Construction / Masonry Contractor License / Arkansas
- Arkansas
- Masonry Contractor
- Residential & Commercial
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Arkansas Masonry Contractor License
Arkansas issues separate Residential and Commercial Masonry licenses. Here’s what you need to qualify for each, the PSI exams, and how to apply with the Contractors Licensing Board.
Last updated October 27, 2026 from Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board requirements
Application fee
$50–$100
$50 residential, $100 commercial; plus $84 per PSI exam
Exam time
3.25 hrs
75-min masonry exam + 120-min Business & Law
Time to get license
~1 yr
1 year of verifiable masonry experience
Continuing ed
Not required
No CE for renewal
Overview
Do you need an Arkansas masonry contractor license?
Arkansas licenses masonry contractors through the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board (ACLB). Residential masonry work needs a Residential Masonry license, and commercial and residential masonry projects over $50,000 call for the Commercial Masonry license.
License required when
- Laying brick, block, CMU, stone, marble, granite and veneer on residential projects
- Grout, tuckpointing, caulking, sandblasting and cleaning tied to masonry work
- Placing and finishing cement concrete, plus drilling, sawing and coring concrete
- Commercial or residential masonry projects over $50,000 (Commercial Masonry license)
Common exceptions
- Our sources don’t list exemptions for masonry work
- Ask the ACLB whether a smaller or owner-performed job needs a license before you start
Penalties for unlicensed work
Our sources don’t list specific penalties. In general, the ACLB can take action against people who contract without the required license, so get licensed before you bid masonry work.
Your fast-track Arkansas masonry contractor license checklist
The Arkansas application, one page
- 1 year of verifiable masonry experience
- 3 verifiable references
- Passing scores on your masonry exam and Business & Law
- Compiled financial statement with positive net worth
- Fully executed $10,000 Contractor’s Bond
- Proof of workers’ comp compliance
Types
Arkansas masonry contractor license types and classifications
Arkansas splits masonry into residential and commercial licenses. Both take the same style of 30-question masonry exam, plus Business & Law.
RES
Homes
Residential Masonry
Brick, block, stone, veneer, concrete fencing, refractories, grout, tuckpointing and concrete work on residential projects only.
Exam
Residential Masonry + B&L
Limit
Residential projects
COM
Larger projects
Commercial Masonry
Commercial and residential masonry projects over $50,000.
Exam
Commercial Masonry + B&L
Limit
Over $50,000
Requirements
Arkansas masonry contractor license requirements, class by class
Our sources list one set of requirements for masonry contractors. The main difference between the two licenses is the exam you take.
| Requirement | Residential Masonry | Commercial Masonry |
|---|---|---|
| Experience | 1 year verifiable masonry | 1 year verifiable masonry |
| References | 3 verifiable references | 3 verifiable references |
| Exams | Residential Masonry + Business & Law | Commercial Masonry + Business & Law |
| Financial statement | Compiled, positive net worth | Compiled, positive net worth |
| Contractor’s bond | $10,000 | $10,000 |
| Workers’ comp | Proof of compliance | Proof of compliance |
Steps
How to get your Arkansas masonry contractor license, step by step
- Get your experience~1 year
Build at least 1 year of masonry experience someone can verify, and line up 3 references. - Pass your exams with PSIExam day
Schedule at PSI’s Arkansas contractor page or (855) 257-1620. Take the residential or commercial masonry exam (30 questions, 70% to pass) and the Business & Law exam. - Prepare your financial statementBefore you apply
Get a compiled financial statement showing positive net worth, not counting your homestead or retirement accounts. - Get your bond and workers’ compBefore you apply
Obtain a fully executed $10,000 Contractor’s Bond and proof of workers’ compensation compliance. - Apply with the ACLBSubmit your packet
Apply through the ACLB’s apply page or call 501-372-4661 with questions.
Exam
What to expect on the Arkansas masonry contractor exam
You take two PSI exams: the Residential or Commercial Masonry exam, and the Arkansas Contractor Business & Law exam. Both are open book, and the permitted references are listed in the PSI bulletin.
