Construction / HVAC License / Arkansas
- Arkansas
- HVACR License
- Classes A, B, D, E & L
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Arkansas HVACR License
Everything you need to pick your class, qualify, pass the open-book exam and stay licensed as an HVACR contractor in Arkansas, based on the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing’s HVAC/R rules.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing requirements
Application fee
$150–$200
Annual license fee by class (no separate application fee); plus $80 Prov exam fee
Exam time
3–4 hrs
Class A 4 hrs, Class B 3 hrs
Time to get license
~2 yrs
2 years of HVACR experience, then exam pre-approval
Continuing ed
8 hrs
Every code cycle, Classes A–E
Overview
Do you need an Arkansas HVAC license?
Yes. In Arkansas, you need an HVACR license to install, service or repair heating, ventilation, air conditioning and refrigeration systems. Your license class sets which systems and sizes you can work on.
License required when
- You install, replace, service or repair HVACR equipment
- You do sheet metal ductwork for HVACR systems (Class D)
- You do refrigeration work as defined in Ark. Code 17-33-101 (Class E)
- You run a business servicing HVACR equipment for the public
Common exceptions
- Existing Class C holders were grandfathered into Class B when Class C was repealed, so they don’t need a new license
- Licensees 65 and older can hold a Class L Lifetime license for service and maintenance only
- Other exemptions aren’t covered in our notes, so check with the Department before you work unlicensed
Penalties for unlicensed work
Doing HVACR work without the right license can lead to enforcement action by the Department of Labor and Licensing, and you can’t work outside the limits of your class. Check the Arkansas HVACR law and rules for the specific penalties.
Your fast-track Arkansas HVAC license checklist
The Arkansas application, one page
- Proof you’re at least 18 (65 for Class L)
- Evidence of 2 years of HVACR experience
- Completed application packet for exam pre-approval
- Passing score on the Prov exam for your class
- Approved references tabbed and ready for the open-book exam
Types
Arkansas HVAC license types and classifications
Arkansas issues HVACR licenses by letter. Class C was repealed under Arkansas Code § 17-33-303: active Class C licenses were grandfathered to Class B, and Class B now covers equipment up to 25 tons.
A
No limits
Unlimited
HVACR work with no limit on BTUH or horsepower capacity.
Exam
Class A exam
Limit
Unlimited
B
Most common
Limited HVACR
HVACR work on air conditioning, heating and refrigeration systems within the Class B size limits.
Exam
Class B exam
Limit
Up to 25 tons
D
Ductwork only
Sheet Metal
Sheet metal ductwork for HVACR systems of any size. No sale, installation or service of HVACR equipment.
Exam
Class D exam
Limit
No size limit on ductwork
E
Refrigeration only
Refrigeration
Refrigeration work of any horsepower. No heating or air conditioning equipment for human comfort.
Exam
Class E exam
Limit
No horsepower limit
L
Age 65+
Lifetime
Service and maintenance only. No installing original equipment or replacing existing equipment.
Exam
Not stated
Limit
15 tons / 1M BTUH / 15 HP
Requirements
Arkansas HVAC license requirements, class by class
Every class needs 2 years of HVACR experience. What changes is the minimum age and the exam you take.
| Requirement | Class A & B | Class D & E | Class L |
|---|---|---|---|
| Minimum age | 18 | 18 | 65 |
| Experience | 2 years | 2 years | 2 years |
| Exam | Class A: 100 questions; Class B: 50 questions | Class D: 60 questions; Class E: Not stated | Not stated |
| Exam pre-approval | Required | Required | Not stated |
| Continuing ed | 8 hrs per code cycle | 8 hrs per code cycle | Not stated |
| Installs equipment | Yes | No (ductwork or refrigeration only) | No |
Steps
How to get your Arkansas HVAC license, step by step
- Get 2 years of experienceBefore you apply
Work at least 2 years as an HVACR contractor or for one. You’ll need satisfactory evidence of it. - Choose your classBefore you apply
Match your work to Class A, B, D or E. If you’re 65 or older and only do service, Class L may fit. - Get exam pre-approvalBefore the exam
Submit a completed application packet to the state. You can’t schedule your exam until you’re approved. - Pass your exam with ProvExam day
Schedule the exam for your class through Prov. It’s open book, using the references listed in the Prov bulletin. - Apply for your licenseAfter you pass
Finish your application with the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing. Call 501-682-4500 with questions. - Keep up with CEEvery code cycle
Classes A–E complete 8 hours of continuing education each code cycle.
Exam
What to expect on the Arkansas HVAC exam
You take the exam that matches the class the Board approves you for. Every HVACR exam is open book, so knowing your references matters as much as knowing the material.
