Construction / Specialty Contractor License / Virginia
- Virginia
- Specialty Contractor
- Drywall, Framing, Painting & more
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Virginia Specialty Contractor Licenses
This guide covers five Virginia specialty designations: drywall, finish carpentry, framing, insulation and weather stripping, and painting and wall covering. Each one is added to a Class A, B or C contractor license, so you’ll see both sets of requirements here.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Virginia Board for Contractors requirements
Application fee
$274.50–$439.50
Class C $274.50, B $419.50, A $439.50; plus $85 exam
Exam time
1–2 hrs
Specialty exam; Class A and B add more exams
Time to get license
~2–5 yrs
Experience: Class C 2 yrs, B 3 yrs, A 5 yrs
Continuing ed
Not required
For contractor licenses (trades differ)
Overview
Do you need a Virginia specialty contractor license?
Yes, if you contract for this work in Virginia. A specialty designation isn’t a standalone license. You add it to a Class A, B or C contractor license from the Virginia Board for Contractors, and you pass the specialty exam on top of your class requirements.
License required when
- You install, tape or finish drywall, gypsum board or nonstructural metal studs (Drywall)
- You install or finish cabinets, casing, wooden flooring, baseboards, countertops or other millwork (Finish Carpentry)
- You do framing or rough carpentry as a subcontractor under a licensed prime contractor (Framing)
- You install, repair or remove insulation used for temperature or sound control (Insulation and Weather Stripping)
- You take on painting or wall covering projects over $1,000 (Painting and Wall Covering)
Common exceptions
- Painting and wall covering projects of $1,000 or less
- Contractors who already hold the RBC or CBC classification, or the HIC or CIC specialty, which also cover these functions
- Insulating mechanical equipment, lines and piping isn’t part of the insulation specialty
- Ceramic tile, marble and cultured stone aren’t part of finish carpentry
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list penalty amounts. In general, the Board for Contractors can investigate unlicensed contracting and take disciplinary action, so get your license and specialty in place before you bid or sign a contract.
Your fast-track Virginia specialty contractor license checklist
The Virginia application, one page
- Experience for your class: 2, 3 or 5 years
- 8-hour pre-licensing course certificate
- PSI pre-approval for your exams
- Passing score on your specialty exam
- Virginia, General and Advanced exams (Class A and B)
- DPOR application and license fee ($274.50–$439.50)
Types
Virginia specialty contractor license types and classifications
Each specialty is added to a Class A, B or C contractor license. Your class sets your experience and exam requirements; the specialty sets which trade exam you take.
DRY
Interior
Drywall
Installing, taping and finishing drywall, gypsum wallboard, sheathing and cementitious board, plus sheet metal studs for ceilings and nonstructural partitions.
Exam
40 questions, 90 min
Limit
Set by your class
FIN
Millwork
Finish Carpentry
Installing, repairing and finishing cabinets, sash and door casing, wooden flooring, baseboards, countertops and other millwork. Excludes tile, marble and cultured stone.
Exam
30 questions, 60 min
Limit
Set by your class
FRM
Subcontractor
Framing
Framing or rough carpentry as a subcontractor under a licensed prime contractor, including individual components of framing systems.
Exam
40 questions, 90 min
Limit
Set by your class
INS
Energy
Insulation & Weather Stripping
Installing, repairing, improving or removing insulating media used only for temperature or sound control in residential and commercial buildings.
Exam
40 questions, 90 min
Limit
Set by your class
PWC
Over $1,000
Painting & Wall Covering
Interior and exterior painting, surface prep, caulking and sanding, plus installing vinyl, wallpaper and fabric wall coverings.