Format
Open book
Questions
30 + 50
Passing score
70% (masonry)
Exam vendor
PSI
Scoring & content
- Masonry exam: 30 questions, 75 minutes, 70% to pass
- Masonry topics: plan reading and estimating, unit masonry, mortar and grout, accessories, stone, tools, OSHA safety, restoration and cleaning
- Business & Law: 50 questions, 120 minutes
- Business & Law topics include contracts, insurance and bonding, lien laws, tax laws and Arkansas contractor rules
- References listed in the PSI Candidate Information Bulletin
Retake policy
- Retake rules aren’t stated in our sources
- PSI charges $84 for each exam, first attempt or retake
- PSI has test locations throughout Arkansas
Exam references · Open book
The Residential and Commercial Masonry exams and the Arkansas Contractor Business and Law exam are all open book, so you can bring the permitted references into the test. The official lists are in the exam content outlines linked from the PSI candidate information bulletin.
| Book | Edition | Use |
|---|---|---|
| OSHA 29 CFR 1926: Safety and Health Regulations for Construction — Residential and Commercial exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| Modern Masonry — Residential and Commercial exams | Not stated | Allowed in exam |
| International Residential Code (IRC) — Residential Masonry exam | 2015 | Allowed in exam |
| International Building Code (IBC) — Commercial Masonry exam | 2015 | Allowed in exam |
| NASCLA Contractor’s Guide to Business, Law and Project Management (Arkansas edition) — Business and Law exam | 8th edition | Allowed in exam |
Prep
Best Arkansas masonry contractor exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does an Arkansas masonry contractor license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| Application (filing) fee | Fixed | $50 residential, $100 commercial |
| PSI exam fees (masonry and Business & Law, per exam) | Fixed | $84 |
| Contractor’s bond ($10,000) | Variable | Varies |
| Compiled financial statement | Variable | Varies |
| Workers’ comp insurance | Variable | Varies |
| Reference books for the open-book exams | Variable | Varies |
| State fees and exams | Filing fee plus two $84 PSI exams; excludes bond, financial statement and insurance | $218–$268 |
Fees from the ACLB home improvement and commercial new applications, the ACLB commercial and residential licensing rules (17 CAR 255 and 295) and the PSI candidate bulletin, checked October 2026.
Reciprocity
Does Arkansas accept out-of-state masonry contractor licenses?
Our sources don’t list any reciprocity agreements for Arkansas masonry licenses.
No reciprocity agreements
Our sources don’t list any, so plan to apply as a new applicant and pass both exams. Ask the ACLB if your out-of-state license helps.
Local
Do Arkansas cities and counties have their own masonry contractor licensing rules?
Your masonry license comes from the state. Cities and counties still run permits and inspections.
State handles
- Residential and Commercial Masonry licenses
- Exams, through PSI
- Bond, financial statement and workers’ comp review
- Renewals (no CE required)
City & county handle
- Building permits and inspections
- Local business licenses where required
Governance
Who regulates masonry contractors in Arkansas
Oversight responsibilities
- Issues Residential and Commercial Masonry licenses
- Reviews experience, references, financial statements and bonds
- Sets exam requirements, given through PSI
- Renews licenses
Maintenance
How to renew your Arkansas masonry contractor license and keep it active
Arkansas doesn’t require continuing education to renew a masonry license. Licenses renew every year: $25 for a residential specialty license and $50 for a commercial license when filed on time, or $50 and $100 if late.
Renewal cycle
Annual
CE hours
None
Renewal fee
$25 residential; $50 commercial
Late penalty
$50 residential; $100 commercial late renewal fee
FAQ
Arkansas masonry contractor license FAQs
Does Arkansas have separate residential and commercial masonry licenses?
Yes. The Residential Masonry license covers residential projects. The Commercial Masonry license covers commercial and residential masonry projects over $50,000.
How much experience do I need?
1 year of verifiable masonry experience, plus 3 verifiable references.
Is the Arkansas masonry exam open book?
Yes. It’s 30 questions in 75 minutes, open book, and you need 70% to pass. The Business & Law exam is also open book.
Do I have to take the Business & Law exam?
Yes. You need a verified passing score on the Arkansas Contractor Business & Law exam: 50 questions in 120 minutes.
What bond do I need?
A fully executed $10,000 Contractor’s Bond, along with a compiled financial statement showing positive net worth and proof of workers’ comp.
Is continuing education required?
No. Arkansas doesn’t require continuing education to renew.
Sources
Official sources for the Arkansas masonry contractor license
- Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board, Apply for a contractor’s license
- PSI Exams, Arkansas contractor testing
- PSI, Arkansas Contractor Candidate Information Bulletin
- Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board, Home Improvement License New Application (PDF)
- Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board, Commercial License New Application (PDF)
- Arkansas Commercial Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. 04/2026, PDF)
- Arkansas Residential Contractors Licensing Law, Statutes and Rules (rev. 04/2026, PDF)
Last updated October 27, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Arkansas Contractors Licensing Board.
