Construction / Electrician License / Arkansas
- Arkansas
- Electrician License
- Journeyman, Master & Residential
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Arkansas Electrician License
What each Arkansas electrical license lets you do, the experience you need, the exams you’ll sit and how to stay licensed, all in one place.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners requirements
Application fee
$25–$50
Initial license fee by class (no separate application fee); plus $80 exam fee
Exam time
2–3 hrs
3 hrs journeyman and master, 2 hrs residential journeyman
Time to get license
~4 yrs
4-year apprenticeship for journeyman; 2 years for residential journeyman
Continuing ed
8 hrs
Every renewal
Overview
Do you need an Arkansas electrician license?
Yes, if you install, maintain or extend electrical wiring and equipment in Arkansas. Your classification sets what you can work on and whether you can contract with the public. Only a master electrician, or a business that employs one full time, can plan, lay out, supervise and contract electrical work.
License required when
- You install, maintain or extend electrical conductors and equipment
- You plan, lay out or supervise electrical installations (master license)
- You contract with the general public for electrical work (master license, or employ a full-time master)
- You wire one- and two-family homes (residential journeyman or residential master)
Common exceptions
- Electrical connections to HVAC/R equipment no longer need the separate HVAC/R Electrical License, which the Board has repealed
- Residential licensees can work on commercial projects only under a journeyman or master electrician’s supervision, at the same ratio as an apprentice
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific fines. The Board of Electrical Examiners licenses electricians and can refuse, discipline or act against anyone doing electrical work outside the scope of their license, so confirm your classification with the Division before you take on a job.
Your fast-track Arkansas electrician license checklist
The Arkansas application, one page
- Classification chosen: journeyman, master or residential
- Proof of experience or apprenticeship completion
- “Released for Test” form or school letter, if it applies
- Board pre-approval to test
- Passing score on your Prov exam
- License application to the Electrical Inspection and Licensing Division
Types
Arkansas electrician license types and classifications
Arkansas splits electricians into full-scope and residential classes, each with a journeyman and master level. Masters can plan, supervise and contract; journeymen work under a master.
JRY
Most common
Journeyman Electrician
Install, maintain and extend electrical conductors and equipment. Can’t contract with the public without employing at least one full-time master electrician.
Exam
Journeyman, 60 questions
Limit
Works under a master
MST
Can contract
Master Electrician
An unlimited license to plan, lay out and supervise electrical installations, and to contract with the general public.
Exam
Master, 180 minutes
Limit
Unlimited
RJ
Homes only
Residential Journeyman Electrician
Install, alter, repair and maintain electrical systems in one- and two-family homes under a residential master or master electrician.
Exam
Residential journeyman, 40 questions
Limit
1–2 family dwellings
RM
Homes only
Residential Master Electrician
Plan and supervise electrical work in one- and two-family homes. Commercial work only under a journeyman or master, like an apprentice.
Exam
Residential master, 60 questions
Limit
1–2 family dwellings
HVAC/R
Repealed
Air Conditioning Electrician
Covered wiring that supplies heating, air conditioning and refrigeration units. The Board has repealed this license, so it’s no longer needed for HVAC/R electrical connections.
Exam
No longer offered
Limit
HVAC/R circuits only
Requirements
Arkansas electrician license requirements, class by class
Every classification needs Board pre-approval before you can test. What changes is the experience you have to document.
| Requirement | Journeyman | Master | Residential journeyman | Residential master |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Experience | 4-year apprenticeship (“Released for Test” form), or 8 yrs / 16,000 hrs plus 1 yr licensed in a sister state | 6 yrs residential and commercial, incl. 2 yrs as a licensed journeyman | 2 yrs wiring 1–2 family homes, or a Board-approved 2-year program | 3 yrs wiring 1–2 family homes, incl. 1 yr as a licensed residential journeyman |
| Alternate path | Not stated | EE degree plus 2 yrs construction experience, or a Board-approved equivalent | Board-approved apprenticeship | Board-approved equivalent |
| Documentation | “Released for Test” form or sister-state license | Proof of experience or degree | Signed letter from your school verifying hours | Proof of experience |
| Exam | Journeyman, 60 questions | Master, 180 minutes | Residential journeyman, 40 questions | Residential master, 60 questions |
| Pre-approval to test | Required | Required | Required | Required |
| Continuing ed | 8 hrs per renewal | 8 hrs per renewal | 8 hrs per renewal | 8 hrs per renewal |
Steps
How to get your Arkansas electrician license, step by step
- Pick your classificationBefore you start
Decide between the full-scope and residential tracks, and journeyman or master, based on the work you do and whether you’ll contract with the public. - Document your experienceBefore you apply
Gather your “Released for Test” form, school letter, sister-state license or proof of construction experience, depending on your classification. - Get Board pre-approvalBefore the exam
Submit a completed application packet to the Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners. You can’t schedule an exam until you’re approved. - Schedule your exam with ProvAfter approval
Book the exam for your classification through Prov. Residential candidates can call Prov at 866-720-7768. - Pass the open-book examExam day
Bring your approved references. Journeyman and residential journeyman exams need 70% to pass. - Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
Apply through the Arkansas Electrical Inspection and Licensing Division, 501-682-4547.
Exam
What to expect on the Arkansas electrician exam
Each classification has its own open-book exam, scheduled through Prov after the Board approves you. Arkansas also lists a separate Business & Law exam for contracting, so check with the Division whether your classification needs it.
