Construction / Code Official License / Kansas
- Kansas
- Code Official
- Building Code Official
- Updated Oct 2026
How to Get Your Kansas Code Official License
Kansas code official certification runs through the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement (KACE), not a state board. Here’s the training, the exam and the renewal rules in one place.
Last updated October 28, 2026 from Kansas Association of Code Enforcement requirements
Application fee
Not stated
Contact KACE for current fees
Exam time
Not stated
ICC code official exam
Time to get license
Varies
48 hours of training while working in code enforcement
Continuing ed
16 hrs
Every 2-year renewal cycle
Overview
Do you need a Kansas code official license?
Kansas code officials are certified through KACE. To qualify, you need to work in code enforcement or a related health and safety field in Kansas, finish 48 hours of approved training and pass the ICC code official exam.
License required when
- You’re employed in the regulation of health and safety in the natural or built environment, or a related field
- You’re responsible for enforcing municipal, county, state or federal codes in Kansas
- You complete 48 hours of KACE-approved training
- You stay a current paid KACE member
Common exceptions
- Up to 24 of the 48 training hours can come from non-KACE providers
- Certification is handled by KACE, so there’s no separate state board application
Working without certification
The source doesn’t list penalties. Your employer and KACE decide what certification you need for your role, so confirm with both before you start inspecting or enforcing codes.
Your fast-track Kansas code official license checklist
The Kansas application, one page
- Job in code enforcement or a related field in Kansas
- Paid KACE membership
- 48 hours of KACE-approved training
- Passing ICC code official exam
- Application sent to KACE
Types
Kansas code official license types and classifications
Kansas offers one code official certification through KACE. It covers the core work of a building code official on residential and commercial projects.
CO
Only class
Building Code Official
Reviews plans, issues permits, inspects residential and commercial buildings and enforces state and local construction codes.
Exam
ICC code official exam
Limit
Kansas jurisdictions
Requirements
Kansas code official license requirements, class by class
There’s one path to certification. Here’s everything KACE asks for.
| Requirement | Code Official |
|---|---|
| Training | 48 hours, KACE-approved |
| Non-KACE training | Up to 24 of the 48 hours |
| Employment | Code enforcement or related field in Kansas |
| Membership | Current paid KACE member |
| Exam | ICC code official exam |
| Minimum age | Not stated |
Steps
How to get your Kansas code official license, step by step
- Confirm you qualifyBefore you start
You need to work in code enforcement or a related health and safety field in Kansas. - Join KACEBefore you apply
Become a paid member at the non-certified rate. Sign up at kace-ks.org/join or call 913-663-9172. - Complete 48 hours of trainingBefore the exam
Finish 48 hours of KACE-approved training. Up to 24 hours can come from non-KACE providers. - Register for the examThrough KACE
Schedule the ICC code official exam through the KACE website. Test centers are in larger cities around the state. - Apply for certificationAfter you pass
Send your application to KACE once your training and exam are done. - Keep it currentEvery 2 years
Renew by December 31 every two calendar years with 16 hours of continuing education.
Exam
What to expect on the Kansas code official exam
Kansas uses an ICC code official exam, administered through KACE. The source doesn’t give question counts or a passing score, so check with KACE when you register.
Format
Not stated
Questions
Not stated
Passing score
Not stated
Exam vendor
KACE (ICC exam)
Scoring & content
- ICC code official exam
- Register through the KACE website
- Test centers in larger Kansas cities
- Question count and passing score not stated
Retake policy
- Not stated in the source
- Ask KACE about retakes when you register
- Call 913-663-9172 with questions
Exam references
The state hasn’t published a reference list for this exam in our sources. Check the candidate bulletin from the exam vendor before you buy books.
Prep
Best Kansas code official exam prep, compared
We haven’t compared prep courses for this exam yet.
Costs
How much does a Kansas code official license cost?
| Item | Type | Estimate |
|---|---|---|
| KACE membership | Fixed | Not stated |
| 48 hours of approved training | Variable | Not stated |
| ICC code official exam | Fixed | Not stated |
| Code books | Variable | Varies |
| Membership, training and exam | Fees not published in the source | Not stated |
Contact KACE at 913-663-9172 for current fees.
Reciprocity
Does Kansas accept out-of-state code official licenses?
The source doesn’t describe any reciprocity for Kansas code officials.
No reciprocity agreements
None are stated. Plan to apply as a new applicant and meet KACE’s training, membership and exam requirements.
Local
Do Kansas cities and counties have their own code official licensing rules?
KACE handles certification, but the city or county you work for sets your duties and which codes you enforce.
State handles
- Code official certification through KACE
- Training approval (KACE-approved hours)
- Exam registration
- Renewal and continuing education
City & county handle
- Hiring code officials
- Adopting local building codes
- Permits and inspections
- Local enforcement
Governance
Who regulates code officials in Kansas
Oversight responsibilities
- Certifies Kansas code officials
- Approves training hours
- Registers candidates for the ICC code official exam
- Handles renewals and continuing education
Maintenance
How to renew your Kansas code official license and keep it active
Renew every two calendar years by December 31, counting from December 31 of the year you were first certified, no matter what month you finished your training. You need 16 hours of continuing education each cycle.
Renewal cycle
Every 2 years
CE hours
16
Renewal fee
Not stated
Late penalty
Not stated
Renewing your license?
See the Kansas CE guide: hours, deadline, required topics and how to renew.
FAQ
Kansas code official license FAQs
Who certifies code officials in Kansas?
The Kansas Association of Code Enforcement (KACE). You join, train, register for the exam and apply through KACE.
How many training hours do I need?
48 hours of KACE-approved training. Up to 24 of those hours can come from non-KACE providers.
What exam do Kansas code officials take?
An ICC code official exam, scheduled through the KACE website.
Do I need to work in code enforcement first?
Yes. You need to be employed in health and safety regulation or a related field, or be responsible for enforcing codes in Kansas.
How often do I renew?
Every two calendar years by December 31, with 16 hours of continuing education.
Do I have to be a KACE member?
Yes. You must be a current paid member at the non-certified membership rate.
Sources
Official sources for the Kansas code official license
- Kansas Association of Code Enforcement, Join and certification
- ICC Code Official exam
Last updated October 28, 2026. Spot something out of date? Tell us.
Exam Insiders is an independent guide and is not affiliated with the Kansas Association of Code Enforcement.
