Construction / HVAC License / District of Columbia

  • District of Columbia
  • HVAC License
  • Journeyman & Master
  • Updated Oct 2026

How to Get Your District of Columbia Refrigeration & Air Conditioning License

DC licenses HVAC work as Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic, at the Journeyman and Master levels. Here’s what each license covers, how to qualify and what to expect on the PSI exams.

Last updated October 27, 2026 from District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades requirements

Application fee

$65

Plus $52 PSI exam fee and $110 license fee

Exam time

2–3.5 hrs

Journeyman 2 hrs, Master 3.5 hrs

Time to get license

Varies

5 yrs of experience, an exam, or a Board-approved mix

Continuing ed

Not required

For Journeyman and Master

Overview

Do you need a District of Columbia HVAC license?

Yes. In the District, refrigeration and air conditioning work is licensed by the Board of Industrial Trades. A Journeyman license covers systems up to 25 compressor horsepower, and a Master license covers systems of any size.

License required when

  • Installing refrigeration or air conditioning systems
  • Maintaining, repairing or replacing refrigeration or air conditioning systems
  • Supervising that work for others
  • Working on systems over 25 compressor horsepower or the equivalent tons (Master license)

Common exceptions

  • Our sources don’t list exemptions, so confirm with the Board before you take on work
  • Both licenses are subject to the limitations in §301 of the District’s rules

Penalties for unlicensed work

Our sources don’t list specific penalty amounts. The Board can refuse or discipline licenses, so wait until your license is issued before doing refrigeration or air conditioning work in DC.

Your fast-track District of Columbia HVAC license checklist

The District of Columbia application, one page

  • Choose Journeyman (up to 25 HP) or Master (any size)
  • Proof of 5 years’ experience, or a qualifying exam
  • Board of Industrial Trades account and exam pre-approval
  • PSI exam booked and passed
  • License application submitted online

Types

District of Columbia HVAC license types and classifications

DC has two refrigeration and air conditioning license levels. The difference is the size of the systems you can work on.

JRY

Smaller systems

Journeyman Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Mechanic

Supervise or perform installation, maintenance, repair or replacement of refrigeration and air conditioning systems up to 25 compressor horsepower or the equivalent tons in the aggregate.

Exam

Journeyman exam

Limit

Up to 25 HP

MST

Any size

Master Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Mechanic

Supervise or perform installation, maintenance, repair or replacement of any refrigeration or air conditioning system and its components, regardless of size.

Exam

Master exam

Limit

No size limit

Requirements

District of Columbia HVAC license requirements, class by class

You qualify by experience, by exam or by a combination the Board accepts. Either way, you still pass the license exam for your level.

RequirementJourneymanMaster
Experience option5 years on systems over 25 HP, right before you apply5 years on systems over 25 HP, right before you apply
Exam optionPractical and theory exam on systems over 25 HPPractical and theory exam on systems over 25 HP
CombinationAny mix the Board finds sufficientAny mix the Board finds sufficient
License exam60 questions, 2 hours80 questions, 3.5 hours
System size you can work onUp to 25 HPAny size
Minimum ageNot statedNot stated

Steps

How to get your District of Columbia HVAC license, step by step

  1. Pick your levelBefore you start
    Choose Journeyman for systems up to 25 compressor horsepower, or Master for systems of any size.
  2. Document your qualificationsBefore you apply
    Gather proof of 5 years of work on systems over 25 HP immediately before you apply, or plan to qualify by exam or a Board-approved combination.
  3. Get exam pre-approvalBefore you test
    Create an account with the Board of Industrial Trades and apply for approval to sit for the exam.
  4. Schedule with PSIBook online or by phone
    Book at candidate.psiexams.com or call 855-557-0616. Test centers are located throughout the District.
  5. Pass your examExam day
    Journeyman is 60 questions in 2 hours; Master is 80 questions in 3.5 hours. Both are open book.
  6. Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
    Submit your license application online through the DC professional licensing site.

Exam

What to expect on the District of Columbia HVAC exam

Both DC refrigeration and air conditioning exams are open book and cover the same topic areas. The Master exam is longer and goes deeper.

