Cities and counties still handle the job-site side.
State handles
- Apprentice, journeyman and master plumber licenses (DOPL)
- Residential journeyman and master licenses
- Exam pre-approval, with testing through Prov
- Continuing education for renewal
City & county handle
- Plumbing permits
- Inspections
- Local business licenses
Governance
Who regulates plumbers in Utah
Licensing authority
Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing (DOPL)
801-530-6628
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues apprentice, journeyman and master plumber licenses
- Sets training and experience requirements under rule R156-55c
- Approves applicants for licensing exams
- Enforces the Construction Trades Licensing Act (58-55)
Maintenance
How to renew your Utah plumber license and keep it active
Every Utah plumber license needs 12 hours of continuing education each licensing period before renewal. Plumber licenses expire November 30 of even years, the renewal fee is $74, and late reinstatement adds $20 within 30 days or $50 after that.
Renewal cycle
Every 2 years (Nov 30, even years)
CE hours
12
Renewal fee
$74
Late penalty
+$20 within 30 days; +$50 after 30 days
Renewing your license?
See the Utah CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Utah plumber license FAQs
How many hours do I need for a Utah journeyman plumber license?
8,000 hours of plumbing experience as a licensed Apprentice Plumber, plus 576 hours of a planned training program. The residential journeyman license needs 6,000 residential hours and 432 training hours.
Is the Utah plumbing exam open book?
Yes. The written exams are open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references. The journeyman written exam has 100 questions and takes 70% to pass.
What’s on the Utah plumber practical exam?
The journeyman practical has 2 projects, a plastic and a copper assembly, in 2.5 hours. The residential practical has 3 projects, including copper brazing, in 3.5 hours.
How do I become a master plumber in Utah?
Log 4,000 hours of work and 4,000 hours of supervisory experience as a licensed journeyman, or hold an associate degree plus 2,000 supervisory hours. Then pass the Master Plumber Law & Rule exam.
Do I have to retake the practical exam for a master license?
No. Journeyman and residential journeyman license holders don’t need to retake the practical exam.
Does Utah have plumbing license reciprocity?
No. Utah has no reciprocity agreements, so you apply as a new applicant and pass the Utah exams.
How much continuing education do Utah plumbers need?
12 hours each licensing period, completed before you renew.
Sources
Official sources for the Utah plumber license
- Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing, Plumber licensing
- Utah Admin. Code R156-55c, Plumbing licensing rules
- Utah Code 58-55, Construction Trades Licensing Act
- Utah Code 58-1, DOPL Licensing Act
- Utah Admin. Code R317-4, Water Quality
- Utah Code 15A-3 Part 3, Amendments to the International Plumbing Code
- Prov, exam scheduling
- Utah DOPL Fee Schedule
- Utah DOPL Plumber Application (PDF)
- Utah DOPL Plumber Renewal/Reinstatement Form (PDF)
- Prov, Utah Plumbing Candidate Information Bulletin
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.
