Construction / General Contractor License / District of Columbia
- District of Columbia
- Contractor License
- Trade Contractors
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your District of Columbia Contractor License
This page covers how to license a contracting company in the District of Columbia, from the documents and surety bonds you need to applying through DLCP. Unlike most states, DC doesn’t require a contractor exam.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades requirements
Application fee
$65
Plus $120 license fee ($260 for elevator); no exam
Exam time
No exam
No contractor exam required
Time to get license
Varies
Depends on having a DC-licensed master
Continuing ed
Not required
No CE for contractors
Overview
Do you need a District of Columbia general contractor license?
Yes, if you bid on or contract trade work in the District of Columbia. A DC contractor license lets you bid on and contract work in the trade your company is licensed for. The Board of Industrial Trades sets the rules, and you apply through the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection (DLCP).
License required when
- You bid on or contract work in a licensed trade in DC
- Your company does electrical, low voltage, elevator, plumbing and gasfitting, or refrigeration and air conditioning work
- You want to contract work under your own company name
Common exceptions
- Contractor licenses are trade specific, so you can only contract work in the trade you’re licensed for
- Elevator contractors don’t need a master bond
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our source doesn’t list penalty amounts. The Board of Industrial Trades governs construction trade licenses in DC, and contracting without the right license can lead to enforcement action. Check with DLCP before you bid.
Your fast-track District of Columbia general contractor license checklist
The District of Columbia application, one page
- Proof of Registration or Certificate of Good Standing
- Local Representative Affidavit
- Designated DC-licensed master tradesperson
- Company surety bond for your trade
- Master surety bond (not required for elevator)
Types
District of Columbia general contractor license types and classifications
DC licenses contractors by trade. Every company needs a designated DC-licensed master in that trade, and the surety bond amounts change with the trade.
ELEC
Regular voltage
Electrical contractor
Electrical contracting at regular voltage, under a DC-licensed master electrician.
Exam
No exam
Limit
Not stated
LV
Low voltage
Low voltage electrical contractor
Low voltage electrical contracting, under a DC-licensed master.
Exam
No exam
Limit
Not stated
ELEV
No master bond
Elevator contractor
Elevator contracting, under a DC-licensed master. A master bond isn’t required.
Exam
No exam
Limit
Not stated
PLMB
Highest bonds
Plumbing & gasfitting contractor
Plumbing and gasfitting contracting, under a DC-licensed master plumber.
Exam
No exam
Limit
Not stated
HVAC
Refrigeration
Refrigeration & air conditioning contractor
Refrigeration and air conditioning contracting, under a DC-licensed master. Bond amounts aren’t stated in our source.
Exam
No exam
Limit
Not stated
Requirements
District of Columbia general contractor license requirements, class by class
The paperwork is the same for every trade. What changes is the surety bond amount for the company and the master.
| Requirement | Electrical (regular) | Electrical (low voltage) | Plumbing & gasfitting |
|---|---|---|---|
| Company bond | $4,000 | $2,000 | $5,000 |
| Master bond | $2,000 | $1,000 | $5,000 |
| Designated DC-licensed master | Required | Required | Required |
| Proof of Registration / Certificate of Good Standing | Required | Required | Required |
| Local Representative Affidavit | Required | Required | Required |
| Exam | Not required | Not required | Not required |
Steps
How to get your District of Columbia general contractor license, step by step
- Line up a DC-licensed masterBefore you apply
Your company must designate a master tradesperson who holds a DC license in your trade. - Register your businessBefore you apply
Get your Proof of Registration or Certificate of Good Standing for the company. - Get a Local Representative AffidavitBefore you apply
An affidavit from a local representative is required before you submit your application. - Buy your surety bondsBefore you apply
Buy a bond for the company and one for the master. Amounts depend on the trade, from $1,000 to $5,000. - Apply through DLCPOnline
Submit your application online at dlcp.dc.gov, or call 202-442-4320 with questions.