Format
Open book
Questions
50–100 by class
Passing score
70% (Class A)
Exam vendor
Prov
Scoring & content
- Class A: 100 questions, 4 hours, 70% to pass
- Class B: 50 questions, 3 hours
- Class D: 60 questions on layout, fabrication and air distribution
- Class E: refrigeration systems, piping and maintenance
- Every class includes Law and Administration
Retake policy
- Retake waiting period: Not stated
- Retake fee: Not stated
- You need Board pre-approval before you schedule
- Check the Prov Candidate Information Bulletin for current retake rules
Exam references · Open book
All Arkansas HVACR exams are open book: the permitted references below can be tabbed, highlighted and used during your test, and the list covers the Class A, B, D and E exams. The official list for each class is in the Prov candidate information bulletin.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| International Mechanical Code (IMC) — Class A, B, D and E exams | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC) — Class A, B and D exams | 2021 | Allowed in exam |
| NFPA 70: National Electrical Code (NEC) — Class A and B exams | 2020 | Allowed in exam |
| Manual J Residential Load Calculation, Abridged Edition (MJ8AE) — Class A and B exams | 8th edition, abridged | Allowed in exam |
| Modern Refrigeration and Air Conditioning — Class A, B and E exams | 22nd edition | Allowed in exam |
| Refrigeration & Air Conditioning Technology — Class B and E exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| SMACNA HVAC Duct Construction Standards: Metal and Flexible — Class D exam | 4th edition | Allowed in exam |
Arkansas Code § 17-33-303 repealed the Class C license, so there’s no Class C exam; active Class C licenses were moved to Class B.
Prep
Best Arkansas HVAC exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does an Arkansas HVAC license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| License fee, Class A | Fixed | $200 |
| License fee, Class B, D or E | Fixed | $150 |
| HVACR exam (Prov, computer-based) | Fixed | $80 |
| HVACR exam (Prov, paper) | Fixed | $56 |
| Reference books for the open-book exam | Variable | Varies |
| Continuing education | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Class B license and computer-based exam; excludes books and CE | $230–$280 |
License fees from 17 CAR 261-106 and exam fees from the Prov Candidate Information Bulletin, checked October 2026; the rule lists the exam fee as $100, so confirm the amount when you register. The permitted references for each class are also listed in the bulletin.
Reciprocity
Does Arkansas accept out-of-state HVAC licenses?
Arkansas has HVACR reciprocity agreements with 4 states, but only if you’ve held your license for at least 3 years.
Alabama — reciprocity after 3 years licensed
Your HVACR license must have been held for at least 3 years.
Louisiana — reciprocity after 3 years licensed
Your HVACR license must have been held for at least 3 years.
Mississippi — reciprocity after 3 years licensed
Your HVACR license must have been held for at least 3 years.
Tennessee — reciprocity after 3 years licensed
Your HVACR license must have been held for at least 3 years.
All other states — no agreement
Apply as a new applicant, get exam pre-approval and pass the exam for your class.
Local
Do Arkansas cities and counties have their own HVAC licensing rules?
Your HVACR license comes from the state, but cities and counties still handle permits and inspections for the jobs you do.
State handles
- HVACR licenses for Classes A, B, D, E and L
- Exam pre-approval, with exams through Prov
- Continuing education rules
- Reciprocity with Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee
City & county handle
- Mechanical permits
- Inspections
- Local business licenses
- Local code enforcement
Governance
Who regulates HVACR contractors in Arkansas
Licensing authority
Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, HVAC/R Section
501-682-4500
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues HVACR licenses for Classes A, B, D, E and L
- Pre-approves applicants for the HVACR exams
- Sets continuing education requirements
- Enforces the HVACR licensing law and rules
Maintenance
How to renew your Arkansas HVAC license and keep it active
Classes A–E must complete 8 hours of continuing education every code cycle to stay licensed. License fees are charged per year: $200 for Class A and $150 for Classes B, D and E. A lapsed license can be reinstated with a $10 penalty for each month it was late.
Renewal cycle
Annual
CE hours
8 per code cycle
Renewal fee
$150–$200 per year
Late penalty
$10 per month
Renewing your license?
See the Arkansas CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Arkansas HVAC license FAQs
How much experience do I need for an Arkansas HVACR license?
At least 2 years as an HVACR contractor or as an employee of one. It’s the same for every class.
Is the Arkansas HVACR exam open book?
Yes. All HVACR exams are open book with the references listed in the Prov Candidate Information Bulletin. The Class A exam has 100 questions, a 4-hour limit and needs 70% to pass.
What happened to the Class C license?
Arkansas Code § 17-33-303 repealed it. Active Class C licenses were grandfathered to Class B, which now covers equipment up to 25 tons.
What’s the difference between Class A and Class B?
Class A has no capacity limits. Class B is limited by system size, now up to 25 tons.
Does Arkansas have HVACR reciprocity?
Yes, with Alabama, Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee, if you’ve held your license for at least 3 years.
Is continuing education required?
Yes. Class A–E licensees complete 8 hours of continuing education every code cycle.
What is the Class L Lifetime license?
It’s for applicants 65 and older. It covers service and maintenance only, with no installing or replacing equipment.
Sources
Official sources for the Arkansas HVAC license
- Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing, HVAC/R Section
- Arkansas HVAC/R Licensing Rules and Regulations (PDF)
- Arkansas HVACR Administrative Rules and Relevant Acts (PDF)
- Prov, Arkansas HVACR Candidate Information Bulletin (PDF)
- Arkansas Code § 17-33-303, repeal of the Class C license
- Rules Pertaining to the Licensing of HVACR Contractors, 17 CAR Part 261 (PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Arkansas Department of Labor and Licensing.