Exam
50 questions, 120 min
Limit
Set by your class
Requirements
Virginia specialty contractor license requirements, class by class
Every specialty needs the same base: a Class A, B or C license plus the specialty exam. What changes by class is your experience and the extra exams.
| Requirement | Class C | Class B | Class A |
|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 2 years | 3 years | 5 years |
| 8-hour pre-licensing course | Required | Required | Required |
| Virginia, General & Advanced exams | Not required | Required | Required |
| Specialty exam | Required | Required | Required |
| PSI pre-approval | Required | Required | Required |
| Application fee | $274.50 | $419.50 | $439.50 |
| Minimum age | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Virginia specialty contractor license, step by step
- Pick your class and specialtyBefore you start
Decide between Class A, B or C based on your experience (5, 3 or 2 years), then choose the specialty that matches your trade. - Complete the 8-hour pre-licensing courseBefore you apply
Everyone getting a Virginia contractor license takes a state-approved 8-hour course. Once completed, the credit doesn’t expire. - Get pre-approved and book with PSIBefore exam day
Pre-approval is required before you can schedule. Book at candidate.psiexams.com or call 855-340-3910. Test centers are in larger cities around the state. - Pass your examsExam day
Take your open-book specialty exam. Class A and B applicants also pass the Virginia, General and Advanced portions. - Apply through DPORFee paid to the state
Submit your application to the Board for Contractors. Call 804-367-8511 or visit dpor.virginia.gov/Boards/Contractors. - Receive your licenseAfter review
Your specialty designation is listed on your Class A, B or C license.
Exam
What to expect on the Virginia specialty contractor exam
Each specialty has its own open-book trade exam, given by PSI. You need 70% to pass every one. Passing the specialty exam alone isn’t enough: you also meet your Class A, B or C requirements.
Format
Open book
Questions
30–50
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Drywall: 40 questions, 28 correct to pass, 90 minutes
- Finish Carpentry: 30 questions, 21 correct, 60 minutes
- Framing: 40 questions, 28 correct, 90 minutes
- Insulation & Weather Stripping: 40 questions, 28 correct, 90 minutes
- Painting & Wall Covering: 50 questions, 35 correct, 120 minutes
Retake policy
- The PSI exam fee is $85 per specialty exam; retake waiting periods aren’t stated in our sources
- Schedule exams and retakes through PSI at 855-340-3910
- Pre-approval is required before you schedule
- Approved references can be tabbed and highlighted for every attempt
Exam references · Open book
Virginia’s specialty trade exams are open book, and the references below can be tabbed, highlighted and used during the test. The list covers the Drywall, Finish Carpentry, Insulation and Weather Stripping, and Painting and Wall Covering exams, plus the business book used on the Class A/B contractor exam.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| OSHA 29 CFR 1926 Construction Industry Regulations — all specialty exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| The Gypsum Construction Handbook — Drywall exam | 7th edition | Allowed in exam |
| International Building Code (IBC) — Drywall exam | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| International Residential Code (IRC) — Drywall exam | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| Finish Carpenter’s Manual — Finish Carpentry exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Complete Illustrated Guide to Furniture and Cabinet Construction — Finish Carpentry exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Carpentry and Building Construction, Student Edition — Insulation and Weather Stripping exam | 2016 | Allowed in exam |
| Insulation Handbook — Insulation and Weather Stripping exam | 2000 | Allowed in exam |
| PDCA Craftsman Manual & Textbook — Painting and Wall Covering exam | 8th edition | Allowed in exam |
| Paint Contractor’s Manual — Painting and Wall Covering exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (Chapter 1 only) — Drywall and Painting exams | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| Virginia Uniform Statewide Building Code (Chapter 1 only) — Finish Carpentry and Insulation exams | 2018 | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management — Class A/B contractor exam | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
Our sources don’t give a framing-specific reference list (the framing page points to the Residential and Commercial Building sets), so Framing candidates should check the exam vendor’s bulletin; the Insulation Handbook is out of print.
Prep
Best Virginia specialty contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for the Virginia specialty exams yet.