Exam
What to expect on the District of Columbia general contractor exam
There’s no exam for a DC contractor license. Your company qualifies through a designated master tradesperson who already holds a DC license in the trade.
Format
No exam
Questions
Not required
Passing score
Not required
Exam vendor
None
Scoring & content
- No contractor exam is required in DC
- Your designated master must hold a DC license in the trade
- Requirements focus on documents and surety bonds
Retake policy
- Doesn’t apply, since there’s no contractor exam
- If your application is incomplete, DLCP can ask for more documents
- Check with DLCP for current processing rules
Exam references
The District of Columbia doesn’t require an exam for a contractor license, so there’s no reference list for this license. Your designated DC-licensed master tradesperson takes the trade exam, and those books are listed on each trade’s guide.
Prep
Best District of Columbia general contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet. DC doesn’t require an exam for the contractor license itself.
Costs
How much does a District of Columbia general contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | Fixed | $65 |
| License fee (electrical, plumbing & gasfitting, refrigeration contractor) | Fixed | $120 |
| License fee (elevator contractor) | Fixed | $260 |
| Company surety bond ($2,000–$5,000 coverage) | Variable | Varies |
| Master surety bond ($1,000–$5,000 coverage) | Variable | Varies |
| Certificate of Good Standing | Variable | Varies |
| State fees | Excludes bond premiums and the Certificate of Good Standing | $185–$325 |
Fees from the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades fee schedule, checked October 2026. Bond amounts are the coverage DC requires, not what you pay for the bond.
Reciprocity
Does District of Columbia accept out-of-state general contractor licenses?
DC has no reciprocity agreements for contractor licenses.
No reciprocity agreements
Out-of-state contractors apply as new applicants with a DC-licensed master, the required documents and surety bonds.
Local
Do District of Columbia cities and counties have their own general contractor licensing rules?
DC is a single jurisdiction, so the District handles contractor licensing directly.
State handles
- Contractor licenses by trade, through DLCP
- Rules set by the Board of Industrial Trades
- Master tradesperson licenses
- Surety bond requirements
City & county handle
- DC has no separate city or county layer
- Check with DLCP for permit and inspection rules
Governance
Who regulates contractors in the District of Columbia
Licensing authority
District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades (applications through the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection)
202-442-4320
Oversight responsibilities
- Governs construction trade licenses, including contractors
- Sets surety bond requirements by trade
- Licenses master tradespeople
- Takes contractor applications online through DLCP
Maintenance
How to renew your District of Columbia general contractor license and keep it active
DC doesn’t require continuing education for contractors. Electrical, plumbing and refrigeration contractor licenses run up to 2 years and renew for $180, with a $50 late fee. Keep your company and master bonds current.
Renewal cycle
Up to 2 years
CE hours
None
Renewal fee
$180
Late penalty
$50
FAQ
District of Columbia general contractor license FAQs
Do I need to pass an exam to get a DC contractor license?
No. DC doesn’t require a contractor exam. Your company needs a designated master tradesperson who holds a DC license in the trade.
How much is the bond for a DC electrical contractor?
For regular voltage, $4,000 for the company and $2,000 for the master. For low voltage, $2,000 for the company and $1,000 for the master.
How much is the bond for a DC plumbing contractor?
$5,000 for the company and $5,000 for the master.
Where do I apply for a DC contractor license?
Online through the Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection at dlcp.dc.gov. You can call 202-442-4320 with questions.
Does DC require continuing education for contractors?
No. There’s no CE requirement for DC contractors.
Does DC accept my out-of-state contractor license?
No. DC has no reciprocity agreements for contractors, so you apply as a new applicant.
Sources
Official sources for the District of Columbia general contractor license
- DC Department of Licensing and Consumer Protection
- District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades, contractor license requirements
- DLCP Board of Industrial Trades, fee schedule
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades.
