Construction / Code Official Continuing Education / Kansas
- Kansas
- Code Official CE
- Code Officials
- Updated Oct 2026
Kansas Code Official Continuing Education: Hours, Deadline and Approved Courses
Kansas does not require a state license for municipal code officials, but code enforcement officers certified through the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement (KACE) must complete 16 hours of continuing education every year, reviewed on a two-year cycle starting December 31 of their initial certification year.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Kansas Association of Code Enforcement (KACE) requirements
Hours per cycle
16 hrs/year
8 hrs KACE-sponsored + 8 hrs code enforcement training each year
Cycle
2 years
Reviewed every 2 years from Dec 31 of initial certification year
Deadline
Dec 31
Counted from December 31 of your initial certification year
Online allowed?
Not stated
Confirm a course counts with KACE before you enroll
Who needs CE
Who needs continuing education for a Kansas code official license?
Kansas does not license building or code enforcement officials at the state level; licensing and hiring are handled by local cities and counties. At the statewide level, code enforcement officers who hold certification through the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement (KACE) must complete annual continuing education and maintain a paid KACE membership to keep their certification active.
CE applies to
- KACE-certified Kansas Code Enforcement Officers
- Local code officials whose municipality requires KACE or ICC credentials
Exemptions
- Kansas has no mandatory state-level code official license
Kansas code official CE at a glance
Kansas code official renewal, one box
| Renewed with | Kansas Association of Code Enforcement (KACE) |
| CE required? | Yes, to maintain KACE certification (no mandatory state license) |
| Hours per cycle | 16 hrs per year (32 hrs per 2-year review cycle) |
| Cycle | 2 years |
| Required topics | 8 hrs/year KACE-presented or KACE-sponsored; 8 hrs/year code enforcement duties |
| Online allowed? | Not stated |
| Deadline | December 31 (reviewed every 2 years from initial certification year) |
| Who reports | Not stated |
| Carryover | Not stated |
| Grace period | Not stated |
| Renewal fee | Current paid KACE membership required (exact fee not stated) |
| Last updated | October 28, 2026 |
Hours
How many CE hours does a Kansas code official license need?
To maintain KACE certification, you need a minimum of 16 hours of continuing education every year (reviewed every two years). Each year’s 16 hours are split evenly between KACE-sponsored training and general code enforcement training.
| Class | Total | Required topics | Electives | Delivery limits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| KACE Certified Code Enforcement Officer | 16 hrs/year (32 hrs per 2-year review) | 8 hrs/year KACE-presented or KACE-sponsored education | 8 hrs/year training related to Kansas code enforcement duties (legal issues, procedures, professional development, public relations) | Not stated |
Deadline
When is the Kansas code official license renewal deadline?
KACE certification status is reviewed every two years, counting from December 31 of the first year you achieved certification. You must earn 16 hours each calendar year and maintain an active paid KACE membership.
| Deadline rule | Reviewed every two years counting from December 31 of initial certification year |
| Cycle | 2 years (with 16 hours required each year) |
| Grace period | Not stated |
| Late penalty | Not stated |
| CE completion deadline | December 31 each year |
Steps
How to renew a Kansas code official license, step by step
- Take approved CEBy December 31 each year
Complete 16 hours of continuing education each year: 8 hours of KACE-presented or KACE-sponsored training and 8 hours related to code enforcement duties. - Get your certificateSame day
Save the certificate of completion for each KACE and non-KACE training you finish. - Confirm it’s reportedBefore your 2-year review
Your completed hours must be reported to the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement for your biennial review. - Pay the renewal feeMembership dues
Maintain a current paid membership with the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement. - Check your license statusAfter review
Check with KACE that your biennial certification review is complete and your credential remains active.
Providers
Approved Kansas code official license CE providers
We haven’t compared CE providers for this license yet. Kansas has no state board for code officials, so check with KACE that a course counts before you pay. Half of your yearly hours (8 hours per year) must be KACE-presented or KACE-sponsored education.
Approval
How to check a Kansas code official CE course is approved
KACE requires 8 hours per year to come directly from KACE-presented or KACE-sponsored education. The remaining 8 hours per year can come from KACE or non-KACE trainings that relate to the duties of a code enforcement officer in Kansas.
- Earn at least 8 hours each year from KACE-presented or KACE-sponsored events.
- Ensure the remaining 8 hours each year cover code enforcement duties such as legal issues, procedural practices, professional development or public relations.
- Ask KACE if you’re unsure whether a non-KACE training counts.
Reporting
How Kansas code official CE is reported, and what happens in an audit
Your CE completion must be submitted to the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement for your two-year certification review. Keep certificates for all KACE and non-KACE courses.
- Keep a certificate of completion for every course.
- Track your KACE-sponsored hours and general code enforcement hours separately each year.
- Hold onto your records for the full two-year review cycle.
Cost
How much does Kansas code official license renewal cost?
| Item | Fee | Paid to |
|---|---|---|
| KACE certification maintenance | Requires current paid KACE membership (amount not stated) | Kansas Association of Code Enforcement |
| Late renewal fee | Not stated | Kansas Association of Code Enforcement |
| CE courses (16 hours/year) | Varies by provider | KACE / CE provider |
Maintaining KACE certification requires a current paid KACE membership. Check kace-ks.org for current membership rates.
Late or lapsed
Late, expired or inactive Kansas code official license
Our sources don’t give grace period, late fee or reinstatement details. If your certification review is close or you are short on yearly hours, contact the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement.
Grace period
Not stated in our sources. Reach out to KACE before December 31 if you’re running behind.
Makeup CE
You must meet the 16-hour annual requirement and maintain active KACE membership to keep your certification.
Who controls
Who controls Kansas code official license renewal?
Responsibilities
- Administers voluntary statewide certification for Kansas code enforcement officers
- Reviews certified members’ CE compliance every two years from December 31 of their initial certification year
- Presents and sponsors the 8 annual hours of KACE-required education
Getting licensed
Getting a Kansas code official license
Need the license first? Our Kansas guide covers who needs a license, the classes, exams, fees and the steps to apply.
FAQ
Kansas code official license CE FAQs
Does Kansas require a state license for code officials?
No. Kansas regulates code enforcement at the local municipal or county level, while the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement (KACE) administers voluntary statewide certification.
How many CE hours does a KACE-certified Kansas code official need?
16 hours every year (reviewed on a two-year cycle): 8 hours each year of KACE-presented or KACE-sponsored education, plus 8 hours each year of training related to code enforcement duties.
When is the deadline?
Certification status is reviewed every two years counting from December 31 of the first year you achieved certification.
What topics count for the non-KACE hours?
Training related to the duties of a code enforcement officer in Kansas, including legal issues, procedural practices, professional development and public relations.
Can I take CE online?
Our sources don’t say. Confirm with the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement that an online course counts before you enroll.
Do hours carry over?
Our sources don’t say extra hours carry over, and KACE requires 8 KACE-sponsored hours and 8 general hours each year.
Sources
Official sources for Kansas code official CE rules
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement.