Format
Open book
Questions
40–60
Passing score
70%
Exam vendor
Prov
Scoring & content
- Journeyman: 60 questions, 3 hours, 70% to pass
- Master: 180 minutes; question count and passing score not stated
- Residential journeyman: 40 questions, 120 minutes, 70% to pass
- Residential master: 60 questions, 180 minutes
- Business & Law: 80 questions, 180 minutes, open book; references in the PSI bulletin
Retake policy
- Retake rules are not stated in our sources
- Check the Prov Candidate Information Bulletin before you book
- Permitted references, including the NEC (NFPA 70), are listed in the bulletin
- Topics include grounding and bonding, services and feeders, raceways, motors, special occupancies and safety
Exam references · Open book
The Arkansas Journeyman, Master, Residential Journeyman and Residential Master electrician exams are open book, as is the Business and Law exam. The permitted references are listed in the candidate bulletins from the exam vendors.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — all electrician exams | 2023 | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management, Arkansas — Business and Law exam | 8th edition | Allowed in exam |
The separate HVAC/R (air conditioning) electrical license has been repealed, so there’s no exam or book list for it.
Prep
Best Arkansas electrician exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does an Arkansas electrician license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Initial license fee (journeyman, residential journeyman) | Fixed | $25 |
| Initial license fee (master, residential master) | Fixed | $50 |
| Electrical exam (Prov, computer-based) | Fixed | $80 |
| Electrical exam (Prov, paper) | Fixed | $56 |
| Business & Law exam (if required) | Fixed | $84 |
| NEC code book for the open-book exam | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Journeyman license and computer-based exam; excludes code books and any Business & Law exam | $105–$130 |
Fees from the Board of Electrical Examiners rules (17 CAR Part 210), Ark. Code 17-28-301, the Prov candidate bulletin and the PSI Arkansas contractor candidate bulletin (Business & Law exam), checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Arkansas accept out-of-state electrician licenses?
Arkansas has reciprocity agreements for journeyman licenses with 12 states. Master electricians have an agreement with Oregon only. Contact the Division to confirm what transfers before you apply.
Oregon — journeyman and master reciprocity
The only state with an agreement covering both journeyman and master licenses.
Alaska — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
Colorado — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
Minnesota — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
Montana — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
Nebraska — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
New Hampshire — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
New Mexico — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
Oklahoma — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
South Dakota — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
Texas — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
Utah — journeyman reciprocity
Covers journeyman licenses only.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant. A journeyman licensed in a sister state for at least a year with 8 years (16,000 hours) of experience can qualify to test.
Local
Do Arkansas cities and counties have their own electrician licensing rules?
Electrical licenses are issued by the state and cover all of Arkansas. Permits and local requirements are handled where you work.
State handles
- Electrician licenses and classifications
- Exam pre-approval, through the Board of Electrical Examiners
- Licensing and renewals, through the Electrical Inspection and Licensing Division
- Reciprocity agreements
City & county handle
- Electrical permits
- Inspections
- Local business licenses
Governance
Who regulates electricians in Arkansas
Licensing authority
Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners (Electrical Inspection and Licensing Division)
501-682-4547
Oversight responsibilities
- Sets license classifications and experience requirements
- Pre-approves applicants for the electrical exams
- Issues and renews electrical licenses
- Manages reciprocity agreements with other states
Maintenance
How to renew your Arkansas electrician license and keep it active
You need 8 hours of continuing education for each renewal. Licenses renew every year: $25 for journeyman and residential journeyman, $50 for master and residential master. Late renewals within 36 months owe one year’s renewal fee plus $10 for each month past expiration.
Renewal cycle
Annual
CE hours
8
Renewal fee
$25–$50 per year
Late penalty
1 yr of fees + $10/month
Renewing your license?
See the Arkansas CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Arkansas electrician license FAQs
What’s the difference between a journeyman and master electrician in Arkansas?
A journeyman installs and maintains electrical systems but can’t contract with the public without employing a full-time master. A master electrician holds an unlimited license to plan, supervise and contract.
How long does it take to become a journeyman electrician in Arkansas?
About 4 years. You need a “Released for Test” form from a completed 4-year apprenticeship, or a sister-state journeyman license plus 8 years (16,000 hours) of experience.
Is the Arkansas electrical exam open book?
Yes. The journeyman, master and residential exams are open book, and the permitted references are listed in the Prov Candidate Information Bulletin. The journeyman exams need 70% to pass.
Do I still need an HVAC/R electrical license in Arkansas?
No. The Board of Electrical Examiners has repealed the HVAC/R Electrical License, so it’s no longer needed for electrical connections to HVAC/R equipment.
Can a residential electrician work on commercial jobs?
Only under the supervision of a journeyman or master electrician, in the same way and at the same ratio as an electrical apprentice.
Does Arkansas have electrician reciprocity?
Yes, for journeymen with 12 states, including Texas, Oklahoma and Colorado. Masters have an agreement with Oregon only.
How much continuing education do Arkansas electricians need?
8 hours for each renewal.
Sources
Official sources for the Arkansas electrician license
- Arkansas Department of Labor, Electrical Inspection and Licensing Division
- Prov, Arkansas Electrical Examining Board Candidate Information Bulletin
- PSI, Arkansas Business and Law Candidate Information Bulletin
- Rules of the Board of Electrical Examiners, 17 CAR Part 210 (PDF)
- Board of Electrical Examiners Statutes (PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Arkansas Board of Electrical Examiners.