Costs
How much does a Virginia specialty contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Class C license application (incl. $25 Recovery Fund) | Fixed | $274.50 |
| Class B license application (incl. $25 Recovery Fund) | Fixed | $419.50 |
| Class A license application (incl. $25 Recovery Fund) | Fixed | $439.50 |
| Specialty exam, PSI | Fixed | $85 |
| Class B exams (Virginia and General portions) | Fixed | $72 |
| Class A exams (Virginia, General and Advanced portions) | Fixed | $85 |
| Each additional specialty on an existing license | Fixed | $125 |
| 8-hour pre-licensing course | Variable | Varies |
| Exam reference books | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Class C license plus one $85 PSI exam; Class B adds $72 in exams, Class A $85; excludes course and books | $359.50–$609.50 |
Fees from the DPOR contractor license application, 18VAC50-22-100 and -140, and the PSI candidate bulletins, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Virginia accept out-of-state specialty contractor licenses?
Virginia doesn’t have reciprocity agreements for contractor licenses, so out-of-state contractors meet the same requirements as everyone else.
No reciprocity agreements
Apply as a new applicant: complete the 8-hour course, pass the specialty exam and any Class A or B exams, then apply through DPOR.
Local
Do Virginia cities and counties have their own specialty contractor licensing rules?
Your contractor license and specialty come from the state. Local governments still handle the job-site side of your work.
State handles
- Class A, B and C contractor licenses
- Specialty designations and exams, through PSI
- Pre-licensing course approval
- Discipline of licensees
City & county handle
- Building permits and inspections
- Local business licenses
- Enforcing the building code on your jobs
Governance
Who regulates specialty contractors in Virginia
Licensing authority
Virginia Board for Contractors (DPOR)
804-367-8511
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues Class A, B and C contractor licenses and specialty designations
- Sets experience and exam requirements
- Approves pre-licensing education
- Handles complaints and discipline
Maintenance
How to renew your Virginia specialty contractor license and keep it active
Virginia doesn’t require continuing education for contractor licenses, though trade licenses have their own CE rules. Contractor licenses renew every 2 years: $220 for Class C, $260 for Class B or $270 for Class A, plus a $30 Recovery Fund assessment. Miss the deadline and you’ll pay a reinstatement fee of $460 (Class C) or $550 (Class A or B) instead.
Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
CE hours
Not required
Renewal fee
$220–$270 + $30 Recovery Fund
Late penalty
Reinstatement $460–$550
FAQ
Virginia specialty contractor license FAQs
Is a specialty license a separate license in Virginia?
No. Drywall, framing, finish carpentry, insulation and painting are specialty designations added to a Class A, B or C contractor license. You need both.
Do I need a license to paint houses in Virginia?
Yes, for painting or wall covering projects over $1,000. You’ll need a Class A, B or C license with the Painting and Wall Covering specialty.
Are the Virginia specialty exams open book?
Yes. All of them are open book, and you can tab and highlight the approved references. You need 70% to pass.
Does a Class C applicant take the Virginia, General and Advanced exams?
No. Class C applicants complete the 8-hour pre-licensing course and pass their specialty exam. Class A and B applicants also pass the Virginia, General and Advanced portions.
How much experience do I need?
It depends on your class: 2 years for Class C, 3 years for Class B and 5 years for Class A.
Is continuing education required?
Not for contractor licenses. Continuing education applies to the trades, such as electrical and plumbing.
Does Virginia accept my out-of-state contractor license?
No. Virginia doesn’t have reciprocity agreements for contractor licenses, so you apply as a new applicant.
Sources
Official sources for the Virginia specialty contractor license
- Virginia DPOR, Board for Contractors
- PSI, Candidate exam scheduling
- Virginia DHCD, 2021 Virginia Construction Code (PDF)
- DPOR, Contractor License Application (PDF)
- Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-100 Fees
- Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-140 Renewal fees
- Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-170 Reinstatement fees
- Virginia Administrative Code, 18VAC50-22-110 Renewal required
- PSI, Virginia Contractor Specialty Examination Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF)
- PSI, Virginia Contractor Examination Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF)
- DPOR, Additional Specialty Designation Application (PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Virginia Board for Contractors.
