Construction / Code Official Continuing Education / Florida

  • Florida
  • Code Official CE
  • Code Officials
  • Updated Oct 2026

Florida Code Official Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses

Florida has no state license or state CE requirement for code enforcement officers, since each county or city sets its own training rules, but the voluntary FACE certification takes 14 hours of continuing education every two years to renew.

Last updated October 28, 2026 from Florida Association of Code Enforcement (FACE) and Florida Statutes section 162.21 requirements

Hours per cycle

14 hrs

For FACE certification renewal; no state CE requirement

Cycle

2 years

FACE certifications renew every two years

Deadline

Before your renewal is due

Exact renewal date not stated in our sources

Online allowed?

Not stated

Confirm a course counts with the Florida Association of Code Enforcement before you enroll

Who needs CE

Who needs continuing education for a Florida code official license?

Florida doesn’t license code enforcement officers or set a state CE requirement. Under section 162.21, Florida Statutes, each county or city decides the training and qualifications of its code enforcement officers. If you hold the voluntary certification from the Florida Association of Code Enforcement (FACE), you renew it with FACE, and that renewal requires continuing education.

CE applies to

  • Code enforcement officers holding FACE certification
  • Officers whose county or city requires FACE certification

Exemptions

  • Officers without FACE certification follow their own county or city’s training rules

Florida code official CE at a glance

Florida code official renewal, one box

Renewed withFlorida Association of Code Enforcement (FACE)
CE required?No state requirement; FACE certification renewal needs CE
Hours per cycle14 hrs
Cycle2 years
Required topicsNot stated
Online allowed?Not stated
DeadlineBefore your renewal is due
Who reportsNot stated
CarryoverNot stated
Grace periodNot stated
Renewal feeNot stated
Last updatedOctober 28, 2026

Hours

How many CE hours does a Florida code official license need?

There’s no state CE hour requirement. For FACE certification, our sources put renewal at 14 hours of continuing education every two years. Topic areas that count include first aid, CPR and AED, OSHA safety, stormwater, sea turtle lighting, parking enforcement, ethics, diversity, business writing and supervisory skills.

ClassTotalRequired topicsElectivesDelivery limits
FACE-certified code official14 hrsNot statedTopics such as safety, OSHA, stormwater, sea turtle lighting, ethics and supervisory skillsNot stated

One of our sources also mentions 16 hours. Most of our sources say 14 hours, so we use that figure. Confirm your exact number with FACE. Your county or city may set its own training rules.

Deadline

When is the Florida code official license renewal deadline?

FACE certifications renew every two years. Finish your 14 hours and submit your renewal to FACE before your certification is due.

Deadline ruleRenew your FACE certification every two years; exact date not stated in our sources
Cycle2 years
Grace periodNot stated
Late penaltyNot stated
CE completion deadlineBefore you submit your renewal

Steps

How to renew a Florida code official license, step by step

  1. Take approved CEBefore your deadline
    Complete 14 hours of approved continuing education during your two-year cycle.
  2. Get your certificateSame day
    Save the certificate of completion for each course you finish.
  3. Confirm it’s reportedBefore you renew
    Florida has no state CE reporting for code officials. Keep your certificates and follow FACE’s renewal instructions for submitting proof.
  4. Pay the renewal feeFee not stated
    Submit your renewal and any fee to the Florida Association of Code Enforcement.
  5. Check your license statusAfter renewal
    Check with FACE that your renewal went through and your credential shows a new two-year term.

Providers

Approved Florida code official license CE providers

We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Use the board’s approved provider list to confirm a course counts before you pay.

Approval

How to check a Florida code official CE course is approved

Only approved continuing education counts toward your 14 hours. Our sources don’t describe the approval process, so check that a course is accepted before you enroll.

  1. Confirm the course is accepted for Florida code official CE before you pay.
  2. Check that the topic fits the areas that count, such as safety, ethics or code enforcement skills.
  3. Make sure your total reaches 14 hours before your renewal is due.

Reporting

How Florida code official CE is reported, and what happens in an audit

Florida has no state CE requirement or state reporting system for code enforcement officers. Follow FACE’s instructions for showing your hours when you renew your certification.

  • Keep a certificate of completion for every course.
  • Submit proof of your hours the way FACE asks when you renew.
  • Hold onto your records for the full two-year cycle in case you’re asked for proof.

Cost

How much does Florida code official license renewal cost?

ItemFeePaid to
Renewal feeNot statedFlorida Association of Code Enforcement
Late renewal feeNot statedFlorida Association of Code Enforcement
CE courses (14 hours)Varies by providerCE provider

Check with the Florida Association of Code Enforcement for the current renewal fee.

Late or lapsed

Late, expired or inactive Florida code official license

Our sources don’t give grace period, late fee or reinstatement details. If your renewal is close or already late, contact the Florida Association of Code Enforcement right away.

Grace period

Not stated in our sources. Reach out to the Florida Association of Code Enforcement before your renewal date if you’re running behind.

Makeup CE

You still need all 14 hours before you can renew.

Who controls

Who controls Florida code official license renewal?

Renewal authority

Florida Association of Code Enforcement

face-online.org

FACE certification is voluntary; under section 162.21, Florida Statutes, counties and cities set code enforcement officer training

Responsibilities

  • Receives FACE certification renewals
  • Tracks the 14-hour, two-year CE requirement for its certification
  • Runs the FACE certification program

Getting licensed

Getting a Florida code official license

Need the license first? Our Florida guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.

FAQ

Florida code official license CE FAQs

How many CE hours does a Florida code official need?

Florida has no state requirement. FACE certification renewal takes 14 hours every two years.

Does Florida require CE for code enforcement officers?

No state law requires it. Section 162.21, Florida Statutes, leaves code enforcement officer training and qualifications to each county or city. CE is needed to renew the voluntary FACE certification.

When is the deadline?

Licenses renew every two years. Finish your 14 hours and renew before your license is due.

Who reports my hours?

There’s no state reporting for code officials. Follow FACE’s instructions for submitting proof when you renew your certification.

Can I take CE online?

Our sources don’t say. Confirm with the Florida Association of Code Enforcement that a course counts before you enroll.

Do hours carry over?

Our sources don’t say extra hours carry over, so plan on 14 new hours each cycle.

What happens if I miss the deadline?

Our sources don’t list a grace period or late fee. Contact the Florida Association of Code Enforcement as soon as you know you’ll be late.

Sources

Official sources for Florida code official CE rules

  1. Florida Association of Code Enforcement
  2. Section 162.21, Florida Statutes

Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Florida Association of Code Enforcement.