Format

Open book

Questions

60 or 80

Passing score

Not stated

Exam vendor

PSI

Scoring & content

  • Journeyman: 60 questions, 2 hours
  • Master: 80 questions, 3.5 hours
  • Topics: theory and system types, refrigerant and condensate piping, compressors, condensers, chillers, cooling towers and heat pumps, air distribution and ducts, electrical controls, refrigerants, safety, maintenance and repairs
  • References include the 2012 International Mechanical Code and Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning
  • References must be bound; tabs and highlighting are allowed

Retake policy

  • Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
  • Check with PSI at 855-557-0616 before you rebook
  • You need Board pre-approval before you can schedule

Exam references · Open book

The District of Columbia Journeyman and Master Refrigeration & Air Conditioning exams are open book. You can tab and highlight the references below and use them during the test, as long as they’re bound.

BookEditionUse
International Mechanical Code (IMC)2012Allowed in exam
Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning22nd editionAllowed in exam

Prep

Best District of Columbia HVAC exam prep, compared

We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.

Costs

How much does a District of Columbia HVAC license cost?

ItemTypeEstimate
Application feeFixed$65
PSI exam feeFixed$52
License feeFixed$110
Code books and referencesVariableVaries
DC fees and examExcludes code books and any retake fees$227

Fees from the DLCP Board of Industrial Trades fee schedule and the PSI Washington D.C. Contractor/Trades candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.

Reciprocity

Does District of Columbia accept out-of-state HVAC licenses?

DC doesn’t have reciprocity for Journeyman or Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning licenses.

No reciprocity agreements

Out-of-state mechanics apply as new applicants, meet DC’s experience or exam requirements and pass the PSI exam.

Local

Do District of Columbia cities and counties have their own HVAC licensing rules?

DC is a single jurisdiction, so the District handles both licensing and permits. There’s no separate county layer.

State handles

  • Journeyman and Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning licenses
  • Exam pre-approval through the Board of Industrial Trades
  • Discipline of licensees

City & county handle

  • Mechanical permits and inspections, handled by the District itself
  • No separate city or county license

Governance

Who regulates HVAC mechanics in the District of Columbia

Licensing authority

District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades

1-866-270-9817

dcra.dc.gov/professional-licensing

Oversight responsibilities

  • Approves applicants to sit for the exam
  • Issues Journeyman and Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning licenses
  • Decides which experience and exam combinations qualify
  • Disciplines licensees

Maintenance

How to renew your District of Columbia HVAC license and keep it active

DC doesn’t require continuing education for Journeyman or Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning licenses. Licenses run up to 2 years and expire September 30 of even-numbered years. Renewal is $155, with a $50 late fee.

Renewal cycle

Up to 2 years

CE hours

Not required

Renewal fee

$155

Late penalty

$50

FAQ

District of Columbia HVAC license FAQs

What’s the difference between a Journeyman and Master HVAC license in DC?

A Journeyman can work on refrigeration and air conditioning systems up to 25 compressor horsepower. A Master can work on systems of any size.

How do I qualify for a DC refrigeration and air conditioning license?

Show 5 years of work on systems over 25 horsepower right before you apply, pass a practical and theory exam, or meet a combination the Board accepts. You also pass the license exam for your level.

Is the DC HVAC exam open book?

Yes. You can bring bound references that are tabbed and highlighted. The Journeyman exam is 60 questions in 2 hours and the Master exam is 80 questions in 3.5 hours.

Who runs the DC HVAC exams?

PSI. You can schedule online at candidate.psiexams.com or by calling 855-557-0616 after the Board approves you.

Does DC accept HVAC licenses from other states?

No. DC has no reciprocity agreements for Journeyman or Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning licenses.

Is continuing education required in DC?

No. DC doesn’t require continuing education for these licenses.

Sources

Official sources for the District of Columbia HVAC license

  1. DC Professional Licensing, Board of Industrial Trades
  2. PSI Exams, DC candidate scheduling
  3. DC Board of Industrial Trades, Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic rules (§301)
  4. DLCP Board of Industrial Trades, fee schedule
  5. PSI Washington D.C. Contractor/Trades Candidate Information Bulletin

Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.

Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the District of Columbia Board of Industrial Trades.